We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5430 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Personally, I love this hotel. But it does have quirks that might irritate some people. The staff is great, and the bed was amazing. The hotel was quiet.It is nicely decorated. Great location. Great price. However, the switches for the bathroom are outside and around the corner by the bed. The furniture is too large for the space and there is little room to maneuver around it. The shower curtain is too short, and housekeeping came in took used towels, replaced cups and toiletries, did not make the bed and did leave new towels. Next day we got double towels. Coffee is just ok but dunkin' donuts and Starbucks is nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    59
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
87
29
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
waunakee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

this hotel is close to Gurnee mills mall and also very close to all the restaurants. our stay has always been comfortable and relaxing. it was a girls weekend for shopping and the breakfast in the morning was just the start we needed. the pool is small and the location is right off the lobby and near the elevators so there is no privacy there, the hot tub was not in working order either, but we did not use it so it was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We came from our son's Navy Graduation and this hotel was wonderful. Yvonne was great when we arrived. She had a wonderful personaiity and very pleasant. The check in was easy and they even helped with mapquest and directions to get us around a lot easier. There was only one person that worked the front desk during our three night stay and she was not friendly or helpful. Didn't get her name because she was not nice at all. The room we had was clean and very nice. I would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat. Very easy to find and the breakfast was good everyday we stayed. Nice Motel. Keep up the good work. And Yvonne, the atlas got us home safe and sound and thanks for visiting we me when I was doing laundry. You have a wonderful personaility..

Room Tip: We had a room right off the elevator 216. Great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the best western in gurnee Ill. It was very nice hotel, clean and friendly besides one staff member behind the desk on our last night of the stay. I can't recall her name and don't care to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Sorry...but that was a cop-out response to the cockroach situation. They say is you see one roach, there's likely many more. These people saw three, and yet you are blatantly sidestepping responsibility, turning a pointless blind eye, and using the thin statement made by a third rate "terminator" as a defense shield...even tho I'm picturing some drop-out opening room doors, MAYBE doing a few paces to the bathroom...shrugging and assuming there were no roaches... I have a feeling that even YOU don't even buy your nonsense....my stay? It was no Ritz Carlton grand cayman or four seasons, London..

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel a year ago. We needed a clean place to stay with a reasonable price. Once again I made the reservation using Hotwire at the last minute. Once again the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Also has very easy access to freeway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed at this motel several times. Always have booked over Hotwire.com and received a very low rate.
The motel is clean. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are nicely updated and have a microwave and mini fridge. Although there is a small pool, we have never used it. Free WI-FI. Very close to Six Flags, restaurants, and shopping.
Breakfast is nicer than some other chains. There are the typical cold cereals, toast, bagel, coffee, juice, and also included hot items of fried potatoes, sausage, and eggs.
We would definitely stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites

Address: 5430 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Gurnee, Illinois hotel located less than one mile from Six Flags® Great America and Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall. Ideally situated off Interstate 294 in Northern Illinois, the BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites is a convenient hotel offering the best in accommodations, customer service and location. This Gurnee hotel features 65 well-appointed guest rooms, each offering cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access for guests' convenience. This 100 percent non smoking hotel offers a variety of amenities including a complimentary full breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome for a small fee. The BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites is conveniently located less than one mile from Six Flags® Great America theme park and just a few miles from the Waukegan Field House and Sports Park. Hotel guests will find charter fishing in Waukegan Harbor or great golfing at Bittersweet Golf Course and ThunderHawk Golf Club, all within seven miles of the hotel. Corporate travelers staying at this Illinois hotel will enjoy convenient access to the Jelly Belly® Factory, BrightStar® Healthcare Company, Domino Amjet, Abbott Labs and Motorola. The Great Lakes Naval Base is also only ten miles away. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Gurnee, Illinois. Make a reservation today and save! Indoor hot tub is closed indefinitely. We are sorry for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gurnee Hotel And Suites
Best Western Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Comfort Suites Gurnee
Gurnee Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.