We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam - Stolen Linen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2255 West 173rd Street, Lansing, IL 60438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Harrison Twp, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scam - Stolen Linen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am a professional engineer that travels frequently. This hotel called me after I checked out to tell me that the linen was missing from the room after I checked out. They told me that I would be charged. I thought it was a joke. Have contacted my credit charge company to dispute the claim. Contacted Sleep Inn nationally to alert them of the claim. Was billed $150 for linens that either someone else pilfered or is an internal scam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, General Manager at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am truly sorry that you have left our hotel with such a bad impression. I appreciate that you have taken time to review us. Since speaking with you about your stay, please know that I have addressed your concerns and your credit card has been credited back the full amount. Although our staff tries, sometimes miscommunication happens between departments and unfortunately that is what happened here. Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to help us better serve our guests.

Calene Echevarria-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
10
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

After traveling all night I was in need of a hotel room for some sleep until reaching my destination. I had previously driven this same route and stayed at this Sleep Inn so decided to stay here again. I called the hotel 3hours before my arrival to make sure they had availability since I hadn't previously made a reservation. I was told that there were plenty of open rooms because it was a "slow night" and that I would be allowed to check in early. When arriving I noticed a rather empty parking lot so assumed checking in would be no problem. To my unpleasant surprise i was DENIED checking in because it was "TOO EARLY" and "NO ROOMS WOULD BE AVAILABLE UNTIL AFTER 3PM". I explained that I had just called 3hours prior to my arrival and was told by the agent at that time that I would be allowed to check in. Also explained that just a few months ago in April I did the same exact thing and the young lady working the desk at the time checked me in without any issues. The rather cocky woman at the desk said she didn't know why the night clerk said it would be ok since the policy there is check in at 3pm. She later proceeded to say that I can check in early only with a fee. I asked if hotel policy had changed within the last few months and she said no it has always been in effect. I asked if I can speak to a manager to have a waiver on this fee and she said she WAS the sales manager. She wasn't wearing a nametag and I didn't bother asking her name because at this time I was very irrate. I mentioned that other hotels don't charge a fee for checking in early and she very boldly told me that there were other hotels in the area and that I was welcomed to try and check into one of those. Needless to say, they only want the business if you are willing to pay more money and so I didn't stay here and not because of the fee but simply because this arrogant person working the desk does not know how to talk to or how to welcome customers. There was no sympathy even after explaining that I had been driving all night. Her only goal was to charge more money. I will be going along this driving route again in december and won't even think twice about stopping at this place. You need some friendly agents working with the public in this type of industry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, General Manager at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I appreciate your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experiences. I am very concerned with the way this situation was handled. My front desk staff has not been trained to reponse to guests in this manner. Please know additional training has been given to ensure proper handling with early check ins. I do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Calene Echevarria-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My room was very comfortable, clean, and relaxing. I have no complaints. Everything was in working order and I don't believe you could find a better hotel at this price. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, General Manager at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Customer satisfaction is our #1 goal and we are happy we reached that goal with your stay. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Calene Echevarria-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Horne, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I travel for business quite a bit and so I like to stay at places that make living on the road as enjoyable as possibe. I find a nice place and I will revisit. I won't do that here. The fitness center treadmill belt needs adjusting but there is a boflex machine and a bike that work. My room had no fridge or microwave. On extended stays these things are a must for me. The room was ok but nothing out of the ordinary. The desk staff was friendly. There are so many hotels in the area or a short drive away that you have many choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, General Manager at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
First of all thank you for your feedback. I always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am sorry that you did not find your stay enjoyable. Please know that I have addressed your concerns with my housekeeping and maintenance staff. Thank you for taking time to help us better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I travel to Chicago frequently for business. This particular hotel was "sub-par" to say the least. I had my first encounter with a Chicagoland roach in this place. It was crawling on the chair in my room. My shower door was broken and could not be closed when I was in it. The biggest headache of all.....the toilet was stopped up and overflowed. The best thing about this place was the night Manager who was very nice and friendly. He actually came up and cleaned the messed caused by the overflow. Give this gentleman a raise!!!!

Room Tip: As information......There are no good resteraunts nearby. Plan on having dinner in downtown Chicago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, General Manager at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I apologize for the misfortune you experienced while staying at our hotel. I want to assure you that this is not the normal quality we offer guests who stay with us. Let me assure you we take your concerns seriously, and will address them immediately. Feedback, positive or otherwise is our best barometer of the experience we are providing for our guests. I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide a great stay for you in the future.

Calene Echevarria-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

It was clean and the bed was comfortable but nothing in our room worked. the bathroom was tiny and had only a very small shower--no tub! We had a small refrigerator-it didn't work. Our phone didn't work. We tried to call for a wake up call and discovered the phone had no dial tone. We set the alarm clock , which had no knob for the volumn control and was set on loud! Luckily we woke up early because the alarm clock didn't work either! There are no microwaves--anywhere. Not in the room or even in the breakfast room. They served cold biscuits and there was no way to warm them.
There is one computer for the guests to use but no printer! If you need directions you have to ask the front desk to look it up and print it for you.
The staff was friendly.
It's not like the place is dirt cheap.. We paid $100 a night after taxes. We were not expecting the Ritz, but we were expecting better that what we got.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Friendly staff at the front desk, very welcoming. The hotel is older but they are upgrading new flat screens and paint in the rooms. Good value for the money. Beds were comfortable , linens were good and clean . Breakfast was a smaller type of continental , not a large selection. Good for a one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing

Address: 2255 West 173rd Street, Lansing, IL 60438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sleep Inn, a hotel for the sensible traveler. We are conveniently located near popular destinations including Riverboat Casino Gambling, golf courses, convention centers, auto racetracks and First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre.Located near Interstate 80 and Interstate 94, this Lansing hotel provides easy access to Downtown Chicago, McCormick Place (America's premier convention facility) and Midway Airport. Navigating to Chicago is easy, thanks to transportation like Metra Electric (IC) Rail, public buses and taxi services. If flying by private plane, land at the Lansing Municipal Airport.Many restaurants ranging from casual atmosphere to fine dining are close to the hotel. Many cultural attractions include The Center for Visual and Performing Arts, Country Club Hills Amphitheater and the Center for the Performing Arts Governors State University.Several organizations within the area include BP Amoco, Ford Motor Company (Assembly/Stamping plants) and NB Coatings.And don't think you have to leave your furry friends behind. With our pet friendly rooms, we welcome you and your furry family to stay and play. Please contact hotel for rules and regulations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lansing
Lansing Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.