We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1109 West State Street, Jacksonville, IL 62650   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Villa Park, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After staying in many of the hotel chains in Jacksonville over the years, I was delighted to find this wonderful alternative. It is beautiful, quiet, and Gwenn and Glen are gracious and thoughtful hosts. The food, which ranges from cookies before bedtime and gourmet breakfast, is outstanding. I have already booked my stays for the coming year, and I will continue to do so as long as business takes me to Jacksonville.

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the Serenity Suite. It is large enough for me, and it would also work well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blessings. Gwenn is a wonderful hostess and excellent cook. Valerie was a charming helper. It's a beautiful property in a prime location of Jacksonville. Sitting on the front porch was very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedias , tx
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

beautiful victorian home, one could spend hours studing the architecture. it is like a home away from home. glenn and gwenn went out of their way to make us feel comfortable . i really enjoyed the player piano that was playing in the background. valerie is quite the little innkeeper, and as cute as a button. we really enjoyed our time in jacksonville,and plan on staying there in the future when we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is the best B&B we've ever stayed in and Gwenn & Glen are wonderful people. They did everything possible to make our stay a nice experience for my wife and I along with our teenage son. We were in Jacksonville, IL for a baseball tournament and Gwenn did everything possible to make our son comfortable and she even worked breakfast around the team schedule each morning. She also made a dinner reservation for us the first night we stayed while we were checking out the town.
It was a very relaxing/fun weekend and Gwenn & Glen made us feel at home. The backyard is beautiful with all the flowers, plants and gazebo. Can't wait for the next baseball tournament in Jacksonville because we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Blessings on State B&B with our entire family this last weekend, and it was wonderful! Hostess Gwenn went out of her way to make sure all of our needs were met. We arrived very late on Friday evening and found our rooms prepared for the night, as well as cookies, drinks, and snacks (which our four children devoured). The beds were extremely comfortable - no lumpy, old mattresses. Gwen tailored our breakfasts to special requests both days, and they were delicious. The beautiful front porch was a highlight, with comfy wicker furniture. This was definitely the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Both suites were well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite NV
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having been to Jacksonville IL before but many years ago, I was delighted this time to find a lovely B&B in the historic area. We immediately felt like family and basked in the kind hospitality of our hosts. The 3-story home has been fabulously renovated and decorated and Jacksonville is so fortunate to have a lodging of this quality. The grounds and porch are equally inviting. Wish we could have stayed longer. Rooms are upstairs. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and snacks are available at all times!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Blessings on State B&B is amazing! The owners have really taken care to make the rooms so relaxing and unique. The suite was elegant, yet incredibly comfortable still. They include so many "extras" that we weren't finding in other B&B's. The house itself is really stunning. Glen and Gwenn made us feel so at home in their home, and it was wonderful getting to know them. The breakfast was also incredible! A wonderful variety of food that was all really delicious!! I cannot say enough about Blessings on State. It blessed my husband and I very much, and we hope to come back. Thanks for your generous hospitality!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with either suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1109 West State Street, Jacksonville, IL 62650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast is located in the prestigious Duncan Park/West State Street historic district in Jacksonville, Illinois. One block from Illinois College, the Governor Duncan Mansion and the Illinois School for the Deaf, this beautiful 120-year-old mansion shines with the ambiance of the past. Strong architectural details include a stunning carved staircase, five distinctly different tiled fireplaces, pocket doors, natural wood floors and stunning chandeliers in every room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.