We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, attractive interior, street tables nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Park Grill

City Park Grill
1791 St. Johns Avenue, Highland Park, IL 60035
847 432 9111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Highland Park
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Dessert, Family Fare
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Chicago
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, attractive interior, street tables nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just had lunch there and we had two lovely salads (one with apples, one with strawberries).
Sat outside and it was very pleasant. Waiter was terrific. Have had the blackened tilapia sandwich and other items, and they are all good. Can take the whole family. Go!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“too loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Food was just OK, not bad, but ok. Couldn't hear the person across the table from me. Odd crowd, much , much older. Would go back, but not a 1st choice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, a little pricey though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family and I love City Park Grill. The food is great, especially the pulled chicken sandwich! Excellent staff as well. The food is a bit pricey, though. Be prepared to spend some cash if you decide to go here. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Suburban Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“City Park is a very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We eat at City Park 3-4 times per year. The food is consistently good to excellent and we get very good service. The prices are reasonable so it is easy to eat at City Park often. I like the Ahi Tuna!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“OK for a gathering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

This restaurant was in a convenient location for a meeting with friends. We all had salads and shared a bottle of wine. I found their selection of wine by the glass very limited and was not really impressed by the bottle we selected. Our waitress was rude and interrupted our conversation each time she came to the table! Not very attentive either. I'd go back for the salads but with average expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Park Grill also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to City Park Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Park Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.