We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market House on the Square

Market House on the Square
655 Forest Ave, Lake Forest, IL 60045
(847) 234-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market House on the Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 52 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Our new menu offers crafted food featuring the rich tradition of American Cooking we all grew up loving. These lunch and dinner items are rooted in our collective memories, made better than we remember through our commitment to the most current techniques and the best possible products we can source. We do everything from scratch. Our breads are baked on premise every day. We’ll make our own flatbreads, salad dressings, sauces, pastas, cheeses, sausages and the list goes on. We will source as much as we can locally (good tomatoes are tough in February) to bring you the best quality ingredients we can find. Finally, we believe Great Dining starts with Great Food, and ends with Great Hospitality. Hospitality is a dialogue.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food is delicious and the home made bread compliments the meal well. They even have beer from local brews which is nice. I love the salmon with the quinoa. The staff is very kind and knowledgeable as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A Great, Fairly Priced Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This pleasant, elegant restaurant in Lake Forest, IL is a gourmet eatery, but with very reasonable prices. The atmosphere is lovely and the all of the items on the eclectic menu are well prepared and inviting. The service is attentive, prompt and professional. It's a lovely place to eat frequented by many locals. Just off the picturesque, charming town square it is in a delightful location and particularly so in warmer months when the delightful outdoor terrace is open. Like
Del Rio in Highwood and Le Petit Paris in downtown Chicago, the Market House on the Square is one of our favorite restaurants in Chicagoland.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The Fish House Addition is a Real Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

"Fish House" is the new restaurant added to "Market House" (it's actually a separate place upstairs and with it's own entrance). This is a top-drawer place! Everything about it gets 5-stars: the atmosphere, the vibe, the decor, and of course the food and the service!

There are lots of great seafood options and preperation styles on the menu - there's something for everyone (raw, cold, hot, traditional to creative). Our dishes were all delicious!

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. I just can't say enough about this terrific new place. Thumbs up - a real treat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It holds up to area standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A restaurant in Lake Forest better have good food with great service. This place meets the criteria. The cracker bread was served with an olive spread and creamy butter - a nice touch. The menu is varied, from 20 oz bone-in ribeye (a little overcooked) to a large dinner salad. The duck casserole was excellent - prepared in a delicate wine sauce served with a light pastry shell. Just enough food and the price wasn't exorbitant - a $12 entree; combined with the beet salad, with walnuts and goat cheese - it was a great meal. The pot roast was a hit at our table - a large portion of comfort food. The wine list was appropriately varied - with international as well as domestic choices. We had an Oregon Pinot Noir for $60 - not the most expensive, but not the cheapest either. The service was great - they asked when we wanted the wine, the salads, etc - so we could plan the timing ourselves. We had a side room for 10 so the privacy and service may have been a function of that - but we had a great time as a group without feeling rushed or pestered. One suggestion - have larger red wine glasses - they use the "one size fits all" - not terrible - but a large red wine glass is a nice treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Family Reunion group enjoyed it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We rented a private room upstairs for our group of 20. Everyone ordered off the menu. For such a big group the service was quite good with all the food arriving at the same time. My salad of local vegetables was excellent followed by the grilled shrimp and polenta appetizer which I ordered as my entree. It was very tasty but not quite large enough for a meal. Asking around and observing others, I think everyone was pretty happy with their food. I sampled the salmon and it was great. Nice atmosphere. They worked hard to make us happy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market House on the Square also viewed

Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 

Been to Market House on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market House on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.