We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thayer's 158 North - CLOSED

Thayer's 158 North
158 North Chicago Street, Joliet, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hartford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went on a Monday night so not to crowded. The place is clean and the food was A 1. Prices very fair too
The waitress was very friendly and gave great service but I guess with only 4 tables taken it better be.
Only knock was a fowl smell that came on for a short time, think was from cleaning fluid used on the glasses at the bar but not sure. As fast as it came it went away fast.Wish we would have had room for desert but the steaks were large and great.
Would go back again and try lunch, places like this need to stay around so try it, you will like it.
This was our 1st visit and it was kind of hard to find, needs better signage in front or maybe it is just me and poor eyesight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

excellent food & service as always not to mention great atmosphere........can't wait to go back especially in the summer on the patio.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joliet
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I will frequent this establishment at least 6 times a month. I have always recieved great service and food. Thank you for being the best.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladd, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Pre Theatre fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

In town for event at Rialto which is one block south. Suggest to call for reservation on event nights. We got last one when called at 2pm. It was 7:30 show so we went at 5 and able to enjoy leisurely dinner including dessert and coffee. Many turned away as full although upstairs and downstairs seating. We were seated at what they must hold as near front door and off by ourselves which was great and not freezing with in/out ... husband's veg lasagna was great but my shrimp Alfredo pasta non-discript ... sautéed calamari appetizer was excellent ... Could be less skimpy with bread although did replace ... service very good with waitress very busy keeping up with too many customers for one woman ... would return and request same table if after outdoor patio closed as our table now in front of them ... ... those doors allow a beautiful view to the street Xmas lights ...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thayer's 158 North is well worth the trip to downtown Joliet. Don't waste your time or money at any other establishments down there as I have. Simply put, everything they serve is great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thayer's 158 North also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thayer's 158 North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.