We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happi Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happi Sushi
561 Roger Williams Ave, Highland Park, IL 60035-4815
(847) 432-1516
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 93 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family has been eating at this place since 1995. The fish is always fresh and the other menu items are delicious too. We go there also because the staff are wonderful people. James and his crew are like family. If you are in the neighborhood stop in for a roll! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We live close by with lots of choices but come back time and time again since we moved to this neighborhood in 2004. The sushi is quite good and consistently so. During the summer we often carryout and picnic at Ravinia with their goodies. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and welcoming. The dining room itself is quite shop-worn and somewhat "tired" but the food and atmosphere is fresh and very neighborhood friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Not great, but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Used a little too much rice in everything. If I wanted a rice roll, I would have ordered one. It worked for what we were looking for, close by and type of food. For the money, I think I would go somewhere else but hey they have been around forever and what do I know.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little Japanese spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We have been going here since 2002 and are always happy with our experience. The food is good, and the staff is very friendly. Our kids have both grown up eating at this place, and the staff recognizes them and remembers their favorite order every time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great sushi in a small storefront (which...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great sushi in a small storefront (which could stand some updating). Reasonable prices and staff that knows everyone by name make this a great neighborhood gathering spot.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happi Sushi also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Happi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happi Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.