We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place and welcoming people...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir de Malagorse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Manoir de Malagorse to your Saves list
Le Manoir de Malagorse
Cuzance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cuzance B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely place and welcoming people...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We recently visited Anna and Abel's beautiful Manoir which is a real labour of love.
We are torn between telling all our friends and keeping it a secret so we can still get a room ! Incredible (and rare) attention to detail and design in every corner, with a very relaxed family atmosphere. We are sure the Manoir will thrive and look forward to visiting them again...Tim and Sue

Room Tip: We had a look at most of the rooms and they are all lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the manor for 4 nights and enjoyed every one. The rooms and the grounds are exquisite! And, the hosts are very friendly, they made us feel at home! I feel lucky to have found the place. And, I hope to return one day! By the way, if you like gormet meals, stay for dinner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Le manoir de malagorse is a beautiful charming hotel. It is very relaxing and the rooms are lovely!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Manor for one night in April, and it was the best hotel of our trip and the most welcoming and lovely B&B we have ever stayed at. The Manor is perfectly French Provincial (seriously -- I remarked to my partner that this house was the inspiration for the entire "Pottery Barn" store). Everything was beautifully appointed and well maintained.

Abel and Anna and their beautiful children and golden retrievers are the perfect hosts! They strike the perfect balance between being welcoming and accommodating without being overbearing. We really felt like we were staying with old friends.

We were the only couple staying in that house that evening and Abel was kind enough to still cook a full feast for us. And, his food really is fantastic. He takes such care with the produce and the presentation. He even carefully turned all the vegetables!! We wish that we had stayed longer so that we could have traveled to the market with Abel the next day.

We will definitely be back for the truffle hunting! All in all, I wonderful, welcoming stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We are from Ireland and this was our second visit to Manoir de Malagorse. This place is a slice of paradise in a wonderful region of France. The setting is nothing short of special, carefully built up with great attention to detail be Anna and Abel.

Dinner in the evenings is always a special affair. Starting with an aperitif with t he other guests and followed by a fabulous three course meal prepared by Abel. They have a great wine list which Abel is changing later this year, so I look forwad to the new one.

The rooms are large and tastefully decorated but this year we stayed in the suite, well worth it.
So much space, with great rooms and showers etc.

There is so much to do around the are, with Lascaux caves, Gouffre de Padirac, and Oradeur Sur Glane all within a short drive.

Our second visit was just as good as the first visit. We will be back.... as soon as we can get the chance.

Room Tip: get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I decided to stay at the Manoir de Malagorse because:
(a) it is in a beautiful area with many interesting things to do.
(b) it has parking.
(c) it has beds large enough for a tall person.
Once I arrived I found quite a few more reasons why this is such a great place. The beautifully renovated buildings have all the ambience of a French country house with contemporary comforts. Although it is convenient to the A20, it is set amidst farms and woodlands. When we stayed in May, there was a wonderful variety of colorful and tuneful birds.
The location is a little east of the best known attractions of the Dordogne. However, they are easily accessible and the Lot is just as fascinating and there were more things to do than we could fit in our week there. Our Garmin seemed to take a fiendish delight on sending us down every tiny byway from the Manoir and we found the countryside delightful.
However, the main reason that I would go back is for the food, which is a perfect balance between traditional and sophisticated contemporary. I could rhapsodize about the light as air pastry or the crème bruleé, which is the best I have ever had anywhere. But what impressed me most is that Abel’s cooking proves that many French dishes can be as healthy as they are delicious, without a high salt and calorie count. My husband is diabetic and one of the other guests was a vegetarian. Abel accommodated their restrictions without them feeling at all deprived.
Abel and Anna are most welcoming and knowledgeable. It is their attention to detail that truly sets this place apart. And you don’t need French to get by; even the dogs are bilingual.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Abel and Anna have created a truly sublime place to rediscover the joys of travelling in France.
Le Manoir de Malagorse is a wonderful house and gardens that has been decorated and furnished with an attention to detail that makes every room a joy to be in. This is a special place free from noise and distractions and, combined with the wonderful cooking in the evening, makes for a truly relaxing and stress free stay. Abel's wine list and culinary skills are truly wonderful and Anna makes everyone feel very special. An absolute must for any holiday itinerary in South West France.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir de Malagorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Malagorse

Address: Cuzance, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Cuzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cuzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Manoir de Malagorse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir de Malagorse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.