We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar, awful music” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bridie McKenna's - CLOSED

Bridie McKenna's
254 Greenbay Road, Highwood, IL 60040
847-432-3311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highwood Ave
Transit: Bridie McKenna's Irish Pub is less than one block south of the Highwood Metra Train Station, with frequent service daily.
Description: Irish Pub & Restaurant serving Chicago's North Shore. Our menu offers a selection of Irish and American Fare. Guinness, Harp and Smithwicks are amongst our 15 beers on tap. We have nightly entertainment including DJ's, Karaoke, Coverbands, Irish Sessions and Team Trivia. Private events may be held in our Library and/or Brewery room. You will always find friendly service and a great atmosphere at Bridie McKenna/s
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
“Great bar, awful music”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Bar couldn't be better ... Service is great ... Food is good. But the live band? It is HORRIBLE. Please. Make. It. Stop. Please!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"such a lovely warm place"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

It's so authentic in there you think you're in Ireland -- well you are in a sense. Love the bar area and the fireplace. Corn beef and fish and chips are good choices. People who work there are always so nice and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Irish Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good for a cold brew with burger or corned beef. Food is what you would expect to find in a pub simple but good. Service is friendly and attentive. Visit frequently as an alternative to fancier food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great architecture can not make up for sub par food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The best part of Bridie McKenna's is the building itself. Although a bit large to resemble an actual Irish Pub it is really cute inside. With about four different rooms, they each provide a different atmosphere and experience. I am in love with the building!

Our service was acceptable but just after our waiter greeted us he went off duty. Another waiter took over but was not so friendly as the first, and he wasn't very attentive either.

The biggest disappointment though was the food. Based on reviews I went with the fish and chips. What the heck people? Have you never had traditional fish and chips? This was nothing like what is served in Ireland and Britain. The traditional fish and chips has a lovely battered, fluffy coating and yet crispy and crunchy at the same time! Yum. Bridie's fish and chips has more of a breaded coating and deep fried which was unexpected and not particularly tasty.

Since Bridie's is a pub I suppose I should mention the beer. The selection is excellent! So if you just want to stop by for a drink go for it and take in the wonderful atmosphere!

Although I love the building it's not enough to bring me back to Bridie's since you go to a restaurant primarily for food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I am told that if you praise everthing, others think it isn't a legit review. Well the truth is, we had a great time. Atmosphere was delightful (We sat in a 'Snug' booth just off the outside seating), our waiter was a lot of fun (Irish, but no accent), food (Bridie burger and Fish and chips - excellent and no skimping on the portions) Lots of beers on tap, our waiter got us samples and guided us with whwt we like and what we ordered, like pairings and fun. This is ou third vist this year and will be back. They have some traditional Irish music, I think and will chech that out. One last tip, earlier this year we had the Lamb stew, OMG the Best, made fresh everyday, and it does run out, try it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridie McKenna's also viewed

Highwood, Lake County
Highwood, Lake County
 
Highwood, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridie McKenna's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.