We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old and smelly...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1709 W Morton, Jacksonville, IL 62650 (Formerly Country Hearth Jacksonville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Jacksonville
Orland Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Very old and smelly...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were attending a baseball tournament in the area. The hotel is convienent to the field. Unfortunately this property is old, used, smelly and disgusting! The beds were low to the ground, blankets, bed spreads were as old as could be. There were stains on the side of the box springs. The dressers were dusty and terribly old...The carpet was gross as well. Most of the hallways smelled like old smoke..Some people had mouse traps in their rooms. The so called breakfast in the morning was hard mini bagels, boxes of cereal and some packaged danish. They did have a waffle machine. My son said the waffles were disgusting. The juice machine had chunks in it! The only descent thing I can say is the pool was clean and the staff was friendly enough. The outside of the property was unkept and sloppy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
5
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette Heights, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lets be fair, you can't compare this to the Hampton Inn which is half a block away. If I paid $90-100 for this room then no, I wouldn't be happy, but for the price you pay, this is a great hotel. Compare apples to apples, such as the Super 8 just down the road, and this is a great hotel. The walls were a little thin, you could hear people coming up the stairs or passing by in the hallway, but if you turned the tv on for a little background noise, you couldn't hear anything outside the room. Other reviews said that the beds were bad, and if you like a soft mattress then perhaps you will think that. I like a soft mattress so to me it wasn't a good night sleep, but my girlfriend likes a more firm mattress, and she slept great. The breakfast wasn't the best, but again, compare it to a mid-class $50-60 hotel and you get what you expect.
The pool and the hot tub were excellent. We used them a lot.

The place does look a little outdated, but I do believe they are working on that, we stayed for two days during the week, and they had a crew there working on one of the rooms. You can tell that building has been around for a long time and it takes time to update a business. And you can tell they are working on that.

Overall, we go to Jacksonville at least twice a month. My girlfriend and I usually went to the Super 8 hotel (we can't afford $100 a night for two nights every other week). We decided to try something else so we went here. We will NOT be going back to Super 8. Apples to Apples, dollar for dollar, this is an excellent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed only 1 night, but were satisfied with the accommodations. Check in and out were easy. Our room was pretty small, but fine for 2 adults and 1 child. The room was clean! The furniture, tv and bedspreads were outdated, but they were in good condition. There was a free breakfast, however, it was very small. They offered milk, juice, coffee, cold cereals, bagels, danishes and make your own waffles. They offer an indoor pool and hot tub. We were the only people in the pool. The employees were friendly. We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: It appears that there are rooms that overlook the pool...we did not have one, but you can inquire ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The bed is low to the floor, the mattress is so old I can feel the bed springs. Everything about the room is old and outdated. The sink was clogged with food grease. The plus side it does have a working microwave and fridge

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacksonville hotels

Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were in town for a baseball tournament at Lenz field. This was the last hotel available. There is a reason this was the last hotel in available in town. The beds are terrible and the sheets are even worse. Very creeped out by the room.

If you actualy want to get a good night's sleep I suggest finding a different hotel. Can't believe they are still in business.

If this your last option in Jacksonville, stay in Springfield. The drive is only about 30 minutes all on a divided highway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked a stay for 3 days. When the first room's bedsprings were too much and I could not go to bed, the front desk told me that the beds were 16 years old, but they moved me into a room whose bed did not get as many checkins.
Totally disappointed with lack of discount for dirty rooms, lack of security on door and windows on 1st floor. I cannot believe this place has not shut down.
Surfaces, lampshades, coffee pot were destroyed and was told it was from the ballplayers who stay there alot. Will not stay again and suggest anyone else to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Select somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

One painful weekend. Checked in Friday for a baseball tournament weekend at Lenz field with the team. The room had two huge windows that were open and do NOT lock on street level first floor. Air conditioner kicked on once all weekend about 10:00 Saturday night. Front desk said they were out of fans so clearly other AC units were broke in the hotel too. Both beds are like sleeping directly on the box spring. Springs dig in your back! The walls are very thin as was the ceiling. We could actually hear the person in the room above us snore all night Friday. The breakfast is a joke. No fruit. Cold bagels, cold cereal and instant oatmeal. The waffle iron was broke. Surprusingly, fairly clean for everything else that was a nightmare. No elevators to 2nd floor so not good for the aged. Location is on the main drag and close to Lenz field.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn

Address: 1709 W Morton, Jacksonville, IL 62650 (Formerly Country Hearth Jacksonville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the wonders of Jacksonville, IL - the home of Ken Norton former world heavyweight champion boxer - in its most comfortable form at this relaxing, pet-friendly hotel. Located just two miles from historic downtown Jacksonville, Illinois, this BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn is the perfect place to stay when visiting the area's many sites such as Central Park, Walldog Murals, Underground Railroad driving tour, Eli Bridge Wheel, Governor Duncan Mansion. Guests traveling for business In Jacksonville can also find a range of attractions without traveling far. Nearby golf courses, Morgan County Fairgrounds, and Lincoln Square Shopping Center are wonderful for the simple pleasures of relaxation. After a day of sightseeing or working, nothing is more welcoming than a comfortable bed and a room with generous amenities - and the BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn does not disappoint. We offer such amenities as a free Wi-Fi and a fitness center. You may also enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast in the morning that includes coffee, juice, bread, eggs, sausage links, waffles, yogurt, biscuits & gravy, cereals, donuts, muffins and bagels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerihost Inn Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.