We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir de Malagorse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Manoir de Malagorse to your Saves list
Le Manoir de Malagorse
Cuzance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cuzance B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best B&B I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Manor for one night in April, and it was the best hotel of our trip and the most welcoming and lovely B&B we have ever stayed at. The Manor is perfectly French Provincial (seriously -- I remarked to my partner that this house was the inspiration for the entire "Pottery Barn" store). Everything was beautifully appointed and well maintained.

Abel and Anna and their beautiful children and golden retrievers are the perfect hosts! They strike the perfect balance between being welcoming and accommodating without being overbearing. We really felt like we were staying with old friends.

We were the only couple staying in that house that evening and Abel was kind enough to still cook a full feast for us. And, his food really is fantastic. He takes such care with the produce and the presentation. He even carefully turned all the vegetables!! We wish that we had stayed longer so that we could have traveled to the market with Abel the next day.

We will definitely be back for the truffle hunting! All in all, I wonderful, welcoming stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We are from Ireland and this was our second visit to Manoir de Malagorse. This place is a slice of paradise in a wonderful region of France. The setting is nothing short of special, carefully built up with great attention to detail be Anna and Abel.

Dinner in the evenings is always a special affair. Starting with an aperitif with t he other guests and followed by a fabulous three course meal prepared by Abel. They have a great wine list which Abel is changing later this year, so I look forwad to the new one.

The rooms are large and tastefully decorated but this year we stayed in the suite, well worth it.
So much space, with great rooms and showers etc.

There is so much to do around the are, with Lascaux caves, Gouffre de Padirac, and Oradeur Sur Glane all within a short drive.

Our second visit was just as good as the first visit. We will be back.... as soon as we can get the chance.

Room Tip: get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I decided to stay at the Manoir de Malagorse because:
(a) it is in a beautiful area with many interesting things to do.
(b) it has parking.
(c) it has beds large enough for a tall person.
Once I arrived I found quite a few more reasons why this is such a great place. The beautifully renovated buildings have all the ambience of a French country house with contemporary comforts. Although it is convenient to the A20, it is set amidst farms and woodlands. When we stayed in May, there was a wonderful variety of colorful and tuneful birds.
The location is a little east of the best known attractions of the Dordogne. However, they are easily accessible and the Lot is just as fascinating and there were more things to do than we could fit in our week there. Our Garmin seemed to take a fiendish delight on sending us down every tiny byway from the Manoir and we found the countryside delightful.
However, the main reason that I would go back is for the food, which is a perfect balance between traditional and sophisticated contemporary. I could rhapsodize about the light as air pastry or the crème bruleé, which is the best I have ever had anywhere. But what impressed me most is that Abel’s cooking proves that many French dishes can be as healthy as they are delicious, without a high salt and calorie count. My husband is diabetic and one of the other guests was a vegetarian. Abel accommodated their restrictions without them feeling at all deprived.
Abel and Anna are most welcoming and knowledgeable. It is their attention to detail that truly sets this place apart. And you don’t need French to get by; even the dogs are bilingual.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Abel and Anna have created a truly sublime place to rediscover the joys of travelling in France.
Le Manoir de Malagorse is a wonderful house and gardens that has been decorated and furnished with an attention to detail that makes every room a joy to be in. This is a special place free from noise and distractions and, combined with the wonderful cooking in the evening, makes for a truly relaxing and stress free stay. Abel's wine list and culinary skills are truly wonderful and Anna makes everyone feel very special. An absolute must for any holiday itinerary in South West France.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We returned to the Manoir with family & friends to celebrate a special birthday for 4 days over Easter. Everything was organised beautifully by Anna, and Abel's food was exceptional. We stayed in one of the suites, looking out onto the pool and grounds, but all the rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and reflect Anna's talent for interior design.

It confirmed our view that the Manoir is indeed a very special place. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This b&b is absolutely fantastic and ranks among the best I've ever visited. I stayed there with my Mom for several days in September, and we didn't want to leave! The house is stunning and beautifully decorated, set in a lovely setting with a relaxing pool. The bedrooms are comfortable and spotless, like staying in a high-end home. The hosts are very welcoming and serve incredible food. They also recommended a great restaurant in a nearby town on the night we wanted to explore the area. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on recommendation from friends, and it lived up to its expectations ++. Our room was beautiful with high beamed ceiling, masses of character, with restful and spotless interior design. The food was perfect 5*, and the atmosphere soperific. It is located within easy reach of most of the sites in Dordogne, and close to major roads but feels a millions miles away from the real world. Take a book, and enjoy the serenity.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, tastefully decorated and have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir de Malagorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Malagorse

Address: Cuzance, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Cuzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cuzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Manoir de Malagorse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir de Malagorse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.