We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheers, but better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton's Restaurant

Norton's Restaurant
1905 Sheridan Rd, Highland Park, IL 60035-2607
847-432-3287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 80 Restaurants in Highland Park
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheers, but better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite neighborhood spot to get a burger or a huge salad. The servers are always in a great mood and the owners treat you like old friends even if it is your first visit. It is a great low key place to get a great meal and you leave feeling good since everyone there is having a great time

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place for family or friends. Solid food. Great wait staff. Fantastic owner. Whenever we come in with kids, usually gets them a drink while they are awaiting. Very attentive. Amazing burgers. TV's all around for sports fans. Great laid back spot for salads steak chicken, whatever.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tried for first time - not going back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family decided to try Norton's for Sunday lunch. Kids meals (approx $9) include a drink, entree and dessert (scoop of ice cream). However, the kids' menu could use some expansion. Current options included hot dog, pasta, pizza, ribs and chicken strips.

The entree salads are expensive and extremely disappointing. No spring greens - iceberg lettuce only and very few toppings. The salad portion was quite large, but I felt I was just eating a bunch of flavorless lettuce. The large bowl of lettuce was served w/one tablespoon of dressing. I also ordered skirt steak on my salad and I received 8 small pieces measuring maybe 1/2" each (but, they were flavorful!). My spouse ordered the ribs and the portion was large and very tasty.

We ate outside since it was a nice day (there are 3 or 4 outdoor tables). The staff was friendly and the service was good. However, the prices are too high based on food quality. Our bill w/gratuity for 3 (no alcohol, appetizers or dessert except what came w/the kids' menu) came to $60 for lunch! That included 1 salad, 1 rib entree and 1 kids' hot dog!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This can be a busy place. Especially on Saturday nights. The food is ok. The atmosphere is" local tavern". When you arrive you have a host/hostess put your name on a list and you stand in a tight, crowded waiting area. On a recent (an last ) visit after waiting over one-half hour the hostess seated some people who had just arrived who she obviously knew. The rest of us who were waiting were aghast at this. The party that got seated was even surprised. My party left and will not go back to a place that would treat their customers like this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My "go to" place in Highland Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We've been going to Nortons for 13 years - almost since they opened! Some years we go every 2 weeks and others we go 3 times a year. I love it - the atmosphere, the owners, the bar, the people. It's Cheers in Highland Park. As my kids said "I hope this place never closes". Richie and Jeff greet us as their best friends every time even though they don't know our names. Although not cheap, the food is good, the waiters have been there forever and Jeff or Richie are always there. Keep up the good work - we love you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norton's Restaurant also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Norton's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.