We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, good sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Kushi Too

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Kushi Too
495 Central Ave, Highland Park, IL 60035-2656
847-681-8997
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 80 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fresh, good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This place is popular with the locals, as we saw a number of people greeting each other as they entered. To me that's always a good sign. Food was good and fresh, with a good selection of dishes. We enjoyed the Highland roll and the chirachi, as well as the sashimi platter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A Little Slice Of Japan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Although you'll find the menu full of Americanized sushi-rolls - after all, it is in Highland Park, if you delve a little deeper you'll be rewarded with some legitimate Japanese cusine. The Buta-Kimchi {sauteed pork and kimchi} is slightly hot {spiced}, but, not so as to be over the top. The Tonkastsu [deep fried pork cultets with a tonkatsu-sauce] is of the Nagoya-style - being miso-based, as opposed to Tokyo-style, and not often to be found in this style of preparation in the Midwest. The Geso ten {fried squid legs with tempura sauce} is quite nice too. A reasonable selection of Japanese beers are on offer, though the sake offerings are rather... weak. Dress casually.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Top Contributor
623 reviews 623 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“The best sushi in the area, even though it is a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the best sushi in the area, even though it is a bit pricey... And even though if you're from somewhere with a real sushi market, this may not be the best you've ever had. BUT some of their rolls are a definite treat: try the shrimp lover roll, the red dragon, and the highland park roll. They're the best on the menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Quality Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our go to(o) place for sushi before the son started eating five or more rolls at a seating. The sushi here is the freshest and best in the north shore that we have found. The only problem is that you are going to pay for it. We have found the prices here to be higher than other places but certainly worth it.

My favorites are the central roll - crab, asparagus, fish eggs with spicy mayo and topped with flakes, jalapeno mayo, and eel sauce and the moon river - shrimp, cucumber, tempura flakes, jalapeno mayo and eel sauce. I tried the pan fried noodles with shrimp and vegetables for the first time the other day and they were good but average compared with the sushi. The boy with the bottomless pit of a stomach gets as many spicy tuna rolls as we will allow so I would say that would be a ringing endorsement of those as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, Very Small Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

I am very familiar with Sushi Kushi in Lake Forest, so my husband and I decided to try the Sushi Kushi Too in Highland Park. WOW what a difference. The place has 10-15 tables at most and a very small sushi bar. That said the food was as wonderful as at the much larger Lake Forest location. Great place for ordering and take-out!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Kushi Too also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Sushi Kushi Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Kushi Too, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.