We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely unique.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion to your Saves list
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de Portugal s/n, 37488 Aldea del Obispo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Fort 3-5 May 2014. I first visited "Fort Concepcion" more than 30 years ago when it was still a weed-strewn ruin on a windswept ridge replete with the ghosts of the British and Allied soldiers of the Light Division who lived there in 1810. I must admit I was somewhat dismayed when I heard that a hotel was being built but the architects have done a marvellous job which is very sympathetic to the location and minimally invasive on the original structure. The standard of facilities was excellent; the food and wine was first-rate (and reasonably priced) and staff were charming and helpful. Very highly recommended - whether you're a history buff or not.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
81
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalgety Bay, Dunfermline
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We loved our previous stay here so much (see my January rave review) that we came back and were greeted like old friends by the charming receptionist and, later, by the evening staff. We were offered one of the newer rooms which, though beautifully fitted out, we didn't like as much as our previous one so she cheerfully changed it with no problems at all and we immediately felt at home here. Last time we suggested that they add something for vegetarians to their menu but glancing at it, we noticed there is still nothing so we asked for snacks – an omelette, which was fine though very small, and a little salad which consisted of lettuce, cucumber, tomato and the cheapest quality of tuna imaginable, poor value at 24 euros.
Breakfast, so good last time, was disorganised and unsatisfactory on both mornings. It was brought to our room on day one by a new staff member who had only been there a few days. Everything was laboriously wrapped in clingfilm – cereal, toast, even the plate of fried eggs. How can anyone think that this is a good idea? The eggs were stone cold, the toast soggy. He had forgotten butter, milk and fruit. No yogurt available today. No top-up coffee. Phone call to reception resolved some but not all of these issues. Next day we decided to breakfast in the bar instead. Other guests were waiting but then told their breakfast was in their room so they hurried off. Our breakfast was late. Everything was thoughtlessly served together. Eggs (cold again despite requesting them hot) had to be eaten first as there was no milk for cereals. No yogurt today either. I asked for butter and got margarine. I asked for one of the nice little bread rolls I had the day before and was told no, they were still in the oven (at 9.30?) and given white sliced bread. Every time we needed to ask for something we had to wait interminably for the seemingly ever more irritated waiter to appear. No top-up coffee offered. We gave up. To be honest, on both days breakfast felt more like three rounds of prize boxing than the relaxing experience it used to be here. Please fix this - have a look at what most other hotels in this class do for breakfast.
We had a great deal last time but this time paid the full rate so were more disappointed about the food, its presentation and service not being up to standard. Despite this, we will probably return and hope that the new waiter has improved his breakfast skills by then (or left!) because this did somewhat spoil our stay in this very special place. My score would be much lower if it were not for the lovely staff (except one), the beautiful room and the perfect setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FuertedelaConcepcion, Manager at Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Mcintosh,

First of all, we would like to thank that you have had the courtesy of writing your impressions about the hotel.
The opinions of our guests are very important for The Real Fuerte de la Concepcion and be sure that we have taken into account your comments.
As you have checked, we would like to take care of our lodgers, it is very important for us that our guests feel like home. The a la carte breakfast menu which we offer, it is expected to be an upgrade for our lodgers.
We apologise to you a lot for it would not have carried out in this case as you would have wanted. Not hesitate that we will try to get better our service, considering that our challenge is getting better and better ourself day-by–day.
We feel sorry about you would not have commented to our restaurant staff that you would like vegetarian dishes, since it is not in the menu, our restaurant is characterized for the quality as the variety in dishes so many for vegetarians and vegans so many as for coeliacs and people with other intolerance foods. If you wish for another time, you would note it in advance. Not hesitate that all will be ready and our restaurant staff will recommend the best options.
We would be grateful if you would came back when you wish because we like seeing extraordinary people as you and in order to can get a new view of the different changes and updates that it will be maked in The Fuerte day-by-day.
If you require any information, please not hesitate to contact with us by phone at +34 923 10990 or by email at info@fuertedelaconcepcion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kergrist Moelou, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This fort is truly fabulous...the location, the sympathetic restoration, the blend of the old with the new contemporary styling & furnishings. Every single member of staff was charming & the service first class. We enjoyed the Taster menu for dinner which was delicious & showcased local cuisine.
Buffet breakfast was excellent offering a great selection.
A very memorable place to stay, would highly recommend & hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This review only needs a few words. Amazing Place, Amazing location, very helpful friendly staff. Evening Meal in the restaurant was excellent with excellent service and the breakfast was up to the same standard. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fuerte De La Concepcion is a windswept, romantic ruin on the Spain-Portugal border; but behind the mask is a luxury hotel with charming, attentive staff and a great restaurant and bar. It's in an isolated location, but this led to me getting a great nights sleep.
I highly recommend this hotel for weddings, group business trips or a romantic escape. It would be a good scramble for older children who might enjoy exploring the crumbling battlements and moat.
Everything in the room was brand new, and the owners have paid great attention to detail. Breakfast was particularly outstanding with freshly squeezed orange juice and a generous selection of bread, ham, cereal, pancakes etc - served in a lovely dining room.
There was still work ongoing, held up by the gruesome discovery of the bones of dead French soldiers from the Napoleonic Wars; but it did not disturb or even distract.
Definitely worth a look if you want something different and inspiring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auch, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

To stay in 17th century fort in the most wonderful rooms & dramatic location, with the most attentive staff, at what we think is a bargain price, what more could you want! The food was great if a little "nouvelle cuisine". The whole place is just a "must visit" experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay, Dunfermline
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Quite an experience to stay in a 17th century star-shaped ruined fort converted into a fabulous hotel by a history professor from Madrid. All the staff were very professional and very friendly, nothing too much trouble, a delight. A well-designed room, it was huge with a spacious bathroom and separate toilet with an effective fan. We had a little fridge and two televisions, a large sofa plus a table and chairs. The central heating system was perfect. Such a comfortable bed with great quality bedlinen, we had a wonderful night's sleep and just had to book a second night. Breakfast was brought to our room with military precision by the uniformed staff at exactly 9am and was very good. The history of the place is amazing, reception give you a potted version. The Duke of Wellington was here, he blew the place up when he left! You must walk up to the top of the fort to look over to Portugal , the plains of Salamanca and the little village nearby, so quiet and peaceful. Lots of unusual little birds to spot, too.
The only hotel I know where staff wear French and English military uniforms, we absolutely love this place, a highlight of our holiday, and can't wait to go back for a longer stay. Next time I would love to see a couple of imaginative vegetarian choices on the dinner menu - not all of us eat meat or fish.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion

Address: Avda. de Portugal s/n, 37488 Aldea del Obispo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Aldea del Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldea del Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Real Fuerte de la Concepcion is built on a former military fortress XVIII century star-shaped located just outside Aldea del Obispo, province of Salamanca. It has 14 junior suites with living room equipped with all amenities, air conditioning, flat screen TV, free minibar (soft drinks), telephone and private bathroom with bathtub and hairdryer. Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. The hotel features the Escuadron Restaurant, where you can sample traditional cuisine, an avant-garde. It has several rooms for any type of event, family reunions, celebrations or business dinners. The hotel offers extensive facilities for your enjoyment as the imposing center courtyard where you can enjoy a drink on the terrace of the snack bar while admiring its ancient walls accompanied by good conversation. The hotel offers 24 hour reception, room service, tour and shuttle services on request (surcharge). This bit of history of Spain is located on the frontier with Portugal, near the fortress cities Almeida (Portugal) and Ciudad Rodrigo, just 10 minutes from the Estacion de Arte Rupestre Siega Verde, declared World Heritage Site by Unesco and just over an hour from the university town of Salamanca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.