We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean newer hotelnwith free breakfast, internet close to Six Flags” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5430 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Gurnee, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Clean newer hotelnwith free breakfast, internet close to Six Flags”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Very nice newer hotel close to many restaurants, Six Flags and the Gurnee Mills Mall. Clean rooms, good continental breakfast and free internet. We also stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Gurnee for more money and the Best Western was twice as nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I appreciate you taking time to write this review and I hope you give us the oppurtunity to serve you better during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    74
    23
    14
    15
See reviews for
117
34
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
southern california
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel is right outside Six Flags which is what we wanted. You could walk from there but the Six Flags entry drive is quite long so we had someone drop us off. You can drive out of the far end of the parking lot and go straight through an intersection and into the park. There are some places to eat in the same complex or some nice restaurants near by. We chose this hotel to try of the several that are right there because we read reviews implying the hotel had been recently renovated. It was a fine location but pretty basic. No problem with the room. The lobby is really small for some reason and gets crowded easily. Also they can't keep the lobby from smelling like chlorine from the pool but it wasn't a problem in our upper room. The breakfast was pretty basic-nothing to write home about, but at the same time it was fine for an overnight stay. I think you'd have to get much farther away to find anything nicer. No business center but there was a computer I think.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I appreciate you taking time to write this review and I hope you give us the oppurtunity to serve you better during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls SD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

This hotel is just as pictured on their website. We had the King with sleeper sofa - very roomy. The front desk was nice and the rooms clean with comfortable beds. Across the parking lot was a great family restaurant Rosati's and Chicago Red Hots- a chicago loaded dog and a large order of fries $2.99! and delicious!! - had chicago dogs, pizza and all other kinds of food and open late after the park.
The one improvement at the hotel would be the breakfast set up - when it is crowded you can't get around (think starving animals at a feed) and the staff seems real lackluster at refilling. There was milk spilled all over the floor and counter - the staff replaced some food and had to have seen the spills/messiness of the area but just went to her back room and didn't come out. The had the usual cold breakfast fare- cereal, break/bagels/toast 2 waffle irons, fruit and packets of oatmeal. Oh and the hot food of the day was hash (ick). Because it is walkable to the park ( 10-15 minute walk I would say) I would definately consider going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGurnee, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I appreciate you taking time to write this review and I hope you give us the oppurtunity to serve you better during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeshal Sheth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites

Address: 5430 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Gurnee, Illinois hotel located less than one mile from Six Flags® Great America and Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall. Ideally situated off Interstate 294 in Northern Illinois, the BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites is a convenient hotel offering the best in accommodations, customer service and location. This Gurnee hotel features 65 well-appointed guest rooms, each offering cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access for guests' convenience. This 100 percent non smoking hotel offers a variety of amenities including a complimentary full breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome for a small fee. The BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites is conveniently located less than one mile from Six Flags® Great America theme park and just a few miles from the Waukegan Field House and Sports Park. Hotel guests will find charter fishing in Waukegan Harbor or great golfing at Bittersweet Golf Course and ThunderHawk Golf Club, all within seven miles of the hotel. Corporate travelers staying at this Illinois hotel will enjoy convenient access to the Jelly Belly® Factory, BrightStar® Healthcare Company, Domino Amjet, Abbott Labs and Motorola. The Great Lakes Naval Base is also only ten miles away. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Gurnee, Illinois. Make a reservation today and save! Indoor hot tub is closed indefinitely. We are sorry for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gurnee Hotel And Suites
Best Western Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Comfort Suites Gurnee
Gurnee Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.