We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still on the decline” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Straits - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dover Straits
1149 W Golf Rd, Hoffman Estates, IL 60169-1343
847-884-3900
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still on the decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This used to be a very nice restaurant, with an upscale menu and clientele and well prepared meals and white table cloth level servers. A few years ago, the decline started, and it continues today. Now they mostly get their patrons by offering specials and early birds, which draws upon the senior housing nearby. Our family went in to treat ourselves to their Lobster special. Three of us got the lobster, my wife went filet mignon. This is a seafood restaurant, and yet, by far the best choice was the steak. The lobster was rubbery in parts and had been overcooked into a solid state in the claws. How can a seafood restaurant not know how to cook a whole lobster? And run it on special? That's like saying "come on in and see how lousy our chef is." The service was very slow. On the plus side, the salads were very fresh and the clam chowder was flavorful. Oh, and my wife's filet was cooked as she ordered and was very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fishy taste, awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This place used to be good. The server was awful. No bread plates. If it wasn't for the bus boys we would have probably left. Asked waiter for a glass of wine twice and never got it. My husband had sole, it was ok. I had whitefish. It was from the fresh fish menu. It tasted like algae. The crabcakes were good. Otherwise completely disappointed. $100 worth of regret. You'd be better off at applebees.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All across the U.S.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Dover Sole in the Midwest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It is often difficult to find a restaurant that serves Dover Sole and prepares it correctly. Dover Straits in Hoffman Estates does itself proud. Portions are ample, seasoned to perfection, and comes with an almondine sauce that is a wonder accompaniment. Includes an ample selection of veggies (carrots, brussel sprouts, broccoli, etc.) and roasted potatoes to die for. Includes choice of soup or house salad. Only reason I gave it 4 stars is that we ordered Oysters Rockefeller and they weren't up to our usual expectations. Should have gone with the blue point oysters. Dessert was a luscious piece of red velvet cheesecake. Waitress was fun, attentive, and kept the pace. Don't be put off by the "older crowd" at the bar or dining. They know good seafood and restaurants that still keep to a nice leisurely pace to dine... not hurried. Their menu is varied enough so that those of you who don't like seafood can chose from many many choices. Since the only other restaurant, the Cape Cod room in the Drake Hotel serves Dover Sole, this restaurant holds it own without downtown Chicago prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
1 review
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had another wonderful meal at Dover Straits! Food was excellent! Nice relaxing atmosphere and always friendly staff. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed after a good track record”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I ate at this location last Friday. Despite previous good experiences, our latest meal was very disappointing. It took a while for the server to attend to our table despite it not being that busy. I ordered their prime rib promotional special and it was terrible. When I discussed it with the server, he was not very understanding and did not offer an alternative. My husband unhappy with his entree also. In the past, Dover was one of our go to places. Unfortunately, this latest experience has changed that entirely. Overall, both the service and food were a big let down.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Straits also viewed

Hoffman Estates, IL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Straits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.