We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veligandu Island Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Veligandu Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Veligandu Island Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Ari Atoll, Republic of Maldives   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veligandu
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

There are so many lovely islands to choose from it took a lot of thought to narrow down to this one and so glad we did. Even before boarding the sea-plane we felt Veligandoo must be special, as we were shown to an exclusive departure lounge! On arrival, as you'd expect, it is absolutely beautiful - a "given" in the Maldives! However it's also an absolutely wonderful resort, incredibly peaceful and private, luxurious accommodation, fabulous food, a magnificent spa, great snorkelling and very attentive staff. We chose to have a special a la carte meal on our anniversary. The choices on offer looked really special but I'm not a great meat-eater and I was disappointed that the menu offered few vegetarian options. The restaurant manager asked I leave that with him and he'd get back to me the next day. He returned with a wonderful menu and to my suprise the head chef wasn't offering a choice of the lovely dishes listed but planned to make me tiny portions of each, both starters and main courses. We thoroughly enjoyed our fine dining at a table set for us on the sand and the head chef made a point of coming to see us after we'd dined to make sure everything was to our liking. This is only one example of a number of responses from staff and managemenrt which reinforce Veligandu's reputation for exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    92
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
52
875
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was second visit to Veligandu and found it just as good if not better than last year. It is definitely still the best of the islands we have visited for many reasons.

It is still very, very peaceful which makes it so relaxing for us (more so than other islands). The things that we found even better than last year include the new AI plus which now includes soft drinks and beer from the mini bar plus a selection of cocktails (alcoholic and non alcoholic) and the food quality which has gone up a notch with the new chef (and we were impressed last year).

We unfortunately had rain and cloud for almost a week of our stay which is unusual for February. This did mean that the restaurant felt very busy some evenings as the tables outside on the decking couldn’t be used, but the staff handled it well.

Sadly TMA have not sorted out the return seaplane times and we had the same stressful experience as last year where the seaplane was late arriving because, rather then send an empty plane to pick us up, they decided to wait for an incoming flight. It didn’t arrive until gone 12pm Veli time and our flight from Male was at 12.20! Once again we had to rush through the airport to get the flight. On a positive note Male airport has improved considerably. The final security checks are now as you go in (rather than just before the departure lounge) so you are able to buy drinks for the journey in the airside shops. The queues also seemed to be much shorter than previous years.

In conclusion we would thoroughly recommend Veligandu and have already booked for 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went on our honeymoon to this beautiful island and it was an awesome experience.Ours was a water villa and we just got the perfect view of the sunset as we wanted.The beach was very clean and view of water in the shades of blue is a treat for eyes.The food spread was excellent and the staffs were very courteous and willing to help at the slightest instance.They organize different tours to near by islands and if u are lucky enough u will surely catch views of dolphins.I would say it was a beautiful beginning to our married life and we would love to go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I won't repeat all the fabulous reviews of this island, it's all been said numerous times before re: the staff, the food, spa, the reef, facilities etc. - and all are excellent.
What I would like to mention is the owners island.
When we first arrived Laura, the Guest Services Manager, offered us a few days on the Owners Island, which consists of 3 guest rooms in a large building just 30 seconds boat-ride from the main Island of Veligandu, with a private pool/jacuzzi, gym including steam room & sauna, beach area, communal TV/lounge area/tea & coffee & minibar in an adjoining kitchen area etc. Were told this was an upgrade from the JWV that we had booked (it wasn't), and encouraged to go across and have a look at what was on offer prior to making up our minds. We took the speedboat across and had a look round the accommodation, which was huge - double the size of the JWV we had booked, (and eventually moved into for the last 5 night's of our holiday) with a separate storage/dressing room, and a lovely view out onto the private beach area (the floor to ceiling doors which took up the whole front wall folded back completely to give us an unrestricted view out). We had 3 nights there, and I must say, it was a welcome twist on the holiday. It gave the whole holiday experience that extra bit of class - phoning reception to send the boat, as we're ready to come across for lunch, dinner, whatever - the boats were at our beck and call 24 hours a day - which was great. You just have to weight up the pros & cons of not having our JWV with the steps straight into the lagoon, against the exclusive small island and all it's amenities. It maybe wouldn't be for everyone, but it gave the Velidandu experience an extra dimension with a bit of a 2-centre feel to it. We still had access to everything on the main island, with the added free speedboat transfers thrown in.
All-in-all a brilliant holiday on a fabulous island.

Room Tip: Sunset side seemed to be the best choice of other guest's comments, and we would concur with tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this resort island is absolutely first class. The food, the service the beaches, the accommodation, the spa, the bars and the snorkelling. The reef goes right around the island but is only really accessible in parts, apart from when the conditions are very calm. It is all clearly marked and there are 'rest buoys' positioned along parts of the reef. We saw many sharks, rays, turtles as well as an unbelievable array of fish. You do have to be aware of the currents in the sea though. We will definitely return. We have been to Meeru (6/10), Kuredu twice (8/10) but Veli is a definite 10/10. Recommend the back of house tour - fascinating. The whole holiday is like stepping off the planet.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Maldives we arrived at the airport and were taken straight to a fully air-conditioned lounge where freshen up towels and soft drinks and coffee were provided. we only had to wait about 3/4 of an hour and then we flew by sea plane to the island. What amazing views on the way, we couldn't believe how amazing the atolls looked. we arrived at the island to very quick check in. We were taken to our room a JWW 160 which is on the sunset side, i would reccommend this side as the prevailing winds are Easterly and so when we had some windy nights it would have been noisy and the water choppy on the sunrise side.The room was fantastic with very large bed, which was quite hard but mattress toppers were offered if required. The room was spacious with a large bathroom which led onto the jacuzzi. We did use the jacuzzi but feel if we went again we probably wouldn't have one again as the sea was at the base of five steps from your decking and was thigh deep, clear and very warm. there is fresh water shower at the top of the stairs to wash off the salt. There were coffee/tea facilities supplied every day,along with 5 litres of drinking water. The mini bar was well stocked with soft drinks, beer, wine, and chocolate. Although the wine and chocolate was not part of AI+ and if you did not sign for anything you used it was not replaced.
The marine life around the villas was amazing with reef sharks, rays and a multitude of brightly coloured fish around. At night there is a light under the decking which attracted different species.
The island is small but amazing, no shoes just sandy paths, sandy bar and even a sand floor in the restaurant. the food is amazing and the best buffet food i have ever had, so much choice and different at every meal.
The staff were friendly but never intrusive and during the day it was hard to find other people on the island. It was true paradise.
The only annoying thing was having to sign for everything even though it was all inclusive.

Room Tip: Even though the Island is sold as no shoes the decking to the water bungalows gets so hot during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I will share my general experiences regarding our stay on the island later on, but as I didn't read about too many wedding experiences among Tripadvisor reviews before our big event, I'm also writing this one to be a gap-filler and also an inspiration for all those who are thinking about marrying in this location. So, here it goes.

Together with my partner (now my husband), we had been planning our wedding for quite some time and agreed to have it in a special location, such as the Maldives. We looked at several locations by the time we found Veligandu, but we decided quite quickly this really could be the place. One of the best things about marrying in an island like this is you don't really have to worry about preparations. You book the "wedding package" and that's basically it. OK, we had exchanged 1 or 2 mails in advance with the manager to find out about a few minor things, but I guess all agree this is nothing compared to the nerve-wrecking period leading up to a lot of weddings usually.

So, after arriving in paradise (it really is, trust me) on a Sunday, we sat down that same day to agree on details with Adam from the local staff - very nice and helpful guy. They agreed to have everything the way we wanted (except for the music as I wanted "Over the rainbow" playing during the event and they dont play any music from the West, but we accepted this) and also arranged for a meeting with the photographer (brought from Male for the event), who was a very easy-going and friendly person. The event took place on Tuesday, in the afternoon the staff at the spa helped me prepare and my soon-to-be-husband was waiting for me at the spa lounge. Accompanied by some of the local staff (who were playing drums and occasionally throwing flowers) we walked around the island to meet with friendly smiles and greetings everywhere, and finally arrived at the sandbank, where there was a stand built from branches and grass. We had some coconut drink and then listened to the vows presented in English by one of the local staff. Then we said "I do", exchanged rings, had a glass of champagne, a slice of our wedding cake and signed our certificate. There was some additional traditional drumming going on, finally all staff congratulated and left us with the photographer to take pictures in the sunset... I can tell you, they are really "postcard pics". Eventually, I could also hear "Over the rainbow", as my husband agreed with the photographer while waiting for me in front of the spa to play it on his iPhone, and we did a little dance to it on the beach :)) After we were done, we went to have dinner, selected the 40 photos that would make it in the photo album - but still received all the other photos on a DVD -, then we were celebrating a bit as evening entertainment was Disco Night that day. When we got back to the room, we found our bed beautifully decorated with flowers, saying "Happy Wedding", it was really impressive.

So, all in all, this was the perfect wedding for us - only minor downside was that Mother Nature's wedding gift was a windmachine, even though we didn't ask for it...but that was really all that could have been different, otherwise we were 100% happy about it. I can really recommend this way of getting married to everyone, can't get more intimate than this.

A few bullet points to the other aspects of our stay, but no real new thoughts as these have all been said before:

- location: simply wonderful, pictures can't really say it all, you just have to see it, and the water villas are really something special compared to the rest of the world - besides meal times, it's really like you're on a deserted island

- rooms: I would recommend a JWV, it's modern, spacious, the jacuzzi is awesome in the evening, and the deck leading to the ocean is also quite big compared to a regular water villa. We stayed on sunset side, this was calmer while we were there but this is changing from time to time as we heard from local folks

- staff: extremely helpful, special thanks to Laura, Melanie, Adam and Hassan (who recorded our wedding with my camera so that we have a wedding video :))

- tipping: this is strange in the beginning, but after a day or two you will know how to deal with it, and you will also receive a few suggestions from the person accompanying to your room upon arrival - make sure you have enough 1-dollar bills, and remember you can't exchange your 20 or 50-bills to smaller ones anywhere as all your spending goes to your account, which you settle upon your leave

- food: extraordinary, period.

- staff and service: more staff than guests, all there to make your stay a memorable one

- snorkelling: it was quite windy during our stay, which meant the sea was quite choppy, I could do only limited snorkelling, but the sealife was very nice, I saw a black tip reef shark even during these few occasions

All in all, this was a perfect trip, only bad thing I can say is whenever we will be planning our holiday from now on, it will be a challenge to top this one...

Room Tip: JWV 171 proved perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Veligandu Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veligandu Island Resort and Spa

Address: North Ari Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Veligandu Island Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veligandu Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Veligandu, North Ari Atoll. It is 600 meters long by 150 meters wide, about 22 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 20 minute flight. 91 Rooms include 54 Jacuzzi Water Villas, 10 Water Villas, 16 Jacuzzi Beach Villas and 11 Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Veligandu Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veligandu Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Veligandu Island Resort
Hotel Veligandu Island
Veligandu Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veligandu Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.