We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very accommodating!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 S. Larkin Avenue, Joliet, IL 60436 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Belleville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not very accommodating!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Trying to celebrate a wonderful occasion? Go somewhere else! They don't have any suites and you are forced to try and shove several people in a very small room.
If you are wanting to use a "Hospitality" room, be prepared to pay outrageous prices for the space and a very unprepared staff! It doesn't matter how much money you are bringing in to this particular Holiday Inn or to the community. Because of their "lack of hospitality", I'm sure that future gatherings of this kind will cause the coordinators of our VERY LARGE group will find somewhere else and another city! Way to go Holiday Inn for not taking care of your guest AND the community! Joliet Tourism should be so proud! It will only cost the area only about $1.5 Million in revenue!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bowler_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is important in our conitnuous drive for excellence.

I am disappointed to learn that we have left you with a less than memorable stay. I am truly sorry for the level of service provided by our staff was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you. We regret that we have failed to provide the best customer care which we have strived so hard to achieve.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    21
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
17
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

A remodeled holiday inn but still nice. No mini fridge if that is important to you. The bed was very comfortable and had soft and firm pillows with indicator which were which. The heater was an older window unit that was a little noisy. Since I got the room on priceline cheap it was worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for a quick 1 night when the weather meant could not go on to normal destination.
the reception and attitude were both excellent and for me the meal was too.
Like many holiday inns - the decor is a bit tired - but so what - it was clean and functional. The TV was very big. Clearly a popular hotel for conventions and meetings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Passed through the area and needed a one nighter. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was pleasant and hard working. Night desk clerk went out of her way to get us a room we wanted....then saw her working hard the next morning cleaning rooms! Snacks given in the evening. Breakfast was standard HI-Ex fare, well stocked and hot. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Always a great place to stay. The staff is wonderful!!! This is the first time we ate at the hotel and the food was very good. Breakfast was very good. I can't wait for next year to go back. The staff told us a couple of new restraunts to try that were wonderful, and the taxi service they called was great. 2 of the best taxi drivers I have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

1 of the nicest hotels ever stayed at.
the staff is exceptionally friendly and the hotel is very clean and very comfortable right down to the beds and pillows.
we have been staying here 2 to 4 nights a week with my company getting 3 to 4 rooms per week and if we have any problems with a room, the front desk has no problem getting us in another room ASAP.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here for ten days on business. The in-house restaurant has a simple but nice breakfast menu (the garden omelet is tasty and not too heavy), lunch and dinner have a little variety and are pretty well done. the rooms were clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Internet was a little slow, but that probably varies a good b it with room location. It's a minor irritation to have to log in every 24 hours using a password that changes weekly. Staff was friendly and helpful. The housekeeping was limited -- made up the bed, fresh towels, etc. but didn't do some things I would have expected, like removing used plates and coffee cups.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 411 S. Larkin Avenue, Joliet, IL 60436 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Joliet Hotel Joliet
Holiday Inn Joliet
Joliet Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.