We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place Special Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovell's of Lake Forest

Lovell's of Lake Forest
915 S Waukegan Rd, Lake Forest, IL 60045-2654
847-234-8013
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lovell's of Lake Forest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Everett Road
Transit: Metra, Northshore Station
Lake Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Place Special Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a lovely atmosphere, with above average service and very good food. That being said I would say it is a high end place reserved for special events.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice but $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Unique place for a special dinner. Check out the lower level!! Lots of space items. Live entertainment a plus.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

To celebrate my son's graduation from Navy Boot Camp, we took a trip to Lovell. Not only was the establishment one of the nicest I have been to, but the food was wonderful. I was thoroughly impressed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, fancy atmosphere, some cool decor, high prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Went here before heading over to Citadel Theatre and got a free glass of wine with my order. This place is owned by the family of the astronaut from Apollo 13 and they have some cool stuff related to that. I was a bit turned off by having to use the valet in their otherwise convenient parking lot, but hey, I guess if you are trying to go for some romance and do something a but more formal then it's probably nice.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A beautiful building and great for a date, anniversary or other special event. May be a little overrated though. It has lost some of the popularity it once had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovell's of Lake Forest also viewed

Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
 

Been to Lovell's of Lake Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovell's of Lake Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.