We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Holiday Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veligandu Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Veligandu Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Ari Atoll, Maldives   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible Holiday Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed on our Honeymoon in a water villa and can say that this is one of the best islands in the maldives, being able to step straight into the water from your villa and waking up to the indian ocean views are just incredible.

The food was the best I've experienced anywhere, the variation was amazing and so was the quality for all 3 meals of the day. The snorkeling is very good and so are the extras on the island such as the bar and the excursions. The service was also really good.

The only negatives are really minor, the eating times are a little shorter than other islands, there were occasionally some ants near the food, however this is inevitable on a tropical island and finally we didn't find the spa great, the massages were rough and they were really pushing the hard sell.

Overall a great island for a couples, everything you'd need.

Room Tip: Water Villa is a must, Jacuzzi villa not really required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    109
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
60
986
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Veligandu really is a beautiful island. It actually took us a couple of days to get used to the amazing scenery, the fact that there is no noise (all you hear is the sound of the sea and the gentle rustling of palm trees) and the sense of peace and tranquility.

We had a water villa with jacuzzi on the east side and it was lovely. Spacious and clean with a good bathroom, private sunbathing area and amazing views. We had glorious sunshine hitting our deck until about 4pm. The food is very very good with plenty of options including veggie alternatives. The staff are friendly warm and welcoming. It's like walking into a postcard, just gorgeous.

It is hard to pick fault with Veligandu but if I were pressed to make improvements I would start with the all inclusive package. You have to pay for the drinks and nibbles in the minibar in your room and they are expensive. We upgraded to the "all inclusive plus" but this only gets you 4 beers, some soft drinks and extra water. In a luxury resort which costs thousands, the cashews should be included too. However, I understand that they are soon to change their packages to bring them in line with the ultra all inclusive model. My only other gripe is that the bed was a little hard.

These little things aside, we had an fabulous time and could not recommend it more. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was pure paradise, the hotel, staff, and food were nothing less than brilliant, I can not see any other island in the Maldives beating Veligandu, we will definately be going back, this may become a 3 yearly visit!!!!!!!!! Looking on-line already.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

By all means, book this resort because you won't regret it, especially if you choose a water villa. I strongly recommend it! The island is extremely beautiful, the beach is a paradise, the colour of the water is idyllic, the restaurant is flawless, the bar is great, the pool is beautiful, the rooms are superb.
----
Some practical advices:
(1) No shoes/sandals are needed. I went everywhere, even to the restaurant, in my bare feet.
(2) Do not forget to book the sunset excursion, you will see lots of dolphins.
(3) At dinner time, if you want to stay outside, be there early. Everyone tries to stay outside, which is more romantic.
(4) There are sharks in the shallow waters but they are not dangerous. You can swim at ease. Just do not go to the deep waters, which are dark blue instead of bright blue.
(5) Do not worry about mosquitoes, they virtually do not exist.
(6) Buy a digital water-proof camera before going there. You will take great pictures while snorkelling.
----
The only thing I disliked: The pool is not deep, and the beach has reefs, which means that you cannot really "jump" into the water. But who cares? Really, this resort has no major defects.

Room Tip: Just book a water villa or a jacuzzi water villa, preferably on the sunrise side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was by far the best holiday I have ever had. 7 days was not long enough in paradise. Even though we did have a storm it did not affect the holiday. The food is the best I have ever had and sometimes wished they did repeat the menu through the week!! The staff are brilliant and always say hello and always have big smiles on there faces even at the end of the day, and they work so hard to keep you happy. If you are looking for a fantastic holiday in paradise then this is the place for you. If you can afford to go then book up you will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This resort is well run, by delightful people. It is on a stunningly beautiful, small island, inhabited only by this relatively small resort.

The food is superb. While daily grilled fresh fish is local, the resort must ship in best ingredients from all over to serve the delicious meals they do. There is a variety of food, including to meet various needs (vegetarian, Muslim).

When you are deciding between "full board", "all inclusive" and "all inclusive plus" plans, go to the resort's website where it clearly lays out what each plan includes. We had assumed "full board" must include drinks and such, but learned otherwise and switched to "all inclusive", which is what I expect would make most sense for most people. Check out their website for other clear info on amenities, including wi-fi, etc., too.

The Spa was nice. You can hear the waves of water in the over-water spa rooms as you get your treatment. We had probably 10 visits while there (!). I would not say perfect, but still very nice.

Snorkeling/catamaran crew was helpful, knowledgeable, and good guys all around. I went on three snorkeling trips, seeing tons of kinds of fish, many quite colorful. Also saw a reef shark, ray, and lucky enough to see two turtles. There are also spots to snorkel in the water around the island. Snorkel gear is only USD 7.00 a day to rent.

Everyone wears flip-flops or goes without shoes, including for meals. There are sand floors in the restaurant and just about everywhere else. My advice is don't waste space in your suitcase bringing other shoes.

The Guest Services Manager, Laura, is terrific. We spoke to her most days, and she was so easy-going, yet so on top of everything and very helpful (delightful, too).

Some have said the bed mattresses are too hard. We thought they were perfect. They have mattress covers for those who find the mattress otherwise too hard for your taste/needs.

Guests are all happy and show it. Mostly Brits and Germans, and mostly couples, though a decent number of folks from other spots and not all couples. Since folks are all happy, all are very nice (we found).

Not a lack of sufficient lounge chairs to go around as far as I could tell.

The hotel arranges the water plane from Male to the resort, so you'll be asked for your flight info into and from Male so the hotel can arrange this. Going to the island from Male, best photos opportunities from the plane, we thought, were from the left side.

Many other "four star plus" resorts have the plants/vegetation manicured within an inch of their life and frankly have a more grand reception area, etc, than does Veligandu. So, keep in mind this place is more naturally beautiful and will impress you with its easy charms.

An exception to the above comment is that the villas are quite impressive; they are gorgeous, clean, and feel new. We were quite impressed, having been both in the overwater villa (which was plenty fantastic) and also the overwater Jacuzzi villa (almost over-the-top).

We were the only gay couple there (that we noticed) and had no related negative issue whatsoever. One suggestion for the Spa, though, is that they change the name of the “His and Her” massage to instead be the “Couples” massage, along with other related text changes in their menu of services.

Only final word of advice is: Book your reservation, it is a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visited Veligandu Island Resort for the second time, once again we had a fantastic holiday and the island and staff lived up to the memories we had from 2010. Every member of the team delivered world class service saying hello with a smile in passing and always happy to pass the time of day and offer advice when sort. The island itself is amazing, it is small buts provides an opportunity to walk on sandy pleasant beaches and when you look back you will only see your footprints! The way the island is designed and maintained really does give you a feeling of tranquillity and paradise, however when required you can always seek out company or activity. The food that is delivered by the catering team is fantastic and a real marvel when you take into consideration the fact that you are on a small sandy island. The choice and variety in the food is of a high standard and be prepared to put on a few pounds!
Overall the location and staff make for a fantastic holiday paradise and when spending this sort of money on a holiday it is important to get it right. You will not be disappointed with you holiday experience when in Veligandu Island Resort.

Room Tip: Go all inclusive plus, and a water Jacuzzi viler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Veligandu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veligandu Island Resort & Spa

Address: North Ari Atoll, Maldives
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Veligandu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veligandu Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Veligandu, North Ari Atoll. It is 600 meters long by 150 meters wide, about 22 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 20 minute flight. 91 Rooms include 54 Jacuzzi Water Villas, 10 Water Villas, 16 Jacuzzi Beach Villas and 11 Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Veligandu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veligandu Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Veligandu Island Resort
Hotel Veligandu Island
Veligandu Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veligandu Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.