We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietest Place Ever Stayed At” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clennell Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clennell Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Clennell Hall Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Clennell Hall, Harbottle NE65 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
county durham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quietest Place Ever Stayed At”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This has to be the quietest place I have ever stayed at. Not too far from accesible places and shops, but with zero light pollution of the sky.
You can see the milky way!
Old and full of character, the building looks as though it is from a film set.
Inside warm, welcoming and quite stylish with a really good bar and drinks selection, even "real ale".
Breakfast substantial and served with a smile. We were there mid week and it was very peaceful. The chef was off and so Ros cooked.
Menu was standard, but when we asked, they produced some local trout from the kitchen. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Our only problem was waking up in the mornings!
There is an issue with the web site as the previous owners seemed to have left some chaos, to check it out try www.clennellhall2012.co.uk
We will return as we normally stay near by in a larger more impersonal hotel this was just the opposite.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but some have walls 4 feet thick if you really want tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    48
    19
    5
    10
See reviews for
35
87
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Me and two friends went to clennell hall at the beginning of October for a midweek get away. We arrived in darkness at about 10 pm to be greeted by the owners who warmly welcomed us into the Bar with a nice cheap pint. The rooms were immaculate and facilities fine.

In the morning the sheer beauty of the area overwhelmed us. Nestled in the Cheaveat hills all you can see around you is beautiful mountain streams and valleys. The hotel owners were quick to advise us on points of interest locally and were very knowledgeable on the history of the area.

Food was amazing, the breakfast portion was huge all freshly made to order and the dinner was all traditional hearty pub food.I guarantee you wont go hungry! The bar wad well stocked and priced at about pub level. We spent all our evenings playing pool and chatting with the owners who were more than happy to entertain us.

I will be going again for definite! This hotel is ideally situated for historians (a stones throw from Hadrians wall) and hikers and cyclists due to the surrounding walks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of hectic daily life, this is the place for you !. No mobile phones..... no TV or Radio...... simply peace and tranquility. In fact, at night it is the quietest hotel I have ever stayed at.

The hall is a most imposing building, with bright large bedrooms, and the en-suite bathrooms are equally specious. The bed in my room was incredibly comfortable, and without exaggeration, I have to say I had the best nights sleep I have experienced in years. The standard of housekeeping at the hotel is extremely high

The full cooked breakfast is excellent, with fresh eggs from the resident hens, and wonderful Northumberland Bacon. The dinner menu in the restaurant is varied, and very reasonably priced.

The staff at the hotel are all so friendly, sincere, and helpful, and this is what really makes Clennell Hall so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

held function for 60+ guests, buffet and service was of excellent standard, owners ros and rocky and all staff made us feel so welcome. we stayed for 2 nights rooms were very luxurious and had wonderful views of surrounding area. definately will be returning as we came as guests and left as friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We enjoyed having you here and look forward to yor return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Clennell Hall was a favourite stop on our trip. Originally planning to spend a night there while we looked at the castles of Northumberland, we soon decided to stay two (ideally, I'd have stayed more!) and we never dreamed there would be so much to see and do in the district. Rocky, Ros, Graham, Bobby and the crew welcomed us with open arms, and the Hall is truly spectacular! Food was delicious and the company was even better. Hope to be back soon!!
Emma, Jeanette and Marilyn. X

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We really appreciate it and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Called here for morning coffee at the start of a walk last week and returned for afternoon tea a few days later. The building is very grand and old. Originally a Peel tower with incredibly thick walls. The present owners have refurbished the rooms very attractively and gave us a guided tour of the hotel. The setting is very attractive and there are lots of bike rides and walks in the local area. The teas and coffees were great and came with an assortment of biscuits. Very reasonably priced. You can get meals there in the evenings too. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a nice review. We appreciate it. Call again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from a four day break at Clennell Hall. Rocky, Bobby and the rest of the team were brilliant.It was my wife's birthday while we were there and they treated us really well and made her feel special.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The bedrooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable. The otherwise perfect and welcoming lobby suffers from an annoying 'low level' beeping noise, possibly from the fire alarm board but Im sure that will be solved soon.
Apart from that tiny little niggle our stay was wonderful.
Hoping that they have great success and look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Manager at Clennell Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for making the effort to give us a nice review, we really do appreciate it. We have sorted the annoying noise from the fire alarm so it will be total silence when you return! Once again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clennell Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clennell Hall Hotel

Address: Clennell Hall, Harbottle NE65 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Harbottle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clennell Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clennell Hall in Alwinton is a large historic Country House (Visit Britain 4-star rated) situated on the edge of the Northumberland National Park within an area known as the Coquetdale. Beyond the picturesque surrounds of the Hotel and the village of Alwinton you can enjoy the beautiful countryside for hiking, cycling, fishing, horse-riding, golfing, hunting and walking holidays. The area is an excellent base for exploring the Cheviot Hills, the spectacular Northumbrian Coast, castles and gardens and is located upon the Pennine Cycleway (Route 68). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clennell Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clennell Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.