We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2255 West 173rd Street, Lansing, IL 60438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Never Again!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I travel to Chicago frequently for business. This particular hotel was "sub-par" to say the least. I had my first encounter with a Chicagoland roach in this place. It was crawling on the chair in my room. My shower door was broken and could not be closed when I was in it. The biggest headache of all.....the toilet was stopped up and overflowed. The best thing about this place was the night Manager who was very nice and friendly. He actually came up and cleaned the messed caused by the overflow. Give this gentleman a raise!!!!

Room Tip: As information......There are no good resteraunts nearby. Plan on having dinner in downtown Chicago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, General Manager at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I apologize for the misfortune you experienced while staying at our hotel. I want to assure you that this is not the normal quality we offer guests who stay with us. Let me assure you we take your concerns seriously, and will address them immediately. Feedback, positive or otherwise is our best barometer of the experience we are providing for our guests. I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide a great stay for you in the future.

Calene Echevarria-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
10
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

It was clean and the bed was comfortable but nothing in our room worked. the bathroom was tiny and had only a very small shower--no tub! We had a small refrigerator-it didn't work. Our phone didn't work. We tried to call for a wake up call and discovered the phone had no dial tone. We set the alarm clock , which had no knob for the volumn control and was set on loud! Luckily we woke up early because the alarm clock didn't work either! There are no microwaves--anywhere. Not in the room or even in the breakfast room. They served cold biscuits and there was no way to warm them.
There is one computer for the guests to use but no printer! If you need directions you have to ask the front desk to look it up and print it for you.
The staff was friendly.
It's not like the place is dirt cheap.. We paid $100 a night after taxes. We were not expecting the Ritz, but we were expecting better that what we got.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Friendly staff at the front desk, very welcoming. The hotel is older but they are upgrading new flat screens and paint in the rooms. Good value for the money. Beds were comfortable , linens were good and clean . Breakfast was a smaller type of continental , not a large selection. Good for a one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My second time @ a Sleep Inn. This property was just ok. Room and bedding were clean and hotel staff were friendly. The breakfast was not appealing, so toasted a bagel and was one my way the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

When we checked in, we told the front desk we needed extra wash clothes and hand towels. We were told we would have to wait till 9am the next day to get any. When coming back to the hotel that night, my wife and I were propositioned in the hotel parking lot. The continental breakfast was horrible (poor selection and not well kept.) When we got home, a roach crawled out of our suitcase. To top it all off, when I checked my credit card statement online, it showed that we were charged an extra $14. When i called the hotel, the front desk told me it was for a ruined wash cloth and hand towel. I explained that the hand towel was already damaged when we got there, which is why we ask for a replacement, and the wash clothes were used to cleanup some lotion that spilled. Nothing that couldn't be fixed by simply washing it. I was transfered to the hotel manager, who has still not returned my phone calls. THIS PLACE SHOULD BE AVOIDED LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, any hotel but this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, Owner at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
All rooms are supplied with ample amounts of towels. Extra towels are given out on a demand basis. Guests are charged for room damages such as the ruining of towels, which the guest claims was already damaged. If this was the case the guest should have brought it down immeditaely down to the front desk, which they did not, thus causing suspicion. Guest failed to mention he was given fresh towels at 7am by the front desk attendant. Essentially this guest was supplied with two sets of towels for a one night stay. As for your plauge comment I strongly urge you to not make ridiculous claims on emotion but rather in more realistic terms for other future guests to read and take note. With all this being said all these claims will be reviwed by our housekeeping supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was my first time staying at a sleep inn..... Next door was a comfort suites which is the same hotel chain or brand and to be honest I usually stay at comfort suites but this sleep inn was just as nice as comfort suites and nicer than others. I give this hotel 100% without thinking twice!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Holland, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Beware Housekeepers Steal Your Possessions from your rooms!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, Owner at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
The housekeeper has been working at this hotel for many years and we have never had a single complaint from any guest. There is no reason to suspect a loyal employee of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing

Address: 2255 West 173rd Street, Lansing, IL 60438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sleep Inn, a hotel for the sensible traveler. We are conveniently located near popular destinations including Riverboat Casino Gambling, golf courses, convention centers, auto racetracks and First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre.Located near Interstate 80 and Interstate 94, this Lansing hotel provides easy access to Downtown Chicago, McCormick Place (America's premier convention facility) and Midway Airport. Navigating to Chicago is easy, thanks to transportation like Metra Electric (IC) Rail, public buses and taxi services. If flying by private plane, land at the Lansing Municipal Airport.Many restaurants ranging from casual atmosphere to fine dining are close to the hotel. Many cultural attractions include The Center for Visual and Performing Arts, Country Club Hills Amphitheater and the Center for the Performing Arts Governors State University.Several organizations within the area include BP Amoco, Ford Motor Company (Assembly/Stamping plants) and NB Coatings.And don't think you have to leave your furry friends behind. With our pet friendly rooms, we welcome you and your furry family to stay and play. Please contact hotel for rules and regulations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lansing
Lansing Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.