We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion to your Saves list
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de Portugal s/n, 37488 Aldea del Obispo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kergrist Moelou, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This fort is truly fabulous...the location, the sympathetic restoration, the blend of the old with the new contemporary styling & furnishings. Every single member of staff was charming & the service first class. We enjoyed the Taster menu for dinner which was delicious & showcased local cuisine.
Buffet breakfast was excellent offering a great selection.
A very memorable place to stay, would highly recommend & hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
68
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This review only needs a few words. Amazing Place, Amazing location, very helpful friendly staff. Evening Meal in the restaurant was excellent with excellent service and the breakfast was up to the same standard. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fuerte De La Concepcion is a windswept, romantic ruin on the Spain-Portugal border; but behind the mask is a luxury hotel with charming, attentive staff and a great restaurant and bar. It's in an isolated location, but this led to me getting a great nights sleep.
I highly recommend this hotel for weddings, group business trips or a romantic escape. It would be a good scramble for older children who might enjoy exploring the crumbling battlements and moat.
Everything in the room was brand new, and the owners have paid great attention to detail. Breakfast was particularly outstanding with freshly squeezed orange juice and a generous selection of bread, ham, cereal, pancakes etc - served in a lovely dining room.
There was still work ongoing, held up by the gruesome discovery of the bones of dead French soldiers from the Napoleonic Wars; but it did not disturb or even distract.
Definitely worth a look if you want something different and inspiring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auch, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

To stay in 17th century fort in the most wonderful rooms & dramatic location, with the most attentive staff, at what we think is a bargain price, what more could you want! The food was great if a little "nouvelle cuisine". The whole place is just a "must visit" experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay, Dunfermline
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Quite an experience to stay in a 17th century star-shaped ruined fort converted into a fabulous hotel by a history professor from Madrid. All the staff were very professional and very friendly, nothing too much trouble, a delight. A well-designed room, it was huge with a spacious bathroom and separate toilet with an effective fan. We had a little fridge and two televisions, a large sofa plus a table and chairs. The central heating system was perfect. Such a comfortable bed with great quality bedlinen, we had a wonderful night's sleep and just had to book a second night. Breakfast was brought to our room with military precision by the uniformed staff at exactly 9am and was very good. The history of the place is amazing, reception give you a potted version. The Duke of Wellington was here, he blew the place up when he left! You must walk up to the top of the fort to look over to Portugal , the plains of Salamanca and the little village nearby, so quiet and peaceful. Lots of unusual little birds to spot, too.
The only hotel I know where staff wear French and English military uniforms, we absolutely love this place, a highlight of our holiday, and can't wait to go back for a longer stay. Next time I would love to see a couple of imaginative vegetarian choices on the dinner menu - not all of us eat meat or fish.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lovely place to stay, just loved it.

The "Posada Real Fuerte de la Concepcion" is still on going with light construction and change which was on the positive side as they have done wonders with this site in restoring & converting in to the now Posada Real.

From the gravel car park we entered a small arch way to find reception on the left and a very stiff door so give it a good tug, we were greeted with a smile and a seat, what a great start.
My Spanish was so poor, I was immediately put at ease by the receptionist from change of Spanish to English. Our booking was swift as all the paper work was done by the receptionist and no paper work to fill in.

Our Bags were offered to be taken and we were taken to our room via entering the main building and shown the bar, dining room & breakfast area before entering the grassed court yard surrounded by arched porticoes leading to the entrances to the accommodation's.

On entering, there was a lovely well presented lounge with a small free mini bar with juice and water, refreshing as we had a long drive.
A small corridor lead to a well presented bed room with on suit toilet and a separate on suite Large shower / bathroom. The lighting was well thought through for good ambience.

We retreated to the bar were there seemed to be no service but a phone on the bar gave us the opportunity to call reception and ask for an English menu for the restaurant.
we were soon enjoying the court yard views with a well refreshing beverage and a the requested menu.

The restaurant was 9-11 so we choose the early option.
The waiter was pleasant & did not speak any English but went out of his way to make our meal service a pleasant one.

The meal itself was of a good standard but lacked any wholesome vegetables for my liking.

We retired to the bar and again even though we had trouble ordering the drinks we were served with respect and understanding.
I dropped my coffee outside and it was replaced immediately with a complement drink.

Overall the accommodation and sleep was exceptional and the staff made our stay, we have absolutely no hesitation returning again for a longer stay.

Well done, "Hotel Posada Real Fuerte La Concepcion".

Very Kind Regards,
Andy & Claudi

Room Tip: Phone in advance & make sure they are English friendly if your 2nd language is bad. Make sure f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent setting an location (off-road thus very quiet) and perfect usage of an historic place. The rooms are very well equipped and breakfast is quite complete. Great service with high quality and kindness!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion

Address: Avda. de Portugal s/n, 37488 Aldea del Obispo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Aldea del Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldea del Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Real Fuerte de la Concepcion is built on a former military fortress XVIII century star-shaped located just outside Aldea del Obispo, province of Salamanca. It has 14 junior suites with living room equipped with all amenities, air conditioning, flat screen TV, free minibar (soft drinks), telephone and private bathroom with bathtub and hairdryer. Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. The hotel features the Escuadron Restaurant, where you can sample traditional cuisine, an avant-garde. It has several rooms for any type of event, family reunions, celebrations or business dinners. The hotel offers extensive facilities for your enjoyment as the imposing center courtyard where you can enjoy a drink on the terrace of the snack bar while admiring its ancient walls accompanied by good conversation. The hotel offers 24 hour reception, room service, tour and shuttle services on request (surcharge). This bit of history of Spain is located on the frontier with Portugal, near the fortress cities Almeida (Portugal) and Ciudad Rodrigo, just 10 minutes from the Estacion de Arte Rupestre Siega Verde, declared World Heritage Site by Unesco and just over an hour from the university town of Salamanca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.