We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gurnee Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Gurnee Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gurnee Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Gurnee Mills Circle E., Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
SAN DIEGO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had a great stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Great location, right across the street from Gurnee Mills shopping center. One mile from Great America amusement park. Lots of resuarants to choose from. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. We are ecstatic that you felt we are such a great location. Cleanliness and your comfort is extremely important to us so it pleases us greatly that we met your standards. We will also be sure to inform our staff what a great job they are doing! Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Hotels that still allow smoking in their facilities should be banned. This 3 floor hotel wreaked of smoke throughout every hallway on every floor. The room we had was OK, clean and actually didn't smell that bad. Unfortunately, you have to go into the hallway to enter or exit the hotel. And that is where the problem lies.
It could be decent if they would just make it a NON-SMOKING facility. The continental breakfast was good, very clean and provided some nice hot food for a continental breakfast. But again, it was difficult to enjoy because the smell of second-hand smoke.
The staff was also friendly and helpful. I really feel sorry for them, since they have to ingest the second-hand smoke every minute during their working hours.
Do the right thing, Comfort Inn. Go smoke free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly apologize for not exceeding your expectiations. We accomodate smoking and non-smoking guests but if given the opportunity during your next stay we will be happy to place your room as far away as possible from any smoking room upon request. Thank you for your business and we do hope you return to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is one of the better Comfort Inn properties. It is located right next to Gurnee Mills mall and there are several chain restaurants close by, including a Steak n Shake next door. We had a king room which had a sitting area with a couch and coffee table. The room was very nice and clean. Overall, this is a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive feed back. We are very glad that our property was satisfactory to your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future. Until the next time take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au Train, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the Gurnee Mills Mall. It was easy to find and convenient to shopping. Also close is Six Flags, although it is closed this time of year. The location of this property is very convenient. Hotel is clean, and breakfast was better than most. A good value. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It pleases us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Gurnee Comfort Inn. We are especially glad that our location was so convenient and that our breakfast was satisfying. And our staff truly appreciates the positive feedback and compliments. We hope to see you again soon. Until next time take care.

Sincerely,
Jay Patel
General Manager
Comfort Inn
6080 Gurnee Mills Cir E
Gurnee, IL 60031
847-855-8866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent stay, nicely remolded, pleasant staff, clean, breakfast was good everything was first class the staff was great. This was the second choice hotel in 4 years to recognize our status with choice hotels. lovely but hate to write 200 words hope this makes the 200.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our location. Your feedback on our staff and the renovations was greatly appreciated. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Until next time take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I brought six employees to this Comfort Inn. I stay in numerous Choice Hotels each year. This was just an average stay. My first room was likely a "pet room" and smelled of urine. I asked to be moved, was immediately and it was fine. The hotel itself was a little tired and in need of refurbishment. The breakfast was typical, with a line for the waffle maker. I enjoyed the pleasantly warm pool and hot tub. It met our needs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your review! Your feedback helps us improve our standards and helps us give our guests the best stay possible. We truly apologize about the urine smell in your room. We would like to let you know that we have steam cleaned the carpet since and we apologize for the long line at the waffle maker. We do however, appreciate that you enjoyed our pool and hot tub, and that it will still be available for your next stay with us! We hope to see you again soon and appreciate your business! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A decent hotel ,clean ,reasonable breakfast with helpful friendly staff in a good location,with shops and amusement park near by.The rooms were quiet dark and needed more lighting but this is a criticism they can be levied at a lot of hotels.The beds were as comfortable as any you will find in any hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you completing our survey on our hotel. Your feedback is very important. We sincerely apologize that the room was too dark for your comfort. But we are glad that you felt our staff was friendly and our rooms were clean. Also, we are very pleased that the location accommodated your needs. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Until then take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gurnee Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnee Comfort Inn

Address: 6080 Gurnee Mills Circle E., Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gurnee Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gurnee Comfort Inn® is conveniently located just one mile from Six Flags Great America and within walking distance of the Gurnee Mills mall. This Gurnee, IL hotel is centrally located close to area attractions like the Bittersweet Golf Club, Bristol Renaissance Faire in Kenosha, Illinois Beach State Park, Lambs Farm, the Gold Pyramid House and Temper Farm. The College of Lake County and Lake County Fairgrounds are seven miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Gurnee Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurnee Comfort Hotel Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurnee Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.