We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Chicago Northwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Chicago Northwest to your Saves list
Westin Chicago Northwest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Park Blvd., Itasca, IL 60143 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a fairly typical Westin properly, although it is laid out more like a large Embassy Suites with an atrium in the middle. The rooms are fairly standard and decently appointed. There is free on-site parking, but they charge the standard Starwood fee for internet. The area is in a suburban business park, and there almost nothing within walking distance in terms of restaurants or shopping. The staff is friendly and I had one of the best omelets I've ever ordered for breakfast. It's perfect if you are staying in the area for business, but if you are looking for nightlife and fine restaurants, you might want to pick something in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_connolly, General Manager at Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We are glad that you found our hotel to be a good choice for business and that you enjoyed your breakfast! While we are located in a business park, the hotel is only five miles from Woodfield Mall, one of the largest malls in Illinois with many restaurant and nightlife options. Our bellstaff is happy to provide shuttle service to/from the mall. And, if you do have the opportunity to return to the area and our hotel, the Metra train is a great option for easy and affordable transportation into Chicago and all of the entertainment options available in the city. Please do keep us in mind for a future visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    98
    72
    31
    24
See reviews for
67
59
26
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

At Westin what you would like is"

- They have an excellent gym, basketball courts (indoor and outdoor), Tennis court, indoor heated swimming pool and Squash courts
- Also the hotel has Shula's steak which happens to be one of the most famous Steak houses in Chicago
- The hotel is in close proximity to many corporate offices located in One pierce place and other nearby areas
- The rooms are spacious and I especially liked the big windows - which give ample sunlight if the curtains are kept open
- Also, the hotel has a free pick and drop facility to Itasca station, Woodfield's mall and areas within this periphery
- The staff is courteous and responsive
- They also have big business centre and convention centres

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors, to enjoy a distant view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_connolly, General Manager at Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Chicago Northwest in Itasca, IL. We are glad you found our hotel to be an excellent choice for your business trip to the area. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel was really amazing . The staff went out of their way to make sure everything at the wedding we attended went perfectly .The catering was really good and everyone had a great time . Rooms were well appointed and quiet . The breakfast buffet the next morning at Shula's was the best .

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room anywhere .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_connolly, General Manager at Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We appreciate your time in sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Westin Chicago Northwest. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time at the wedding! Your feedback will be shared with our staff. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH AURORA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel was beautiful , service was excellent and the wedding went off without any problems . A+++ Breakfast was amazing .

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_connolly, General Manager at Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your great wedding experience at the Westin Chicago Northwest! It was great to hear your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed at the Westin for one night when I was going to a one day convention nearby. Was very pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was. Everyone was friendly and gave us good service. We enjoyed the bar area. Had dinner at Shula's which had great food and service. Seemed to have alot going on.....Amway meeting with alot of 20 somethings and a wedding but did not cause any noise or crowding problems.

Room was spacious and clean. Easy check in. Liked the separate area with mirror and counter outside the bathroom since there was two of us getting ready.

Would recommend a weekend stop here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_connolly, General Manager at Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent enjoyable stay here at the Westin Chicago Northwest. We value feedback from our guests and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I attended a Rotary weekend here this month. The staff were all very kind and helpful all the way from check-in, maid service and meetings/meals. The suites are really nice and well appointed. I'll definitely return. A side note, I was surprised when two of us dined at Shula's, the steakhouse in the hotel. They automatically add 20% to the bill for a tip, no matter the size group. Interesting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_connolly, General Manager at Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Chicago Northwest. So glad that you had a great experience with our staff. Your comments regarding the 20% gratuity at Shula’s will be passed on to our Restaurant Manager for review – it is our standard policy to add a gratuity for parties of 6 or more and I would be happy to discuss this experience with you further. Feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I just returned from a convention based at the Westin in Itasca. Hotel was full of Rotarians (with one wedding party thrown in). Staff was terrific, hotel was very clean and well decorated. The quality of the hotel added a great deal to the quality of the conference. Plenty of good conference room space. Give it a try!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_connolly, General Manager at Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the conference at the Westin Chicago Northwest. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and the hotel to be clean. That is very important to us. We agree that we have great conference space and are happy that we were able to contribute the success of your event. We look forward to welcoming your group back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Chicago Northwest

Address: 400 Park Blvd., Itasca, IL 60143 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Itasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Chicago Northwest 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An O'Hare perimeter hotel, The Westin Chicago Northwest is located just 12 miles from O'Hare International Airport and 27 miles from downtown Chicago. 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago Northwest Hotel Itasca
Westin Itasca
Itasca Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Chicago Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.