We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Veli Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Veli Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Veli Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Veligandu Huraa, 08190   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Offer!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Veligandu
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We've been staying in one of the deluxe water villas for the last 4 days. Our expectations were high-and the staff at the Anantara exceeded them at every turn. The food, the lagoon, the privacy, the villas, the activities, the sharks and stingrays in the lagoon- incredible. The only thing that surprised us is that the kids from the sister resort are allowed at Veli for dinner, so in the evening, it isn't actually adults only. We were disappointed by that, but the managers were incredible in finding us quiet tables. The service was truly outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mel P,

Thank you for choosing Anantara Veli for your recent vacation. We are pleased to hear that we did managed to exceed your expectations during your recent visit. The entire team is delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the food, privacy and the island setting with the natural surrounding which contributes towards the best vacation experience.

In-order to enhance Food & Beverage options, guests staying at Veli are entitled to enjoy all our sister properties throughout the day for breakfast, lunch and dinner while families with children from Dhigu have the option of dinning at Veli for dinner only.

Once again thank you for choosing Anantara Veli as your preferred vacation spot in the Maldives and we do look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Sunny regards from Anantara Veli, your home away from home.

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    63
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
21
412
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I came last year for my honeymoon and I came back again this year for my first anniversary. The resort is so captivating and the hotel team is amazing. The room quality is very high, the facilities are great, the food is delicious and the staff is very friendly and supportive. In my second visit, the hotel management has upgraded to a better villa and kept this as surprise till I arrived!

Thank you Anantara Veli

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if you would like to have a direct access to the sea then ocean villas won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Sengbasy,

Thank you for choosing Anantara Veli for your first anniversary vacation. It is an honour to welcome you back to Anantara Veli as our loyal repeat guests. We value you as a repeat guests and appreciate you sharing your experience here at Trip advisor.com.

We are pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed the overall vacation experience from staff, room product, facilities to food and beverage. We believe that our staff is the biggest strength here at the resort and we are very proud of their achievements.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Veli for your next wedding anniversary celebration.
Sunny regards from Anantara Veli, your home away from home.

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We went to this resort in Dec 2013. We simply loved the place and resort was absolutely magical.

We stayed in the delux water bungalow with the views of the lagoon. We loved spending time on the patio with stunning corals just beneath our room. Different colors of the waters fascinated us.

The staff was very helpful and services offered were impeccable. We felt very much welcomed with such warm staff wearing smiles on their faces all the time.

Baan- Hura, a Thai restaurant which was located in the middle of the sea, was superb. We loved the food and ended up going there twice for dinner.

The most amazing part of this reort is the vicinity of 2 other Anantara resorts. Just a minute's boat ride away! We enjoyed the beaches, water sports, dinners and magical spa treatments at Anantara Dhigu resort. I would very highly recommend spa at both Anantara Veli and Dhigu resorts. I took a 3 day spa package and it was definitely worth it! :)

Infinity pools at both these resorts were stunning. My fav place to hang out. Be it hammock in the middle of the sea, snorkelling or swinging in the waters, we loved every bit of spending time at this very beautiful property.

I also recommend deep sea diving. Very friendly diving instructors and a fantastic place to dive.

Anantara Dhigu looks like a family friendly place where as Veli was for adults only. Combination of both makes this resort such an ideal holiday destination.

A truly memorable experience for us. A holiday to remember for the lifetime. Highly recommend it for all honeymooners.

Room Tip: Go for sunrise and sunset water bungalows. The views from the room during these times are simply sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Payalshah21,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent honeymoon vacation experience at Anantara Veli. We appreciate you sharing your experience here at Trip advisor.com.

We are delighted that we have managed to deliver a great vacation during your recent visit. The natural surrounding and the crystal clear waters with multi-coloured corals around your bungalow attracting various colours of marine life definitely contributes to the natural relaxed calming setting.

The team has appreciated your recognition on our service level, we strive every day to meet and excel the expectations of our guest.

I am pleased that you have enjoyed the privilege of the facilities of both Dhigu and Veli which is unique in the Maldives. Our entire spa team is delighted to hear that they have managed to pamper you during your recent visit. Here at Anantara Maldives we do have two very distinctive resorts where Dhigu is geared more towards families and Veli is an adult only resort.
We are truly delighted to have you with us for your honeymoon and we do look forward to welcoming you back for your first wedding anniversary.

Warm regards from Anantara Veli, your home away from home.

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I went to Anantara Veli for our honeymoon and stayed for 4 nights from December 18-22nd. As soon as we landed in Ibrahim Nasir Int'l Airport, we were greeted by an Anantara rep and was brought to a private lounge area where they offered us free apple and mango juice. We then took a 35 minute boat transfer to the resort and was immediately greeted by the most helpful staff member named Grace. She took us to our overwater bungalow (Rm 155) and showed us all the amenities and activities you can do during our stay. The view from our room was absolutely amazing! We were able to see the sunrise and the sunset, and all the corals and fishes swimming around them. The bungalow had an easy access to the water for us to snorkel and kayak (both complimentary). My husband and I snorkeled to Moyo Island and kayaked to one of their little private islands (complete with a single hammock, lounge chairs and a bar). We booked the "Maldivian Romance" couples massage over at the sister atoll Dhigu spa (we prefer the Dhigu spa over the Veli spa b/c it had an ocean view) and it was THE best 3 hour massage we've ever had! We also booked a photo session they offered at Veli. Our photographer Fidel took us around the best spots in Veli and took photos of me and my husband and we purchased the photo book (a lovely souvenir!!). We had breakfast at 73 degrees 3 out of the 4 days we were there and once at Fushi Cafe over at Dhigu. We prefer 73 degrees over Fushi Cafe b/c there were no kids running around at Veli. We also received a complimentary massage during breakfast! We also ate at Fuddan (Maldivian Asian Fusion), Terrazzo (Italian) and our favorite Baan-Huraa (beat Thai food EVER).
There are so many fantastic things I can say about our entire stay - from the wonderful staff down to all the little details around the resort. This was THE best vacation my husband and I've ever been to! I cannot wait to book another trip back to Anantara Veli in the near future!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear yoyobaby17

Thank you for taking time to share your recent vacation experience at Anantara Veli. We appreciate you sharing your experience here at Trip advisor.com.

We are delighted that we have managed to deliver a great vacation from the arrival at the airport lounge through your entire stay. The amenities that we offer at the island are little details which contributes to the overall vacation experience. We do appreciate that you have enjoyed and noticed these little details that we provide for our guests. Both Grace and Fidel are extremely delighted to hear about your positive feedback shared. Your kind compliments is motivating for all the associates as they continuously strive to deliver the best vacation experience.

Moyo island is a relaxing and a private setting where you can enjoy the beach and snorkeling around the lagoon. It is also one of our popular venues for our exclusive romantic dinner experience which is called dine by design, a truly unforgettable indigenous dining experience.

Thank you for choosing Anantara Veli as your honeymoon destination and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards from Anantara Veli, your home away from home.

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was the second island we came to in the Maldives on our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it! The staff and service make you feel very welcomed and they go out of there way to make sure all your needs are met. The food is fresh and delicious, were there for five nights and were able to eat at most of the restaurants. The views and scenery are nothing you have seen. Although I think the rooms could use a little updating, they are still spacious and beautiful. The twice a day room cleaning is always a plus for us. It's really amazing to wake up and be able to walk down your steps and right into the ocean, awesome! The beaches are beautiful and the pool scene is great too! The staff at the pool bar always made sure your cocktails full and the board games we played every afternoon was nice a touch. Having the ability to go to three different islands at one resort was a nice benefit, gave us a lot of options. If you're going here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear John T,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent vacation experience at Anantara Veli. We appreciate you sharing your experience here at Trip advisor.com.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent honeymoon vacation at this magical spot in paradise.

We are extremely proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. Your kind words on our associates is a great encouragement to all of us as we continue to deliver the best Anantara vacation experience to our guests. The entire Dhoni bar team is delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed their services.

Once again thank you for choosing Anantara Veli for your honeymoon destination and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Veli for your first wedding anniversary.

Warm regards from Anantara Veli, your home away from home.

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went to Anantara Veli for our honeymoon from 20-28 Novemeber 2013. The resort is absolutely magical! Though on the expensive side, it completely lived up to our expectations. We stayed in a water villa and the view from the villa was the gorgeous Baan-Hura restaurant set in the middle of the sea. Our villa was far into the water and we enjoyed a quiet patio with some beautiful coral just below our villa. The adults only policy on the island was such a boon. The staff was super sweet and helpful. The water sports, especially snorkelling is the deep sea is highly recommended. The most amazing part of the resport was the presence of two other Anantara properties in the vicinity. We frequented Dhigu for water sports, dinners and the Spa. I would highly recommend the Spa at Dhigu. It was a memorable experience to stare into the turquoise sea while getting a lovely massage done. We even got a chance to tour the extremely expotic Naladhu property. The food was pretty good too though being a vegetarian, I had slightly limited options. The infinity pool in Veli is something straight out of a postcard. Extremely relaxing and my favourite place to hang out in the evenings. I would recommend Veli to all honeymooners for a fantastic time and a holiday to remember for a lifetime.

Room Tip: For Over Water Villas, I would recommend avoiding the first 3 villas closer to the resort as they so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear tanaya s,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent vacation experience at Anantara Veli. We appreciate you sharing your experience here at Trip advisor.com.

We are delighted that we have managed to live up to your expectations during your recent stay with us. Our Water bungalows are built on stilts overlooking the beautiful ocean and the turquoise lagoon surrounded with multi coloured corals near your bungalow which attracts a lot of fish. As you have shared in your review, a snorkelling expedition with Aqua fanatics is a great way to experience the rich under water beauty of the Maldives.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities at both Veli and Dhigu which enhances the overall vacation experience of our guests here on the island. As Anantara Veli is a couples only resort this is certainly the best spot to come and celebrate your honeymoon in the Maldives. We are pleased that you have managed to enjoy a relaxing honeymoon at Anantara Veli.

We do look forward to welcome you back for your first wedding anniversary.
Warm regards from Anantara Veli, your home away from home.

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the new year to celebrate our 4 year marriage anniversary. We booked a water bungaloo, which held over the water on stills. The view from our balcony was breath taking, with turquois transparent beaches. We had access to the beach directly from our balcony by going down metal stairs (like the ones in swimming pools). But apparently who designed these stairs didnt take into consideration that during low tide it would be very difficult for the average person to get back up the stairs. While walking back to our bungaloo one late afternoon I saw a 24-27 year old fit woman struggling to get back on the stairs, and her husband was trying to pull her up from the top. Finally she decided to swim to the beach front and walk to her bungaloo from there. Another design flaw was the unnecessary 10cm gap between the shower and the wall which was designed so that you can view the beach water below while you shower. Not only was this gap (in my opinion) unnecessary, it invited cockroaches to storm the bathroom. During our 3 nights there, we sprayed 4-5 cockroaches.

Everything else was perfect. The ambience of the resort was magical especially while walking around the resort at night. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, especially the resort manager Mr.Mohammed Ashraf who met us personally during our checkout and had a quick chat with us.

Breakfast was good but not excellent. You would expect more out of breakfast for a 5 star hotel.

The restaurants were very tasty, and of fair value. A dinner for 2 without wine cost around $140, which for the maldives is considered fair.

The new years eve gala dinner was well worth its cost, and was very entertaining. Although the hired band was terrible, the food and preperation was outstanding.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Anantara Veli very much, but I hope they attend to the issues I mentioned above because these small things take away from the overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, Manager at Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear FTF77j,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent vacation experience at Anantara Veli. We appreciate you sharing your experience here at Trip advisor.com.

As a valued guest to Anantara Veli, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide. I would like to inform you that your feedback has been addressed with the concerned departments especially our dedicated pest control team on-board for necessary actions and follow up.

We are extremely proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. Your kind words on our associates are a great encouragement to all of us as we continue to deliver the best Anantara vacation experience to our guests. I sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your vacation experience with me personally.

Despite the highlighted feedback, I believe that you enjoyed your 4th wedding anniversary at Anantara Veli and we do look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th wedding anniversary next year.

Sunny regards from Anantara Veli, your home away from home.

Mohamed Ashraf
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Veli Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Veli Resort & Spa

Address: Veligandu Huraa, 08190
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Veli Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat hand-in-hand to one of the most naturally stunning destinations on earth, a romantic paradise enveloped in soft white sands and turquoise waters. Just 20 km by speedboat from the airport in Male, delight in the private luxury of your own over-water bungalow, with all the comforts of home and then some. Unwind in your room, either over water in the crystal lagoon, or from your Ocean Pool Bungalow, with private pool and ocean views offering beach and lagoon access a few minutes stroll from your room, or admire the kaleidoscope of exotic fish and corals just steps from your over water and deluxe over water bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Veli Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Veli Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Veli Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Veli Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.