We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Choice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gurnee Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gurnee Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Gurnee Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Gurnee Mills Circle E., Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Adequate Choice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I brought six employees to this Comfort Inn. I stay in numerous Choice Hotels each year. This was just an average stay. My first room was likely a "pet room" and smelled of urine. I asked to be moved, was immediately and it was fine. The hotel itself was a little tired and in need of refurbishment. The breakfast was typical, with a line for the waffle maker. I enjoyed the pleasantly warm pool and hot tub. It met our needs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your review! Your feedback helps us improve our standards and helps us give our guests the best stay possible. We truly apologize about the urine smell in your room. We would like to let you know that we have steam cleaned the carpet since and we apologize for the long line at the waffle maker. We do however, appreciate that you enjoyed our pool and hot tub, and that it will still be available for your next stay with us! We hope to see you again soon and appreciate your business! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    30
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
14
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A decent hotel ,clean ,reasonable breakfast with helpful friendly staff in a good location,with shops and amusement park near by.The rooms were quiet dark and needed more lighting but this is a criticism they can be levied at a lot of hotels.The beds were as comfortable as any you will find in any hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you completing our survey on our hotel. Your feedback is very important. We sincerely apologize that the room was too dark for your comfort. But we are glad that you felt our staff was friendly and our rooms were clean. Also, we are very pleased that the location accommodated your needs. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Until then take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloshills
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location; check inn was very good; got a better rate ,Rooms are good nothing to complain about. Breakfast was a plus.... will stay again the location is a plus, you can walk to everything, mall restaurant, ect..Highly recommend...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your response and feed back on your stay at our location. It is important to us that everything is beyond satisfactory for our guests. We are pleased to hear that our hotel was convienent and our rates were accomodating for you. We truly hope we see you again in the future. Until next time take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I book trips based on price, reviews and the availability of free parking, wifi and a pool which lead us to stay two nights at the Gurnee Comfort Inn.

When we checked in the staff member manning the desk seemed overwhelmed, she was dealing with a large bunch of people that were not happy with their rooms but she was professional and ready for us. Everything went well that night.

When we woke in the morning the complimentary breakfast left a little to be desired. There's no cereal, very little fruit and not very good muffins and bagels. We'd had a bit of trouble sleeping on the pillows and when I asked the front desk about any other possible alternatives the employee admitted that he knew they were terrible and said "my manager is cheap." While hilarious, it also explained the breakfast situation.

Our last night stay was almost intolerable when we realized how paper thin the walls were. Between a very lovey couple in one of the next rooms and apparently an elephant in the room above us we were ready to go.

I will say that this hotel may be great if you are or are travelling with a handicap person. Our room was very easily accessible and the pool had devices to get a handicap person (although they were covered in tarps so you may want to check that they are operational).

Parking was a bit short on options as they seem to share their parking lot with another hotel next door and a steak and shake on the other side. There is no room service. The pool and spa was heated perfectly. The shampoo, conditioner and lotion was poor quality. You could tell things had recently been updated with a coat of paint, but things weren't perfectly done, however this didn't affect the liveability of the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for a night while traveling to Great America. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good and the kids used the pool. It is very close to the amusement park. Lots of stores around if you want to shop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Gurnee Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your response about your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to know the location was accomodating to your trip. With the Gurnee mills mall right across the street and Six Flags Great America a mile up the road, as well as our friendly 24hr front desk staff, we hoped that this would help exceed your expectations. Again we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I lived in Gurnee for 10 years, never stayed anywhere until we just went back. Certainly a convenient place to stay, near the tollway, near Great America and near what used to be the Gurnee Mills outlet mall, but as I now see it, it is trying to go back to being a regular mall. Comfort Inn was nice, service was good. albeit a little slow...seems on this particular Friday, they were short staffed and I had to wait a while to check in. Nice room, mattress most likely should have been turned, decent size bathroom, soap was thin and definitely needed to be upgraded...towels were excellent....must have been new and the shower was a pleasure to take with a goodly amount of water pressure....the shower itself could use some upkeep as it was starting to show signs of wear and tear along the edge of the top. Only real downside is the parking...it is wedged in between a Fairfield and a Steak and Shake....many kids hanging around outside late and parking was difficult....I parked in the Fairfield lot.

Room Tip: Get a parking spot early or prepare to park next door....do not park on the south side....near the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a day at Six Flags. The hotel is clean, affordable, and offers a great complimentary breakfast with hot and cold items. This hotel is also near many good restaurants and plenty of shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gurnee Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnee Comfort Inn

Address: 6080 Gurnee Mills Circle E., Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gurnee Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gurnee Comfort Inn® is conveniently located just one mile from Six Flags Great America and within walking distance of the Gurnee Mills mall. This Gurnee, IL hotel is centrally located close to area attractions like the Bittersweet Golf Club, Bristol Renaissance Faire in Kenosha, Illinois Beach State Park, Lambs Farm, the Gold Pyramid House and Temper Farm. The College of Lake County and Lake County Fairgrounds are seven miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gurnee Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurnee Comfort Hotel Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurnee Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.