We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant closed without notice to reservation holders” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Department - CLOSED

The Department
205 North Chicago Street, Joliet, IL 60432
815-714-2280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed without notice to reservation holders”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had pre-theater reservations at The Department on March 21. I went on line to check their menu for seafood options for lent and could no longer find the website. I found a Facebook page with a customer comment indicating that the restaurant had unceremoniously closed without notice earlier in the month. I tried calling to confirm my reservation and received voice mail. Both my husband and I left messages and call back numbers but did not receive a call back so we quickly called other restaurants for a last minute reservation. We had been to The Department before and enjoyed the food and ambiance. I read that management changed after our original visit. A very disappointing experience. I am not sure who the owners were but I hope that they are no longer in the restaurant business if this is how they treat their customers.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    11
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The department is a great idea and location for a much needed Resturant in Joliet. The food is a little over priced for the selection and quality. It's an average Resturant and has the potential to be more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for girl's night out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food was very good and let's not even get started on the Peanut Butter Pie! Delicious. The night I was there there was a party and they were a little loud but overall the experience was enjoyable. Great food, good service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Casual but classy dinning experience in downtown Joliet setting within a short walk from the Rialto Theater

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is our favorite place to eat. The food is fantastic. The restaurant is decorated to honor Firefighters thus the name The Department. The wait staff is wonderful and the desserts are to die for. You can't go wrong at this restaurant. We have never had a bad meal.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Department also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Department, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.