We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service & value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Evans

Bob Evans
1776 McDonough Street, Joliet, IL
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 226 Restaurants in Joliet
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone 815-725-0818
Restaurant details
Description: Phone 815-725-0818
London, England
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Good food, service & value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Being with walking distance of my Motel this seemed an ideal place to eat and I was not disappointed.
The food and service were fine, although I did encounter one of my pet hates, which was a soup with cheese on. I don't eat cheese and if it's got cheese it should say so. It was promptly changed, so not a problem, just an inconvenience.
Having said all that, it didn't stop me dining there on both nights of my stay.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The basic for a breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I went here for a early breakfast. Nice and friendly, maybe bit high scale prices for the service level. Chains are chains, I would like to say.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How about some service??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went there for breakfast on a tuesday. We placed our orders which were nothing special ( omlets french toast pancakes etc.) It took quite awhile to get the food. My wife ordered french toast. Her order didn't come to her at all. The waitress told us it would be just a minute-it will be up shortly. 10 minutes later I was done with my food and still nothing for my wife. But the waitress did ask my wife if she wanted more coffee 2 times more. We asked whats going on with the french toast? Should be right up. Finally did arrive after all the rest of us were finished. Come on!! French toast? Very aggrivating.
Other than that all the food was fine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious home style cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went for breakfast twice, dinner twice, and also had the soup to takeout. The food can't be beat. The salmon was out of this world.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“What You Expect From Bob Evans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

After arriving and learning they had breakfast 24/7, that's what I had for dinner. Standard Bob Evans fare, but it was served hot and tasted good.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Evans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.