We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gurnee Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gurnee Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Gurnee Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Gurnee Mills Circle E., Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Au Train, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the Gurnee Mills Mall. It was easy to find and convenient to shopping. Also close is Six Flags, although it is closed this time of year. The location of this property is very convenient. Hotel is clean, and breakfast was better than most. A good value. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It pleases us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Gurnee Comfort Inn. We are especially glad that our location was so convenient and that our breakfast was satisfying. And our staff truly appreciates the positive feedback and compliments. We hope to see you again soon. Until next time take care.

Sincerely,
Jay Patel
General Manager
Comfort Inn
6080 Gurnee Mills Cir E
Gurnee, IL 60031
847-855-8866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
12
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent stay, nicely remolded, pleasant staff, clean, breakfast was good everything was first class the staff was great. This was the second choice hotel in 4 years to recognize our status with choice hotels. lovely but hate to write 200 words hope this makes the 200.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our location. Your feedback on our staff and the renovations was greatly appreciated. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Until next time take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I brought six employees to this Comfort Inn. I stay in numerous Choice Hotels each year. This was just an average stay. My first room was likely a "pet room" and smelled of urine. I asked to be moved, was immediately and it was fine. The hotel itself was a little tired and in need of refurbishment. The breakfast was typical, with a line for the waffle maker. I enjoyed the pleasantly warm pool and hot tub. It met our needs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your review! Your feedback helps us improve our standards and helps us give our guests the best stay possible. We truly apologize about the urine smell in your room. We would like to let you know that we have steam cleaned the carpet since and we apologize for the long line at the waffle maker. We do however, appreciate that you enjoyed our pool and hot tub, and that it will still be available for your next stay with us! We hope to see you again soon and appreciate your business! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A decent hotel ,clean ,reasonable breakfast with helpful friendly staff in a good location,with shops and amusement park near by.The rooms were quiet dark and needed more lighting but this is a criticism they can be levied at a lot of hotels.The beds were as comfortable as any you will find in any hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you completing our survey on our hotel. Your feedback is very important. We sincerely apologize that the room was too dark for your comfort. But we are glad that you felt our staff was friendly and our rooms were clean. Also, we are very pleased that the location accommodated your needs. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Until then take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloshills
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location; check inn was very good; got a better rate ,Rooms are good nothing to complain about. Breakfast was a plus.... will stay again the location is a plus, you can walk to everything, mall restaurant, ect..Highly recommend...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your response and feed back on your stay at our location. It is important to us that everything is beyond satisfactory for our guests. We are pleased to hear that our hotel was convienent and our rates were accomodating for you. We truly hope we see you again in the future. Until next time take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I book trips based on price, reviews and the availability of free parking, wifi and a pool which lead us to stay two nights at the Gurnee Comfort Inn.

When we checked in the staff member manning the desk seemed overwhelmed, she was dealing with a large bunch of people that were not happy with their rooms but she was professional and ready for us. Everything went well that night.

When we woke in the morning the complimentary breakfast left a little to be desired. There's no cereal, very little fruit and not very good muffins and bagels. We'd had a bit of trouble sleeping on the pillows and when I asked the front desk about any other possible alternatives the employee admitted that he knew they were terrible and said "my manager is cheap." While hilarious, it also explained the breakfast situation.

Our last night stay was almost intolerable when we realized how paper thin the walls were. Between a very lovey couple in one of the next rooms and apparently an elephant in the room above us we were ready to go.

I will say that this hotel may be great if you are or are travelling with a handicap person. Our room was very easily accessible and the pool had devices to get a handicap person (although they were covered in tarps so you may want to check that they are operational).

Parking was a bit short on options as they seem to share their parking lot with another hotel next door and a steak and shake on the other side. There is no room service. The pool and spa was heated perfectly. The shampoo, conditioner and lotion was poor quality. You could tell things had recently been updated with a coat of paint, but things weren't perfectly done, however this didn't affect the liveability of the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for a night while traveling to Great America. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good and the kids used the pool. It is very close to the amusement park. Lots of stores around if you want to shop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your response about your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to know the location was accomodating to your trip. With the Gurnee mills mall right across the street and Six Flags Great America a mile up the road, as well as our friendly 24hr front desk staff, we hoped that this would help exceed your expectations. Again we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gurnee Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnee Comfort Inn

Address: 6080 Gurnee Mills Circle E., Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gurnee Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gurnee Comfort Inn® is conveniently located just one mile from Six Flags Great America and within walking distance of the Gurnee Mills mall. This Gurnee, IL hotel is centrally located close to area attractions like the Bittersweet Golf Club, Bristol Renaissance Faire in Kenosha, Illinois Beach State Park, Lambs Farm, the Gold Pyramid House and Temper Farm. The College of Lake County and Lake County Fairgrounds are seven miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gurnee Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurnee Comfort Hotel Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurnee Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.