We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprised to find this gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky's Bar-B-Q House

Smoky's Bar-B-Q House
2314 W. Jefferson St., Joliet, IL 60435
815.730.3962
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 227 Restaurants in Joliet
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Toledo,OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Suprised to find this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just happened upon this location and we're so glad we did! Delicious barbecue at reasonable prices! EVERYTHING was good. The service was excellent. We had brisket, chicken, baked beans, mac n cheese, coleslaw, baked potato. Quite the spread!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albia, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing! We left quite full!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We weren't sure if they were open, as there was construction going on and no cars parked along the side. We decided to pull in because we saw their lights on. They were open and boy were we glad we took a chance. I had a pulled pork sandwich. It was fantastic. I saw a review about the bread being wet, mine was not. It was perfect. Their bbq sauce was perfect. They had other choices of sauce, but the house bbq was all we needed. My husband had a platter of ribs, pulled pork and chicken. The ribs meat came off the bone perfectly. He ate every bite. My son had their fries and loved every bite. The waitress was friendly and was there to refill out drinks before they were completely gone, which was nice because we didn't have to even ask. This is a great place and if we lived in that area, it would definitely be a date night dinner place for my husband and I.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Rib Tips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I found the rib tips and pulled pork sandwich very tasty. Excellent.

I did find that the decoration of restaurant is rather stale, bland. Ceiling tiles and no decorations reminded me of a doctors office waiting room.

I was surprised to find that the sides were not very good and their Texas toast was too buttery on outside and dry in the inside, but overall who cares when their BBQ is excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to try a local place for Ribs and Smokey's was recommended. We called for take-out and was told our order would be ready for pick-up in 10 minutes (10 Minutes!). It was ready on time and the cashier who took care of us was very friendly. The baby back ribs were perfectly cooked - the meat fell off the bone, great smokehouse flavor. The BBQ sauce is outstanding! Next time we are in Joliet to visit the grandkids we will be back here again. I would be surprised if there are better tasting ribs in Joliet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here three times in the last two months. Staff is wonderful and the food is outstanding. The Ribs and Brisket are great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoky's Bar-B-Q House also viewed

 

Been to Smoky's Bar-B-Q House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoky's Bar-B-Q House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.