We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you are only staying one night and don't care much....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Heritage Inn & Suites
1701 South Division Street, Harvard, IL 60033   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harvard
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“if you are only staying one night and don't care much....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The bedding was in good condition, meaning it was very clean, white, and appeared to be,...not too old. Also the towels, they were very clean, white, but a little on the thin side and a bit too small for use after showering.

This hotel could use new carpeting throughout, and a good steam cleaning. And they should open all the windows for a couple of days and air it out.

The man at the front desk was very nice, and wanted to be helpful.
I only stayed one night, and that is all I would recommend, if you are not terribly picky, but want a bed to sleep in, and you have to be in Harvard early in the morning.

For my next 2 nights working in Harvard I went a few miles down the road where there were more hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
7
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was absolutely disgusting! We stayed in a "non-smoking" room and it had been smoked in many times before. There were only two pillows on the bed which means you only get you pillow if you are sharing a bed and the pillows are very thin and uncomfortable. The coffee pot had mold in it, the room just looked and felt dirty with an overwhelming smell of cigarettes as you walk through the door (keep in mind it is a non-smoking room). The pool was very nice, big, and spacious. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful and were pleasant to be around. Other than that I will not be staying at another Heritage inn again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I always stay here when I am in Harvard. The rooms are a comfortable size and the bed is comfortable. Water pressure is good and rooms are clean and house keeping does it's job. I do wish they still had the hot tub, but the pool and sauna are ok. The manager will go out of his way to help you get the room you need (I like a king size on the first floor), and even thought they were very full he found a way to get me that room for the 3 nights of my stay. Every one is always very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel was clean,quiet,and had very friendly service from all staff I interacted with. Rooms were very nice, It was nothing like a couple of the more negative reviews on this sight. Will definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Among other problems, the room was dated, it was cleaned, but it didn't look like it had much upkeep... I've stayed in worse places (Hostels), but then again, they were $25 a night in a city where a room like this wouldn't even be worth the $75. Just don't stay...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Attended at birthday party for a friend and stayed here. The bathroom is small. VERY small. Dated furniture, a sway back bed left me hurting. Amenties are a joke. Not a good value for a hotel stay. Place was empty on a Saturday night. I now know why!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding and was pretty disappointed, even with fairly low expectations. There's just not much to spin positively -- the hotel is almost aggressively dated. It's dank, dark and not particularly clean. I can handle dated decor just fine, but I couldn't shake the feeling that the rooms weren't even sanitary.

As for amenities, there are none. The hotel provided a single, square plastic trial-sized packet of shampoo which wasn't enough for two people. The bath towels are junior-sized and are almost see-through. At least they're highly abrasive, in case you feel like cleaning some of the grime from the room yourself.

On top of everything, the exterior entrance for the rooms has a large sign that says "Room Key Required for Entry" which gives a nice feeling of security. Unfortunately, the sign must be for appearances only because the door pulls open even without the use of a room card. It certainly didn't make me feel very safe in my first-floor room.

I hate to bash a locally-owned establishment, but the quality control just isn't there. The price is definitely low, but you can stay for an extra $15-20/night just down the road in Woodstock and have a much better experience. Even for us, who really only need a bed for a single night, it wasn't worth the low price tag.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn & Suites

Address: 1701 South Division Street, Harvard, IL 60033
Location: United States > Illinois > Harvard
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harvard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Inn and Suites was constructed in 1996 and remodeled in 2009. We offer an indoor pool and complimentary, continental breakfast every morning. Each guest room is equipped with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, and alarm clock. We are located in Harvard, Il; approximately five minutes from the Wisconsin boarder. Guest services representatives are available at the front desk 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn And Suites
Heritage Hotel Harvard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.