We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicken-N-Spice

Chicken-N-Spice
251 North Chicago Street, Joliet, IL 60432
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 227 Restaurants in Joliet
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Joliet, IL USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

At first glace, this place doesn't look like much, but inside you'll find the best chicken chunks imaginable. Tender, crunchy and breaded without the skin (which I don't eat so I really appreciate this). They're hot, service is fast and always friendly. Price is reasonable and they taste wonderful. Don't let the lack of decor fool you. If you'relooking for ambiance this probably isn't the place for you but if you want geat tasting chicken you've come to the right place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

The chicken is what most people come here for, especially the breast chunks. They have a flavorful spicyness, very moist. They also have some good soups. The only knock on the place is the building itself. We usually do carryouts, the dining area could use some updating.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chicken Chunks are AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stopped in for what I heard was the most famous Chicken Chunks in Will County. I was not disappointed. The Chunks were huge with a great spicy batter on the outside. the jojo's which are a version of potatoe wedges were also excellent. Great place! I would definitely return to try the other items on the menu.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You can't get these chicken chunks anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

In the area, Chicken N Spice is practically an institution.
Get the chicken chunks and the JoJo's potatoes, take them home and enjoy the heck out of them. Those simple instructions would solve many of the bad reviews I've noticed here.
The slightly spicy breading on the chicken is why no other place will ever due. I'm sure they pressure cook the chicken to keep it moist and dense, but a lot of places do that. But no one else has duplicated the coating on the chicken. The ketchup-type sauce served with it has a little bit of barbecue sauce in it too (or something similar) to keep the spice thing going.
It's never going to be fine dining, but what were you looking for from a place that serves "chunks"?

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will never eat here again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

First of all, the manager, Letty was very rude to me on the phone when i called to complain about an incident in their parking lot. She called me "childish" and "thanks for wasting her time" and hung up on me.

I work locally and our company orders all our parties from there and my family also had ordered their chicken for our own parties. We've noticed the quality going down hill recently of their food. They hire a lot of young people (obviously from the immaturity of their manager...) I work in customer service, and you do not treat the customer like that! I will never order food from their again! That is a promise!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken-N-Spice also viewed

 

Been to Chicken-N-Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicken-N-Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.