We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26225 North River Woods Boulevard, Lake Forest, IL 60045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and tidy hotel, the staff have been great and the rooms are spacious. Best to book a room away from the motorway as it can be a little noisy, the hotel has gym and swimming pool however the pool is pretty small so dont expect to be doing lots of lengths. Overall though very nice for work.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Ricardo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very positive experience. Our mission at the property level is simple."Clean and Friendly", and it works. We're very happy this was your experience as well. We appreciate your business and I hope you'll plan to stay with us again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    62
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
105
34
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After my recent stay in May I thought I'd take a moment to write a review. I stay at this location once every two months, and have for the last year or two. Beds make or break a hotel in my mind, and the beds at this Hilton Garden Inn have always given me a comfortable nights sleep. Check-in is quick and easy. The staff are helpful and attentive, and the food is good. The lobby makes it feel like home. I can't say enough nice things about this particular HGI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Matt,
First, thank you for your loyalty to the hotel and our team over such an extended length of time. It's certainly our priority for our guests to feel as close to being at home as possible when traveling. Reading your kind words about our team and the fact that the hotel feels even a little bit like home for you is very rewarding. Also great to learn that the HGI Garden Sleep System beds are returning the investment...indeed a good night's sleep is critical to a great hotel experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and I'll be sure to share your review with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Your hotel was a beautiful place to stay, and we received great service. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The lobby was a relaxing and comfortable place to sit. The only drawback was that the bar could have remained open past 9 P.M.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We're grateful to read that you had such an excellent experience. It sounds like you really enjoyed the property and found it to be comfortable and relaxing throughout. We appreciate your feedback regarding the lobby bar hours. While we try to schedule bar hours to meet demand, it's often necessary to "amend" those hours to take care of folks like yourself. I will personally speak with our F&B team and reinforce that they have the flexibility to extend hours as local law allows to meet the needs of a valued group or individual guest. It would be our pleasure to do so. Thanks for the great feedback and very kind words. Please plan to stay with us again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. We were in room 527 and had some noise from the water pipes but it was not so bad that we couldn't rest. The bed was very comfortable, and we are bedding freaks! I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We appreciate the feedback and your wonderful comments. Our team's mission is simple and highly effective..."Clean and Friendly". It's very nice to read that this was your exact experience. Our Garden Sleep System beds are a well-known amenity, and while bed comfort can be subjective, it's very cool to hear that "bedding freaks" such as yourselves found them to be so comfortable. Though you were kind enough to note that it wasn't a problem, I will speak with our engineering team about the pipe noise in room #527. There should not be an issue and we haven't had a previous report so we'll want to make sure everything is in good order and this is a non-issue for the next guest. We know you have a lot of choices so thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The lobby is very warm and inviting. The staff is genuine and helpful. Our room was very nice, clean and pleasantly decorated. I couldn't find anything negative to say about this hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for sharing your fantastic experience. We're glad to know you found the hotel to be perfectly clean, warm, and inviting. We always love hearing that you thought our team was genuine and helpful throughout your stay. Providing genuine hospitality is our mission and our passion...it's great to read that this was your experience. Please plan to stay with us again the next time you're in the area. We appreciate you choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean and accommodating staff. Our recruit was very tired and slept in our room after we picked him up from his barracks every morning. We only ate at the restaurant the first day since there were plenty of GREAT options for dining in the area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and a BIG congrats to your family and your graduate. Our team is proud to serve the families of those who serve our country. It's great to hear you took advantage of the location, that you found the property exceptionally clean, and most satisfying...that you felt welcomed by our team. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for such a special occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The consistency of great stays is continued with this HGI. The front desk and restaurant staff were very friendly. Would say more helpful than other HGI's. Did have a showerhead issue that was resolved very quickly when reported. I will also comment that my room felt bigger than others. Oh, and if you're a light sleeper request an odd numbered room. The even numbered rooms face the highway. Not a problem for me but a business colleague I was on the trip with ended up switching rooms as a result.

Room Tip: Odd numbered room are quieter. Even numbered rooms face the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
What a wonderfully kind review...thank you for sharing your comments. We're always grateful to learn that a guest had a great service experience. Providing genuine hospitality and friendly service is our mission and our passion. Our traditional room is a bit larger than a regular room, allowing for the addition of a convenience center that includes the mini-fridge and microwave...standard amenities in all of our guestrooms. My apologies for the inconvenience with the showerhead. It's nice of you to be so understanding and I'm very pleased the issue was resolved quickly and to your satisfaction. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travelers. We hope you'll plan to stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa

Address: 26225 North River Woods Boulevard, Lake Forest, IL 60045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa is ideally located among Lake Forest, IL hotels, just off I-94, and only minutes north of Chicago. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by stylish décor and comfortable lounge seating near a cozy fireplace that creates the perfect atmosphere to hang out with friends or co-workers. Start your day off with breakfast at the Great American Grill, or unwind in the evenings at the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy a beer or signature cocktail. The spacious guest rooms feature modern amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs with premium cable, and the signature Garden Sleep System bed that is adjustable to fit your comfort. This Lake Forest, IL hotel also offers easy access to O’Hare International Airport and the businesses in Lincolnshire, Vernon Hills, and Libertyville to make it perfect for corporate travel. Leisure travelers will also appreciate the quick commute to Six Flags and the Great Lakes Naval Base. Select the Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, and enjoy premium service and a great location for your next Chicago-land trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.