We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conference Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Chicago Northwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Chicago Northwest to your Saves list
Westin Chicago Northwest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Park Blvd., Itasca, IL 60143 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Manassas, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Conference Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Hotel is located in attractive suburban business park, which includes several miles of walking trails around lakes and a golf driving range. Great setting to get away from office. Also has a full service health club adjacent.
Hotel has a full interior atrium (14 floors). The very spacious lobby and central lounge make great places to meet and greet. Lounge food is limited but well prepared.
Rooms are typical high quality Westin rooms. Staff is very helpful!
The main restaurant, Shula's, is good for breakfast and lunch, but heavily over priced for dinner. Unfortunately any other dinner choice requires travel of at least several miles.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    106
    76
    31
    25
See reviews for
71
60
27
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Great hotel for business stay! I was initially hesitant to book this hotel initially but I had no choice since this was the only approved hotel for the conference (w/ preferred rates). After a long day it was nice to walk into a quite hotel, decent food and clean room. It is the Westin; therefore the bed is always comfortable. I had to attend an all day conference the next day and was able to get a good night sleep. It lived up to my expectations of a Westin. The hotel was relatively close to the airport compared to other hotels in downtown. I would stay there again, if my meetings are in the surrounding area of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

So here's the thing. 12 story central atria lined with guest rooms does not a quiet hotel make. Seriously. Whoever came up with this questionable architectural idea apparently never had to stay in one of these joints -- they are acoustical nightmares. Every noise from that vacuous central space floats right up and sounds like it's taking place just right outside your door. That said, i had a perfectly pleasant (and actually completely restful) stay at this Westin. My room was giant, and the Heavenly Bed was, as usual and as promised, heavenly. No spa tub in this particular room, but since there was the dual showerhead, I didn't feel too sad about that. Very nice fitness center up on the 12th floor, and although I didn't check it out, there is a pool in the hotel too. I did have a very good meal at Shula's, but it was really expensive -- $70 for one person for a steak, soup and a glass of wine? That's A LOT of money. I admit the steak was pretty delicious, but I am not sure that meal was worth more than I paid for my lodging for the night. And speaking of which, that's the best part about this stay. I got the outrageously cheap rate of $65/night to stay in a four star hotel. I'd guess this place is busier during the week and wouldn't be nearly so affordable, but it was most definitely a great deal on the weekend!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Booked the Westin for a kids weekend birthday party. They have a big open Atrium and w got rooms on the upper floors. The indoor pool/hot tub was a hit with the kids. The beds were comfortable. One of the rooms had a problem with the TV which mainence was unalbe to repair. We were quite happy with the fact that the hotel gave us free breakfast at Shula's which is inthe hotel and had a great breakfast buffett.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Your standard hotel in this class, with a little bump for the large/variety in fitness area, attached dining variety. I will say it was a little odd to not have an iPod jack for the clock radio - which became standard about 3 years ago in most hotels of this level.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weightyghost
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I have traveled globally for Fortune 100 & 500 companies and Westin's tend to be safe and predictable. The Westin - Northwest Chicago has a very elegant look and feel. However, on this occasion, we found sheets with old blood stains, which although laundered and likely clean, you would think they would do more to eradicate the unsightliness. Add to this, vacuum cleaners loud and constant from 1 to 3 a.m. and you get the sense they are oblivious people are there to sleep. The final straw was a ridiculously priced menu (with 20% service charge automatically added per person's meal aside from any tips), and a room service breakfast complete with scrambled eggs that were more liquid than solid. In short, noisy, somewhat unclean, and food that appeared unsafe for consumption...all at Westin pricing. It wouldn't have been bad if the front desk staff upon checkout inquired how your stay was, rather, they must assume all is well. I didn't bother to say anything, as the staff seemed generally uninterested. Don't look for many amenities like free wi-fi, as this is a very a la carte hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

I actually stayed here for business and then stayed an extra night for leisure. The rooms are geared more towards the professional with a kind of minimalist elegance. Almost a 50s or 60s style, like you would see in the show Mad Men.

It is actually located in Itasca, about a 30 minute drive into downtown, but I highly recommend taking the train into town instead of driving. It only costs like $6 for a one-way pass and on the weekends $10 gets you unlimited rides! You save so much on parking and on your hotel room by taking the train into downtown. Plus they run as late as 12:45AM, so you can still enjoy the nightlife.

I actually got my shoes shined as well, and it was done well for $10 or so.

The only downside is that the bar, etc close early. But you would probably be downtown anyway if you were planning on enjoying the nightlife.

We happened to catch a free concert on Navy Pier; the weather was beautiful, the music free and fun; it was a good time all around!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Chicago Northwest

Address: 400 Park Blvd., Itasca, IL 60143 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Itasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Chicago Northwest 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An O'Hare perimeter hotel, The Westin Chicago Northwest is located just 12 miles from O'Hare International Airport and 27 miles from downtown Chicago. 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago Northwest Hotel Itasca
Westin Itasca
Itasca Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Chicago Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.