We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German fare and polite service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fritzl's European Restaurant & Pub

Fritzl's European Restaurant & Pub
377 N. Rand Rd., Lake Zurich, IL 60047
(847) 540-8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 70 Restaurants in Lake Zurich
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good German fare and polite service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Fritzl's is one of our favorite 'night out' places. The food is always well prepared and of high quality. Almost strictly German-based menu covers most of the bases for just about any appetite. Good selection of German beers and other spirits. Always a pleasant dining experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Volo, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“German goodness near home = Chicago NW suburb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having to frequent Austria for work, I was delighted to find this restaurant to satisfy my cravings for the food. I took my parents out for dinner, they were not as excited as I. However, by the time we reached the middle of dinner, they were just as excited. The food was German comfort food at its best. Being Octoberfest I had a tasting platter of Thuringer sausages, chicken schnitzel, and pork with warm german potato salad and sauerkraut. Good thing was I was able to have it again the next day, the portion size was incredible. They don't offer some of my Austrian favorites but the schnitzel, sauerbraten, sausages, golash, and other German favorites will provide plenty of tasty options. With winter on its way, warm German comfort food will be on my agenda. Thanks for making Chicago suburb your choice for a restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are rarely disappointed on any trip to Fritzl's. The food is usually very consistent and good. The portions are generous. Through the years the menu has changed slightly. It is still a good German style menu. The service is sometimes off. I think what is important in a place like Fritzl's is the service should match the quality of the food. That means good training of wait and bus staff, which includes how to remove dirty dishes, and how to place the entree in front of the customer. All of that is part of the restaurant ambiance.I have sometimes had the feeling that I was in a diner when there, not a place with white table clothes and napkins. The beer offerings are exquisite!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Wonderful food and service as always just wonderful. Had a special NYStrip summer salad was very filling and taste was wonderful! had our 2 grandchildren there and they ate it up...Loved it! Plan on going back soon, they have a wonderful outside seating area.

Staff is always welcoming and will accommodate most requests!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Do not like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Service not good at all. Food was bland,greasy,overcooked Good selections of beer

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritzl's European Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Lake Zurich, Lake County
 
Lake Zurich, Lake County
Lake Zurich, Lake County
 

Been to Fritzl's European Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fritzl's European Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.