We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your bikes, bring your kite, bring your kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Flagler State Park

Fort Flagler State Park
10541 Flagler Road, Marrowstone Island, WA 98358-9656
(360) 385-1259
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Bring your bikes, bring your kite, bring your kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've returned to this remarkable place year after year. Great place to visit and explore area's history and natural surroundings. While we usually camp, one year we stayed in one of the vintage homes overlooking the water - a great deal. Only downside is that most of the lower campsites are threadbare and lack privacy - not great for tenting. Our favorites are the waterfront sites, which would be perfect if you have an rv. Bring your bikes, bring your kites, bring your kids.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, and we learned alot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The beach and view of Pt. Townsend is fabulous. Once we finally found the park offices we found the lighthouse, the great giftshop (no tax and a fabulous volunteer!), and the most interesting little military museum - including prices of the food from the early 1900's!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimper, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Beach and trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice place to camp and hike on the beach, paddle your kayak and have fun. Miles of trails to hike or ride your bike on. Boat launch and dock. Small PX type store on the beach. Paddle your boat out into Mystery Bay and Rat Island.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Music at the old Hospital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just stumbled across a little concert held at the old Hospital at Fort Flagler, and it was wonderful! Beautiful folk music by The Winterlings -- we brought dinner, sat and ate while listening to two fantastic musicians in a room with fabulous acoustics, and our 4-year-old son loved every minute of it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A scenic slice of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Well worth visiting, both for campers and history buffs. It's not as well-restored as nearby Fort Worden, but tours of the gun emplacements and the old hospital present a great vignette of what life was like on an old army Coast Artillery post. Restoration is currently halted due to lack of funding, but what has been done so far is impressive. The docent was very knowledgable and enhanced the experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Flagler State Park also viewed

 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Fort Flagler State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Flagler State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.