We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues but not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 S. Larkin Avenue, Joliet, IL 60436 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Joliet
1 review
“Issues but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First issue was the name of the hotel changed from time of booking and stay. It would have been nice to be notified so that locating would have been easier. Convienient location once I found it.

Ice machine did not work on my floor or the one below so had to go to the first floor. The Air Conditioner in the room did not work.

Breakfast quality and service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    21
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
17
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very friendly staff, really good food available & we were totally impressed how clean the room was & how nice the bed was. Definitely want to remember this hotel so when we are traveling between Idaho and Ohio again we can use this hotel.

Room Tip: Really appreciated the 4th floor b/c no one above us so stayed quiet all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend while attending a wedding. First of all it is no longer a Holiday Inn, it is a Clarion Inn but since I did a pre-pay we thought we would keep our reservation. The elevator had actual hand prints in mud on the door and walls inside. The hallway was very hot and stuffy. We get to the room and the sheets had stains, the walls had dirt and worn marks all over them. The fridge didn't work. Overall it was just a very dirty, unclean hotel. We for sure won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Hotel from outside appearances is underwhelming. It could use a parking lot revamp. The location however is spectacular directly off the interstate... Perfect. Make sure you get that free breakfast seriously. I have not been to any other hotel around the area offering a sit down menu free breakfast with excellent choices and great fresh food and coffee. But what was better than that? It was the service. I frequently stay here for work and am never dissatisfied with the service. Good people here. In another note, the room is always clean but I have noticed a bit less noise if you can get an upper level floor, the first can be noisy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights while attending a wedding. Older hotel conveniently located near I-80. Large room, comfortable bed. Friendly staff. I've never before mentioned anyone's name in a review, but Debbie in the restaurant was so competent that she turned what would have been an average rating into a very good. Haven't seen service so good in a long long time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

A last minute decision put us at this Holiday Inn on a road trip to southern Illinois. It was a perfect location off the highway, but without any highway noise.

The real treat was the woman that was in charge of the complimentary breakfast on Thursday May 22. She was so friendly and because of her we honestly left the hotel with an extra smile on our faces.

Great customer service, thank you!!!

From room 309. :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way to destination. We had high hopes based on the friendliness of the front desk when we first checked in. The room was OK but noisy, very thin walls. At about 6:00 AM the alarm in the next room went on and stayed on for a couple of hours. I realize the alarm isn't the fault of the hotel but the soundproofing of the walls is. The "breakfast" was horrible, cold and unappealing. When we mentioned this to the morning desk staff we were told we should have ordered off the menu. There was a menu?don't attempt

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear kathye101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 411 S. Larkin Avenue, Joliet, IL 60436 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Joliet Hotel Joliet
Holiday Inn Joliet
Joliet Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.