We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive overpriced Itallian food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oregano's

Oregano's
119 West Gilmer Road, Hawthorn Woods, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Mundelein, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Unimpressive overpriced Itallian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Service was both pleasant and friendly. We tipped accordingly.

Although portions were not skimpy, the quality of the food served did not merit taking the leftovers home. The Specialty Boneless Pork Oregano, 3 center-cut boneless pork chops that I had, priced at $15.95 was tough beyond belief.

We will not return to this overpriced local establishment. There are far too many impressive places to eat in the area to consider returning to Oregano's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“PreSchool Graduation Party Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently dined at Oregano's after Foglia's Preschool graduation with several parents and students. I made reservations for 14 and specifically said there would 5 small children with one being autistic child. While our food was good the service was HORRIBLE coming from the OWNER himself!

...we all ordered our meals together yet they all came out at different times...lengthy times like 15-20 minutes apart for the kids pizza! The children were getting restless and the owner never once came by to see how we were doing. Instead he stood behind the counter and just gave glares as if he was annoyed! Apparently he never had an autistic child dine at his restaurant, yes they make occasional outburst but there was only 3 other patrons in the place! The hostess who was about 16 came up to me and said the owner wanted the kids markers taken away. The kids had Crayola mini coloring markers and a coloring book which I gave them, the hostess said he doesn't want them to accidently draw on the table cloths (which were plastic and can be washed off if that was the case) I said no problem & took them away. But I thought why didn't he come tell me himself? The kids obviously were getting bored and restless, I kept asking our waitress what was taking so long for the pizza's she said they were coming. The meals for us adults came 1/2hr after the pizza's for the kids came out...it was just a horrible experience. The owner thanked a couple at the opposite end of the restaurant from us when they left, yet never said anything to the 14 of us which made his business for the night. Our waitress was thankful and expressed her gratitude for our generous tip and stated we were her only table for the night. I just could not get over how UNPROFESSIONAL the owner was! Oregano's advertises "Graduation Parties" on their billboard sign off Gilmer Rd. take your business else where for Graduation Parties, this owner does NOT appreciate the business & seems unwelcoming to children with disabilities!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“High prices for an average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Oregano is a small restaurant with high prices for what you get. Tables are close together and the room was very drafty when we were there. Tables are next to the exits. A chicken Marsala dish was $16 - tasty and large portions. The salad was nothing special. Although service was excellent, this is not a restaurant that will be a favorite.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The food was good but I felt it was pricy. Seems they have changed their concept to be more like CornerBakery. It works.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice; family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We live in the area and go occasionally with friends for dinner. Their chicken and pasta selections are tasty and ample. Our server was very attentive and took care of us well, even
though she was also helping a large table next to us.
Their sweet potato and regular chips are tasty and homemade.
All in all, a nice, fresh place.
They are also open for lunch, and have an interesting menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregano's also viewed

Hawthorn Woods, IL

Been to Oregano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregano's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.