We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiasco - Conference Coordinator” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Chicago Northwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Chicago Northwest to your Saves list
Westin Chicago Northwest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Park Blvd., Itasca, IL 60143 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fiasco - Conference Coordinator”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

I've held two conferences at this hotel this year. The last one was planned for over a month. Within minutes of signing the contract and confirming that the block of rooms were being held, the rooms were reserved by other guests. No one in our conference could get a reservation! Everyone had to stay at the Hilton Forest Lakes (a very nice hotel alternative) and get transported between hotels. The Westin
threatened to charge us the full cancellation fee if we moved the conference to another facility.

Despite their apologies and written agreement, the Westin shuttle was unavailable most of the time and completely forgot to pick us up on the last day. We ended up taking taxi's at our own expense. While the rooms are nice, I will never use them for a meeting again.

  • Liked — Nice rooms and comfortables beds
  • Disliked — Over priced
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    106
    76
    31
    25
See reviews for
71
60
27
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

We had our wedding at the Westin on October 14 and have nothing but positive comments about this hotel.

Everything went smoothly and the staff (from the banquet people to the front desk) were courteous, polite and accommodating every step of the way.

The rooms are modern and spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the property is very clean. The hotel changed hands from a Wyndham about six months ago and it's evident that it's a huge improvement.

I highly recommend this hotel for a wedding, business trip or weekend getaway.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

I walked into the lobby and was instantly impressed. The check in on a Fri. evening took 2 min. Then right up the glassed elevators to my room on the 12th floor. The room is so relaxing! Nice big cushy bed, lots of pillows. Pretty asian art on the walls. Streamlined flat screen TV. Very modern decor. Also had internet and MP3 connections. View was of the interstate, but what was cool was right down the road is :O'Hare. So I stood at the window and ironed my clothes watching planes landing one after the other. Really entertaining...........I thought anyway.
The bathrooms are smallish, but very clean. A small dressing area is right near the bathroom. Lots of mirrors. If you leave your room looking bad it's your fault!!
Back in the lobby you have a gift shop, Shula's, coffee shop, lounge, and public areas. All very calming. The whole hotel takes on this serene atmosphere.
Ventured over to the Reebok Workout Room. Clean and modern. With a killer view of the city and lovely grounds of the Westin. Also well equiped with TV, stereo, ect;
This hotel is excellent for business or pleasure. The whole Westin experience will leave you very happy!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Stayed here on a weekend (Fri-Sun) prepaid rate. I had prepaid for a Thurs-Sun stay (buy 3 nights get third free) and so when I was delayed by a day, did not expect any discount. Asked for an upgraded room when I arrived, and was given an enormous and very comfortable suite! Very clean, everything worked except for the in-room safe.

The traffic situation to Chicago during the weekend is not too bad. I made the trip in about 40 min. Although the atrium is loud (because of the design, just a few people talking in the lobby at normal voices sets off a cacophonous echoing), I did not hear anything from the bedroom of my suite and slept extremely well.

I don't think this property has any doormen - never saw or needed any. But the front desk people were very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean, quiet accommodations.
  • Disliked — A bit of a drive from downtown Chicago, but worth the trip for some guaranteed quiet at night.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Overall a terrific place to stay. The "Heavenly Bed" is truly heavenly. The rooms are immaculate, very modern, and have all the conveniences you would expect from a top-of-the-line hotel. I had a terrific view of the distant Chicago skyline from my window. The hotel is on a several acre man-made lake with a nice foot path that made me wish I had packed my rollerblades. Service was very good, food exceptional, and prices fair. It's close to O'Hare, but a cab to downtown was over $50. The hotel has a shuttle that drops you off at the Itasca train station. Riding the Metra to Union Station is a better deal at $3.90 (one way) and is nearly as fast.

On the con side, guests are assessed an extra fee to use the attached athletic club's workout facility (treadmill/bike/rowing machine, weights, raquetball, basketball). Fortunately, the pool, hot tub and the attached locker room facilities including sauna and steam room are included without additional charge.

  • Liked — The room was awesome
  • Disliked — Had to pay extra for treadmill / weight room access
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

Summary: Huge lobby with an open atrium (similar to Embassy Suites). Rooms are good sized and nicely furnished but does not have the luxurious feel of a Westin. Decent but not great value given its remote suburb location.

Pros: Lobby is huge with an open atrium and features restaurants and bars. Rooms are large and nicely furnished with flat screen LCD TV. There is even a separately table across the closet for luggage. Westin and Sheraton always have nice beds. You can also break Starbucks coffee in your own room. The pool is good size though not large. The workout room has lots of equipment in an area the size of a basketball court (but not on the 12th floor as noted in a previous review and has no view). There is also an actual basketball court. The hotel seems is basically very large and should be good for business conferences.

Cons: While the furnishings are nice, they are not luxurious. The colors are very standard grey, black and white monotone. The Itasca location is around 20-30 minutes from the O'Hare airport. If you take a taxi, it is considered a suburb of Chicago so your fare will be 1.5 times the actual metered rate. Going into Chicago by car is not recommended due to traffic. Even though it's very close to a highway intersection, there is nothing around the hotel in terms of dining and shopping within the immediate area. Service attitude was a bit cool, and there is no bell service, at least for us. We moved all of our luggage, including boxes, by ourselves.

Conclusion: I suppose I expect a bit more from the Westin in terms of quality. The facilities are great, particularly for business conferences. I see no reason to stay there if you are a tourist since it's too far away to be convenient.

Price paid: $169 + tax for weekday

  • Liked — Large rooms, nice beds
  • Disliked — Location and the barren surrounding area, not nice enough to be a Westin
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Great hotel, and staff. This is a must see in the burbs. Hotel very modern, and the best staff in Chicago. Great deal, and outstanding value. Priced right!!!!!!!

The lobby bar was an exciting place to meet with a extensive wine list, available by the glass.

Associates are all very excited about what they do. Close to O'hare and Wood field. Heavenly bed and shower a must for every home. I can not wait to return.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Chicago Northwest

Address: 400 Park Blvd., Itasca, IL 60143 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Itasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Chicago Northwest 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An O'Hare perimeter hotel, The Westin Chicago Northwest is located just 12 miles from O'Hare International Airport and 27 miles from downtown Chicago. 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago Northwest Hotel Itasca
Westin Itasca
Itasca Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Chicago Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.