We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2323 172nd Street, Lansing, IL 60438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was in the Chicago Suburbs for an overnight business trip and a co-worker had already booked this hotel, and since he was driving, I booked it as well. I am glad he did as it was a great stay.
I grew up in this area and hadn't been here for a long time, but knew it had become rundown since I was young. I had some initial reservations about staying here and thought maybe it was worth the drive to Tinley Park or Merrillville, Indiana instead. However, I quickly realized Holiday Inn knows how to treat its guests.
From the front desk service to the room itself, this hotel really takes pride. We checked in early before heading to our site, and they had one room available for my friend to check in. Mine wasn't ready yet and the desk clerk apologized profusely. I assured her it was okay since we were early, but she insisted on checking me in so I would have the next room available and avoid the process later, even though we wouldn't be back until after 5. When I returned, I got my key and went right up.
The king room was huge and clean. Holiday Inn is really going out of its way to make their hotels as pleasant as possible for businesses and families, alike. Plenty of bathroom soap and towels so I was never in need.
When it came time for dinner, I knew I wanted a Chicago style pizza. The desk had plenty of menus...and coupons...for me to choose from. All in all, great service and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
9
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Murriet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed only 2 nights - two (roomy and quiet) adjacent rooms on the first floor. Desk allowed us to check-in more than one hour early. Location was perfect for us. Very modern and fresh impression. Physical condition of hotel is very good. Large bathrooms - fixtures, water pressure, water temperature and cleanliness all excellent. Many nice amenities (we didn't use) like laundry, exercise room and pool. Very friendly and professional service, with nice and tasty complimentary breakfast each morning. If this hotel fairly represents the Holiday Inn Express brand, then Holiday Inn Express rocks!

Room Tip: First floor (2 rooms) around the corner from the lobby worked great for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was in the area for a college baseball tournament. We stayed 3 nights. This hotel was nice and clean. Staff was great. Breakfast was exceptional--partly because there was a lady who did nothing but take care of the people eating and the food. She made sure everyone was taken care of.

There was a guest laundry (only 1 washer and 1 dryer) that looked very nice. . .that's always handy to have. Location was just off the highway.

Employees were exceptional--very good at directions and local information. Always pleasant.

There is one review that refered to this as a "scary place". It almost talked me out of booking here, but after staying I don't understand that review at all. It is a nice place with great employees.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the stairs. People walking from 1st to 2nd floor seemed to be really noisy as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXLANSING, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Funandsun23,

We appreciate you sharing your experience about our hotel. We strive on delivering exceptional service and a memorable experience for our valued guests. Your valueable comment helps us improve our service. I will commend our staff based on your positive comments. Valuable insight such as yours help us continually work towards our goal of providing out guests with Great Hotels Guest Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The rooms are very nice and look like new. Plus, they were very big compared to most hotel rooms I have been to. The service was there when I needed them which was not often as this hotel seems to have all you need. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

My family and I travel a lot so we stay in a lot of different hotels. This by far has got to be one of the scariest locations I have stayed at. The hotel itself was perfectly fine and clean, however we got asked multiple times if we had money they could have,And it's not avery well lit city at all. I have young kids and I was real close to driving a tad bit further and staying in a different city. I was even scared to sit and eat at the subway right down the street! All in all I would not stay here again! Nothing against the hotel tho!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXLANSING, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Greetings ocean157048,

I thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with our hotel as well as the Village of Lansing. I was excited to hear about your pleasant comments regarding the hotel. Our staff strive on providing clean and comfortable accomodations for our guests with a great smile. As for the impression on the Village of Lansing, I hope you give us the opportunity to change your impression as Lansing is a great community of businesses and residents who care about its loyal visitors. I thank you for submitting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel to visit family members who live in the area. It has to be one of the nicest moderate-priced hotels we've ever stayed in. Clean, well-appointed, updated, and friendly. Comfortable bed with nice linens. Spacious rooms. Big variety of hot foods in the breakfast buffet that is included in the price. If it had a lighted magnifying mirror in the granite and tiled bath, it would be as nice as some of the upscale 4-star hotels we've stayed in. That's the only thing I can think of that's missing!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, away from the elevators to get the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here on our way into the city. Our room was nice and clean. The staff were helpful and the continental breakfast is awesome! They have a small workout room which is nice. They have free wireless internet too! I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing

Address: 2323 172nd Street, Lansing, IL 60438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago-South Lansing Hotel Offers Best of Both Worlds Located on the Corporate Corridor, our new Chicago South Lansing Hotel is near some of the nation s top producing companies including BP Aamoco, Ford and Arcelor Mittal Steel and is also in close proximity to Chicago s main highways, including I-80, I-94 and I-294. Situated in suburban Chicago, our South Lansing hotel provides an ideal location for travelers of all kinds near several city attractions like the urban center of Chicago and Chicago's downtown city center, as well as rural attractions such as Illinois State Park. Our Lansing hotel is located in the region s most concentrated area of forest and recreational activities. Whether you want a night on the town or an afternoon in the park, our Lansing hotel is the perfect place for you. Families can enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Chicago-South Lansing Hotel's easy access to numerous Chicago attractions such as Soldier Field and the Magnificent Mile, by car or by Chicago s public transport system. And, business travelers can appreciate the convenience of having the Chicago Southland Convention and Business Bureau within walking distance of our Chicago South Lansing Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chicago South Lansing
Holiday Inn Express Lansing
Lansing Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.