We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big thumbs up for Aubergine..Dee Why” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aubergine

Aubergine
24 The Strand, Dee Why, Warringah, New South Wales NSW 2099, Australia
(02) 9981 2061
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 66 Restaurants in Dee Why
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New South Wales Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A big thumbs up for Aubergine..Dee Why”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first experience of dining at Aubergine Dee Why.
It was my husbands 60th Birthday. It was a very enjoyable evening. We were very impressed with the service from (both Anna and Madeline)....Very professional and friendly.
The food was excellent and we'll definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Terrible experience! It was extremely busy so we weren't expecting to be served straight away. But after waiting 20 min for a menu, then 1.5hrs for our lunch to arrive the waitress apologized for the delay & offered us a couple of complimentary drinks. When the food finally arrived, it was cold. To top it off, we were charged for our 'complimentary' drinks. Needless to say, no tip was given.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great casual restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I work near here I would often have lunch here, the lamb shanks are great. They do a really good steak and fish as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Disappointing after reading good things.

The restaurant was extremely busy on a lovely Sunday lunchtime, so we did not expect quick service. However, waitstaff do not seem to be allocated to particular tables, as is normal in most restaurants, so different people wandered up from time to time, or wandered past, and it was difficult to know who to ask about progress. There were plenty of staff, just no organisation.

After we ordered we waited - and waited - and waited. It then became clear they had lost our order. We were offered complimentary garlic bread - very nice - while we continued to wait, but looking at the bill it seems to have been charged at half price, rather than being complimentary.

Food, when it came, was variable. The Barramundi and chips were fine, as was the chicken burger. The beef burger was barely cooked - my son took it home in a takeaway container and recooked it.

My partner's prawn and avocado salad was minus the avocado - we had to ask for it.

The goat's cheese and aubergine parcels were smothered in heavy tomato paste - NOT pesto as decribed - so that the whole thing tasted like and looked like a small serve of canelloni. To add insult to injury mine was lukewarm and served on a cold plate.

Desserts were fine; the cheesecake looked as if it may have been made on the premises. The cakes looked bought-in.

Oh, and there's a Sunday Surcharge, too. Needless to say, once I found that on the bill, I didn't tip as presumably it is there to cover Sunday penalty rate wages.

Ordinary pub food at twice the price. Also very noisy. A pity, as I'd looked forward to eating there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Four of us ate here in April to farewell my daughter before she left to live overseas. We have had lunch here a number of times & coffees but not an evening meal. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious & the service was pretty good too. It was fairly busy for a Tuesday night - so we didn't get an outside table, but it was OK inside. I think the owner is trying really hard to please his customers & we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine also viewed

 
Dee Why, Warringah
Dee Why, Warringah
 

Been to Aubergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aubergine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.