We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26225 North River Woods Boulevard, Lake Forest, IL 60045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn's have been consistently well done. Nice beds, clean rooms, pleasant staff, and reasonably priced. The Lake Forest Inn had an unbelievably quiet heating/cooling system which made for a very nice sleep. We stay at Hilton Garden Inn's whenever we have the option to do so.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We're very happy to learn that you found the property to be exceptionally clean, our team to be pleasant and helpful, and the price to be so reasonable. It sounds like you enjoyed a great night's sleep and that is certainly the foundation for any outstanding hotel experience. Please plan to stay with us again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    62
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
105
34
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here when visiting our newest grandson and were very pleased with the location and the amenities of the hotel. Our only complaint was that the duvet was too heavy and they provided us with a blanket instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the very kind review and congrats on the newest addition to your family! Great to hear our location was convenient for visiting the nearby Lake Forest/Libertyville area...we appreciate you choosing our hotel. We hope you'll plan to stay with us again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

See previous comments. This is a comfortable hotel. Most rooms are too small. Should not offer dinner service....unless menu is upgraded...and should have an experienced cook on board. Service...extremely slow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
First, thank you for the overall very positive review and for sharing your feedback. Our goal of constant improvement can only be achieved with direct, detailed feedback from our guests. In regards to your restaurant experience...as of January 1st we are excited to announce the rebranding of our new restaurant...the Garden Grille and Bar. Included in this process are some awesome new menus, a variety of nightly food and drink specials, and extensive training with our restaurant team to ensure we continue to provide the same outstanding product and customer care in the restaurant that we do so consistently in the hotel as a whole. Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa...we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future so you can enjoy the new concept first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We celebrated Christmas with our son for the day (he is attending boot camp at the Great Lakes Naval RTC). The staff were more than helpful with directions to restaurants, improved directions home and flexibility in check-out due to the special circumstances. The room was also very clean. The only reason I did not give an excellent rating on sleep quality is because I could hear other guests in the hallway and the air unit turned on and off most of the night...of course, part of the sleep issue could have simply been from not being home in my own bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for the very kind and positive review. It's always our honor to host visiting friends and family of those that will soon serve our country. It's particularly gratifying to hear that the service you received throughout your stay was marked with genuine care and hospitality. Delivering an exceptional service experience is our mission and our passion...we're so glad this was your experience. We hope you'll plan to stay with us again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waunakee WI, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The value for the dollar is not htere for the room cost and/or the bar resturant. Good location for business travelers doing business in the Lake Forest/Libbertyville Il area. The hotel has been upgrade and refreshed but it is still higher priced than many comperable hotels in that area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your overall positive review and for sharing your feedback. We're glad to learn you found the location was convenient and the property itself to be in like-new condition. In regards to the value propostion...we are certainly disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expecations. Providing strong value is important to our business as it helps drive the wealth of loyal, return guests the hotel is fortunate enough to enjoy every week. Please accept our apologies that your individual experience varied so greatly. It sounds like you're aware of an alternative that will more closely meet your expectations. Having said that, we'd love the opportunity to earn your business here again in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can help to make that happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niles, MI, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A good weekend value for a family visiting the North Shore of Chicago (Lake Forest/Deerfield). Normally, a business man's hotel, it has attractive rates and facilities for a small family on a weekend visit. A complimentary breakfast would help rather that a "pay-for" meal'; free coffee is a plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you'd highly recommend the hotel to both business and leisure travelers alike. We do have a few spacious one bedroom suites that would be ideal for larger families traveling with kids as well as an abundance of connecting room types that we'd be happy to make special arrangements to reserve. Oh, glad you enjoyed the complimentary coffee. Good news...beginning last month with the completion of our incredible lobby redesign we are now providing a special "beverage of the day", also available complimentary in addition to coffee and tea 24 hrs/day. Thanks for choosing our hotel and please plan to stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years since it is close to family. Our room and the hotel in general are always very clean. The hotel is next to a highway but the rooms are always quiet. The bonus for us is the queen sized beds in the rooms. We have found that most hotels only offer double beds and this is not comfortable for us. The hotel is close to highways, shopping and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and we're so glad to hear all of your visits have been wonderful and consistent. Good to learn you've always found the property perfectly clean, comfortable, and quiet. We're happy you enjoy our rooms with two queen beds. It really is nice to have the larger queen beds instead of the older double beds. Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa every time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa

Address: 26225 North River Woods Boulevard, Lake Forest, IL 60045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa is ideally located among Lake Forest, IL hotels, just off I-94, and only minutes north of Chicago. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by stylish décor and comfortable lounge seating near a cozy fireplace that creates the perfect atmosphere to hang out with friends or co-workers. Start your day off with breakfast at the Great American Grill, or unwind in the evenings at the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy a beer or signature cocktail. The spacious guest rooms feature modern amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs with premium cable, and the signature Garden Sleep System bed that is adjustable to fit your comfort. This Lake Forest, IL hotel also offers easy access to O’Hare International Airport and the businesses in Lincolnshire, Vernon Hills, and Libertyville to make it perfect for corporate travel. Leisure travelers will also appreciate the quick commute to Six Flags and the Great Lakes Naval Base. Select the Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, and enjoy premium service and a great location for your next Chicago-land trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.