We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally memorable dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's American Bistro

Abigail's American Bistro
493 Roger Williams Ave, Highland Park, IL 60035
847-780-4862
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptionally memorable dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This delightful bistro anchors the west end of a charming block long group of shops (with living quarters above in true Old European Style) next to the train station in highland Park.
The warmth and coziness of this bistro is accentuated immediately upon entering by the professional yet friendly staff.
It is mentally fatiguing to think of the effort put forth in creating such a unique list of dinner entrées.
Go early and be prepared to savor your favorite beverage while waiting for seating - it is well worth the wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails B, Manager at Abigail's American Bistro, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Wow, what a nice way to describe Abigail's!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood Hotspot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Interesting menu and well prepared food with great wine pairings. Friendly and energetic atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails B, Manager at Abigail's American Bistro, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We appreciate your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a really great north shore restaurant. You can tell that the chef who i believe is also the owner is very involved. Get there early as it isn't really large, and I'm not the only person that has picked up on how great this place is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails B, Manager at Abigail's American Bistro, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Yes the chef is also the owner - Michael Paulsen. He is on always on premise to insure the quality standards are followed. Please stick your head in the kitchen and say hi on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Innovative fresh cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

In the heart of the north shore in Ravinia neighborhood. Former storefront in beautiful forested neighborhood near Ravinia music festival grounds. Fabulous changing menu. Intimate dining. Elegant yet casual

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails B, Manager at Abigail's American Bistro, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are happy to have you as our neighbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Go Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We saw the restaurant on Check Please and in the past have had a bad track record with the restaurants they show as almost always they fail to deliver. When we saw Abigail's we had mixed thoughts but felt we're always looking for a local restaurant so let's give it a try. Glad we did.
As they only take reservation up to 6PM and we were looking for a Friday I started calling at 10AM only to not get someone to answer until 11AM, but had no issues getting a reservation.
The place is small, with what seems like 40-50 seats. The room is okay and not laid out in a pleasing way, but I wasn't here for the decor, just the food. So below is a review of what we ordered. If you don't want to read the details then just know that we are going back and have already told a number of people about the place. That's always a good sign.
Service was excellent.

Fois grai - excellent. One of the best I've had in a while. Beautiful presentation and mixing the various berries gave each bite it's own special experience.

Tortilla soup - had a hint of smokiness but needed in my opinion to be more robust in flacor. Also need salt.

Kale salad - small portion but very good flavor. Had an earthy taste and no grit in the kale

Shrimp fusilli - delicious flavor, adequate portion. Would order again.

Duck confit salad - served warm over French fries with frisée and smoked bacon, or what I thought was bacon and a poached egg. Was very good.

Korean BBQ - excellent. Good size portion with great flavor. Meat was lean.

Sticky toffee pudding - was looking forward to this but was our least favorite of the night. My wife is English and this is her favorite desert but sadly it failed to deliver. Didn't think the sour milk ice cream went with it. Used to the English way with custard.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails B, Manager at Abigail's American Bistro, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are so pleased you decided to give Abigail's a try! And even happier that your experience was memorable. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abigail's American Bistro also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highwood, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Abigail's American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.