We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teething problems...but will be a great resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veligandu Island Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Veligandu Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Veligandu Island Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Veligandu
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Teething problems...but will be a great resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Re-opening of this resort was delayed by 3 days as it wasn't ready on time. We were put up at Meeru for one night. I negotiated a refund for one night's accommodation as a consequence and we were offered a free a la carte dinner and champagne and 2 massages. Didn't quite make up for the disappointment of effectively losing a day's holiday, but it was better than nothing.
Even tho it opened late, it still had lots of work left to do. My guess is that it won't be properly finished for another month. Numerous faults reported by guests didnt help people relax at all and the staff were not exactly competent at 1. apologising, 2. sorting problems, 3. relaying details of any compensation to those affected by the delayed opening. Understandably, if you've paid $5,000+ for a week's stay over Xmas (excl flights) you've every right to feel peeved if everything is not perfect !
Don't quite understand the previous reviewer who seemed to imply that they had to stay elsewhere for their entire stay. A 2 nights stay at Meeru was all that would have been necessary before flying on to Veli on 23rd (as 59 of us did).
And no need to feel sorry for those that arrived after 23rd, we had a great time, despite the problems!
The improvements to this resort have made it a good quality 4* resort. When all the glitches are ironed out it'll be a great place to stay.
Personally I would rather have stayed in one of the few beach villas on the island. As expected, I found the noise from the waves under the water villa disturbed my sleep (even with ear plugs in!). Unfortunately these were fully booked by August 2007.

Refer to the Veligandu website forum for full details and pics from those that have stayed there since the refurbishments.

  • Liked — The shower.
  • Disliked — The jacuzzi having a mind of its own ! Noise of waves under the villa.
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    805
    82
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
47
775
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Myself and my husband had booked our hoilday to veligandu back in June for which was going to be our first Christmas away from family and friends.

We left LHR on 20/12/07 very excited and looking forward to our dream holiday.
Upon arrival at male we were informed that "Veligandu, was not accpeting guests as it was not ready ".
We were utter dismayed !

We would NEVER recommend this island to anyone as if there are capable of doing this they would do anything.

I have emailed the island since coming home asking for an explantion and i am yet to hear back !!!

I just fill sorry for the people who did arrive on the island from the 23/12 onwards.

  • Liked — Nothing - did not get that far
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

The Island has just undergone a 6 month refurbishment and there are still obvious signs that they are not yet finished. However if you have ever been to the Maldives before (this is our 3rd visit) you will be very pleasantly surprised by the quality and overall look of this Island, they are definitely aiming for 5 Star status.

We had booked a last minute Christmas get away and arrived on Sunday 29th December, having not been advised by our agent (dial a flight) that the island had been closed for the past 6 months we were surprised to discover that we were the 1st guests to arrive!!

All the Jacuzzi Villas are new, however there are still 10 remaining Water Villas that they seem to have abandoned for the past 6 month. The Water Villas let the Island down - the outside furniture is very weathered, the internal lamps are rusty and the phone is filthy, however the bathroom was clean and the sheets on the bed were changed daily. The Jacuzzi Villas looked lovely inside with just a few minor issues where the new rooms had not received a final check.

The whole island is surrounded by a shallow sandy lagoon and there are plenty of opportunities to snorkel around the island and via a twice daily trip to their larger house reef. The Spa treatments are very good and the rooms are water villas that have an open view of the sea. The gym was opened on our 2nd day of arrival.

There were clear signs that all the staff were just out of training and there seem to be a few teething problems, room service arrived between 11-12 in the morning and 10pm in the evening, we had to chase several times for fresh towel and concierge found it hard to understand why were weren’t in our room to answer the phone at 2pm in the afternoon when they could have put a message under out door!!

To our disappointment we had a very stressful return back to the Male Airport to catch our return flight home. This was due to our seaplane transfer arriving 1hr late, leaving us just 5 mins to get from the Sea Taxi Airport to Male Airport check in!!!! The Island staff provided very no updates on the situation and didn’t see to really care (or understand) our concerns. However in speaking to one of the proprietors he made a few calls and upon our arrival to the Sea Taxi Airport we were met but 15 staff who very swiftly transferred us to the check in desk at Male Airport ( Thank you ).

I would have no hesitation in recommending Veligandu and will defiantly been returning to see the finished resort.

Please be advised no websites have yet been updated with pictures of refurbished Island.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi Villas 5* / Water Villas 2*
  • Disliked — Only just opened….. communication issues with getting the return flight home !!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Just got back to England
A pitty H & J did not check to see if the island was finnished before they sent us.
I am shore when the island is complete it will be great but until then (about Feb 2008) be prepared for problems with just about everything.
Great ploy by the island and all concerned to get paying guests to snag the works for them and get paid whilst others (ie) us the holiday makers suffer and pay for the experience.

Thanks for wrecking my christmas

  • Liked — It will be great when finnished. A bit like eating soup with a fork
  • Disliked — Not complete a tent would have had less problems
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

We’d been promising ourselves a trip to the Maldives for years so choosing the right island was important to us. One of the main considerations was a good house reef and an island accessed by seaplane - just for the experience - Veligandu Island certainly fitted the bill.

This is a small island that you can walk round in about 15 minutes. It has a very relaxed atmosphere so leave your shoes at home because you will not use them - honest. The accommodation is typical Maldivian luxury villas, many with outside bathrooms, a novelty in itself! We stayed in a deluxe beach villa (which we upgraded to when we arrived a cheaper option than going through the tour operator). It had its own very private sun terrace and steps directly into to the lagoon. The only time you really knew there were other guests on the island was at meal times.

The restaurant offered a good selection of excellent food, served in buffet style. The waiters were friendly and eager to please. We were All Inclusive which meant that we did not need to worry about extra costs though some drinks were extra.

The diving was excellent and Ocean- Pro the operator on the island very professional. They offer a mix of guided dives or guests can explore the 2 house reefs on their own. The house reefs offer excellent snorkelling for non-divers, with a myriad of fish life to keep you amused for hours. Baby black tip reef sharks are very entertaining as they round up small fish close to the shoreline. We were extremely lucky to have a pod of dolphins come and swim with us on our last day - highlight of the holiday.

An absolute must is to sit and watch the sun setting with a drink or two. The seaplane was also a fantastic experience but would advise that you pick up a set of free earplugs at Male airport.

We would point out that we stayed there before the current renovations and looking at the islands website our villa appears no longer to exist and there are now twice as many villas as before. Hopefully this has not ruined what was an idyllic island and it will continue to be something special for all visitors.

  • Liked — Everything !!
  • Disliked — Nothing !!
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Well where do I start about this amazing Island!
I would highly recommend this Island for a romantic getaway or honeymoon. If you feel that you'll be bored, trust me, you won’t as time flies by especially when your day revolves around sleeping, sunbathing and eating! But if you feel you need a bit of hustle and bustle then why not stop of in Dubai for three days then finish your holiday on veligandu.

We went to veligandu on our honeymoon and it was such a great choice.

Plane / Travel:
We went to Veligandu with Monarch and Airtours. We use the Mytravel group all the time as they are much cheaper than Thomson and First choice yet offer the same destinations and service. We have never had a problem with them and would recommend. However for the longer haul journeys we have always upgraded our seats to premier plus which is great…extra leg room, more perks and you get to sit together with no one else beside you.

Once we arrived at the Main airport, you are then bussed along with your luggage to a smaller "mini" airport 5 mins away to catch your seaplane. This experience was interesting as the airport has a sand floor and definitely gets you into the holiday mode. I advise you take shorts/skirt with you to change into at this point as it is hot when you get off the plane (especially after having come from cold Scotland).
The seaplane was great fun and it was amazing to fly over the other islands and see the lovely clear blue sea.
When we arrived on the island I was amazed, the sand bank has lovely white sand and the turquoise / clear water is breath taking!

Accommodation:
On arrival we had our small welcome meeting and refreshment and were taken to our room. We stayed in a Deluxe Water Bungalow, which was one of the ones right at the end of the jetty (if you're looking down the jetty it was the one at the very bottom on the left). The room was lovely. Not as modern as some may have expected but I had looked at heaps of reviews and photos so wasn't expecting it to be full of mod cons and modern designs. This is something to bear in mind when on the island. All the water bungalows are lovely inside but I think the beach bungalows can do with a bit of upgrading. Our bathroom was amazing and partially open air. And the sundeck was out of this world. This is where we spent everyday apart from when we went to the sandbank later on in the afternoon.

Bar & Food:
The bar and restaurant are amazing with their sand covered floors and it really makes you feel you're somewhere authentic rather than splashed in marble floors. The all inclusive option is the way to go and great as you live money free for 2 weeks.
The staff are so friendly and immediately make every effort to remember your name, favourite drink etc.
The food was great with a massive choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner - there was something for everyone. I am so fussy but managed to fill my plate twice over every night.
Also when you get there you'll be sat with another couple. This is not something that we wanted to do as we were on our honey moon. But you can pay a small supplement to sit in a small area at the end of the restaurant where you have your own table to the 2 of you. This is worth the extra £20 or so.
Another bit of advice for the ladies is don't take any heels as all the floors are sand covered (apart from in your room). All you need is barefeet or flip-flops.

Activities:
The snorkelling was great but watch out for the trigger fish as they are scary.
We only did 2 excursions…the snorkelling safari which was brilliant and a must do. I'm not a fan of scuba diving and this was the next best thing. A long boat picks you up and drops you off at 2/3 different reefs. The fish are so colourful and our underwater camera case came in handy. The last drop off is on the side of a current so you just float along down the side of a reef. We even caught a glimpse of a turtle.
The second excursion we did was night fishing. This was great fun and you eat what you catch later at dinner.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

Stayed at Veligandu for 8 nights in April 2006.
Booked a "late deal" through Dawson and Sanderson approx £850 each for all inclusive.We flew from Manchester then onto Gatwick then direct to Male with Monarch.We didnt find the flights as bad as other reviews but on the way back upgraded to "business class" as i had a two hour drive from Manchester.I guess you get what you pay for.
THE RESORT
We arrived via a sea plane at approx 16.oohrs.Flying was an expericeience in its self.The islands look stunning from above, bright turqoise and blues, reminded me of dropiig ink into a bowl of water when at school!
I had previously read that the sunset side is the best.So i requested this side.Unfortunately it was all booked up... So we had a beach bungalow on the sunrise side.The bungalow was nice, clean and airy.We had our own little beach and the sea was approx 10 metres away!
The island is very nice.To walkaround it will take approx 10- 15 mins.The "sandbank" is stunning with glorious white sand.The water bungalows are located at the opposite end of the island which also look very nice.
ACTIVTIES
As we are both "water babies" we spent everyday in the sea, snorkelling the reef.
We first set out outside our bungalow and had to swim approx 50meters to the "abyss".Our first snorkel we were hanging over the abyss and saw something in the shadows as we waited.This shadow got closer and closer until the point we panicked and back off and to our suprise it was a large manta ray.This was just the beginning!!.We saw sharks,octupus,rays,hundreds of different fish,scorpion fish,turtles and a large moray eel ( at first i thought it was a divers belt!)
We went on two trips.We vistied the local village which was ok but on reflection it was a day wasted from the reef!
We also went night fishing which was good using the handlines.We caught lots of fish including barracuda.
RESTAURAUNT
The first night we were sat with honeymooners- two couples to each table.Found this a bit awkward but the honeymooners upgraded to sitting in the private area which suited us down to the ground.We had the same table all 8 days!
The food was very good.No complaints.Breakfast a good variety, fruits to full english!!.Lunch and dinner was varied, lots of curries,fish,chicken curries superb! Our waiter was not that friendly but we found his facial expressions funny so it was amusing for us.
NIGHTLIFE
Low key.Just chill out in the bar area, crab racing one night,Maldiavin night and disco.

DAYTIME
We had an itineary each day.Sounds a bit mad but why stay in such a nice and not max it out.We would look at part of the reef and made it our job to complete the full island by snorkelling by the end of our stay!
Up at 0800hrs , breakfast, quick coffee, sun lotion, snorkel!
Midday - Lunch,chill out , quick beer,snorkel.
17.00 Chill out on sunset side of abr, few beers and watch the soon go down.We acually left our camera on the table recording the sun set on the horizon.Approx 15 mins so be quick.
WEATHER
Couldnt fault it, hot and sunny each day.Had a few downpours at nighttime
CONCLUSION
Sunset against sunrise side.Sunrise side, sea was calmer sunny mornings and cool nights.Sunset side sea was a bit choppy at times.
Our little "Robinson Crusoe" beach bungalow was ideal.The water bungalows look very nice and probalby are but is it worth upgarding if like us you only sleep int it?
On a day time the most people we saw was approx 20 this includes the employees! However approx 60 people in the restauarnt at night.What do people do - stay in their rooms all day?
All -inclusive worth doing as you have now worries.
Staff All very helpful


I have read that Veligandu is being renovated with more water bungalows and maybe a pool.Just hope this doesnt spoil such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Veligandu Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veligandu Island Resort and Spa

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Veligandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Veligandu Island Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veligandu Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only resort on the island of Veligandu, in North Ari Atoll. Transfers are by seaplane, a scenic 15 minute ride from/to the Ibrahim Nasir International Airport. 81 Rooms, including 54 Jacuzzi Water Villas, 10 Water Villas and 10 Jacuzzi Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Veligandu Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veligandu Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Veligandu Island Resort
Hotel Veligandu Island
Veligandu Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veligandu Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.