We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 173rd Street, Lansing, IL 60438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We got the room through a 3rd party website and got a really good deal on it. The pictures made it look much nicer than it was though. The front door was locked and the lady behind the desk was behind a gate, which scared me. It made me feel like the hotel wasn't safe. The security door right by our room did not lock. ANYONE could waltz right in to the hotel through that door, which defeats the lock on the lobby doors. 2 separate nights we came back to our rooms and our keys didn't work. We had to walk all the way back to the lobby multiple times before the lady from the front desk had to come up. The bathroom was cold. We had to turn the heat way up in the room and open the bathroom door so that it could warm up. We loved the little kitchen in the room however. It was very convenient. All in all we got a clean room to sleep in at night, but I definitely wouldn't pay full price for the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
3
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

It's an okay to good size for the price. Don't let pictures fool you. This location is outdated. smelt like they were running a drug hotel.. nothing but strong odors of marijuana. we had prepaid for 2 nights. luckily they let us cancel one evening and get our $$ back. We drove a couple more exits to the residence inn in hammond. much more nicer and family friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We took our daughter to Midway airport and had to stay the night to pick her up the next day from flight to Reno, NV.

The room was clean, liked the little kitchen area there.

What I didn't like was their staff left like 10 or 11 at night. I feel there should always be someone there for guest safety!

Guest comfort and Safety are rule #1in the hotel/motel business.
Watch "Hotel Impossible" and learn something. ...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have stayed at The Extended Stay Chicago Lansing several times. I would recommend this hotel to stay while on vacation or just to get away. It was under construction but I couldn't tell. It was very quiet, the room was very clean. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Only one person at this hotel was professional, I wish I knew his name. Everyone else was rude. Make sure you ask if the 3rd floor is still under construction if you want to relax, because they surely do not tell youup front. Besides the leftover kitty food and the cigarette holes in the blanket, its pretty clean,

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had relatives visiting from FL for a funeral , and booked them at Red Roof Inn,,,BIG MISTAKE!! The room should be shut down, it filthy and reaked of smoke.
I called Javier at Extended Stay next door and he assured me that he could help. Javier went above and beyond to get our family into a clean and safe room. The room was clean and very nice, our relatives enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Reservation was made via Hotels.com. Upon late arrival to the hotel, the lobby was closed. Lobby closes at 11pm and there is no way to enter except to pick up a telephone outside the entrance. Hotel clerk answered and would not allow me in because she said they were 100% booked even though I had a valid reservation. Another guest at the hotel made an attempt to open the door for me & the clerk banged and yelled for him to step away from the door.

I contacted Hotels.com and told them the situation. They made many attempts to contact the hotel and the clerk didn't answer the phone. I literally watched her, through the glass door, ignoring the call. Horrible customer service, horrible location, horrible policy and no money or occupancy from me.

Never again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing

Address: 2520 173rd Street, Lansing, IL 60438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Lansing
Extended Stay Lansing
Lansing Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.