We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Langdale Campsite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Great Langdale Campsite to your Saves list
Great Langdale Campsite
Great Langdale Valley, Great Langdale LA22 9JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We have stayed here on many occasions now and it just keeps getting better. The staff work their socks off from morning till night keeping the place tidy and clean. The family field is a particular joy you just sit back and watch the kids have a fantstic time climbing, playing football, cricket and if you have any energy left after walking you can even join in yourself.
Many thanks to John who welcomed myself and young sons to the site this time, nothing is too much trouble for this guy to sort out he realy goes that extra mile.
See you all again very soon Nigel 44 Flynn 11 and Oscar 6

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
44
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I have stayed on this campsite numerous times. It does not take bookings so arrive early at busy times. There is a well stocked shop selling food and supplies. The local pubs are all good (new and old Dungeon Ghyll and Stickle Barn). The location is superb, both in terms of the views and access to the numerous fells. Groups are usually put onto a separate section of the campsite, so the main camp site is not noisy at night. Showers and toilet block are clean and modern. There is a small drying room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

On arrival we booked in and due to confusion over number in our party my wife was
abruptly told no admission..
I then went into reception and checked in and my son and his two children did the same.
When pitching tent i was again asked how many in our party i said 2 tents 2 adults in one and 2 adults and 2 children in the other..a family group in the true sence of the word.
Whilst taking tent down a young man asked us for our ticket which had been blown away during the night however i still had the car receipt,he said that was fine and then he returned with another older warden who asked the same in a brusque manner,
Showers were fine apart from slippery floor and could have been cleanede more regularly and seems to be probllem with drainage as septic tank very smelly,
if you want a quiet site this is fine but dont expect a warm welcome

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed here for 2 wet and windy nights with little to no sleep but waking up and seeing the views more than made up for it!

The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the shop was well equipped. The showers and toilets were very clean. There is a drying room available which was very useful.

There are nearby pubs which serve hearty warming food. Pubs do accept payment by card but the campsite does not so make sure you take enough cash with you.

The campsite is a perfect base for walkers of all abilities.

  • Liked — Beautiful Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

When I phoned up to enquire if there was any places I was told the site works on a first come first served basis but at the time there was pitches. So get ther before 3pm as most new arrivals seemed to come after then.
On the way there we got mislead by the farm campsite of a similar name about 2 miiles before this one. What ever you do keep driving and don't stay there.
On arriving at the campsite the staff were helpfull. I would recommend walking around the whole site before pitching your tent.
The setting is stunning and the campsite is well sectioned so that if you don't want to be bothered with kids they won't bother you.
The toilets are clean and well maintained. The pub up the road does good basic food. Everything you could want and expect from a campsite and surrounding area.

  • Liked — scenary & fresh air
  • Disliked — midges
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Langdale Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Langdale Campsite

Address: Great Langdale Valley, Great Langdale LA22 9JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Great Langdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Great Langdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Great Langdale Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Langdale Campsite Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Langdale Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.