We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5724 Northridge Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031-4911   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
Sewell, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had an overnight stay here the other day. Staff was very friendly and efficient at check-in and check-out, Room was clean. Certainly not a 4-star hotel, but comfortable and worth the cost of the stay. Near a lot of restaurants and Great Adventure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review of Extended Stay America Chicago - Gurnee. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
6
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have stayed here for over a year since my job was relocated near here in Waukegan. The staff here is great ...friendly and accomodating to my needs. I think for the price I pay ...the living conditions & accomodations are very satisfactory. Have a kitchen with utensils that meet my daily needs...full size refrigerator, stove top with two burners / Microwave and a toaster. You get a free Internet connection and free passes to Gold Gym ...great extras. Lots of good resteraunts nearby...Cracker Barrel, Joe's Crab Shack, Outback Steakhouse...all within walking distance. There is also a Starbucks and a Dunkin Donuts within walking distance if you need your morning coffe fix :-). I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Chicago - Gurnee. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I've been staying here for about a month now. There must be a whole new staff because everyone I have talked with is very friendly! Vicky the Manager is a very sweet lady and will make sure you're taken care of.
Yes, this isn't 5 star high class hotel. There's a reason you're not paying over $100/night.
The kitchen is VERY useful... I've only had to buy a few items like paper towels and a sponge.
The bed is typical hotel bed.. though it's certainly not the worst I've slept in! I take my own blankets, comforter and pillows with me on all road trips... so that certainly makes it comfier for me. :)
I wouldn't consider this walking distance to Six Flags (unless you're feeling very ambitious...)
Though Six Flags is right next door!
It is walking distance to some great restaurants and a bar with an amazing beer selection.
Everything else is about a mile away
Walmart, best buy, gurnee mall, target, Sams Club... seriously... anything you could need.
Also, quick drive to the Naval base.
If you're coming out to Great Lakes for a PIR Grad or to see your sailor it's a great area to be at.

This hotel is VERY pet friendly! Obviously you have to pay a lil extra. Though it's a one time fee and not very bad at all. I have my 60lbs huskey with me! :] And there's a field right next to the hotel she gets to run around and play in.

You also get free passes to Gold Gyms... So go join a spinning or yoga class!

I feel safe here, my dog is happy, and everyone is so very friendly.
I would highly recommend this place. :]

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I stayed here in June of 2008 with a friend of mine for a weekend trip to Six Flags Great America. We chose this hotel because we THOUGHT it would be within walking distance to the park and the price of the room was less than other hotels in the same area. I wish i would have spent the extra money and stayed somewhere else. We arrived very late at night (4 hour drive after working 8 1/2 hrs before leaving) to find a rather rude desk clerk. She acted as if we were bothering her by checking in so late - not my fault, we told them ahead of time that it would be a very late check-in. She almost acted like we were lying about having a reservation. After we made our way up in the ricketty elevator, my friend and i both noticed that the hotel had a very "lived in" look. People were looking out their doors to see who was coming down the hall, as if they were expecting the pizza delivery guy at 3 a.m. Televisions and radios were turned all the way up as well. We made it to our room and were not pleased. Yes, these rooms do have kitchenetts in them with full size refigerators, microwaves, sinks, and stoves. Too bad i hadn't stocked up on groceries before going there but having the fridge was nice for soda's and leftovers. The bathroom was decent enough. The bed, however, was not. Very small, uncomfortable, and dirty. I almosted wanted to sleep with one eye open. There was also a huge gap under the room door which made my friend very nervous. The hotel is near Six Flags, the side part of Six Flags where you cannot enter. It is the very last building at the end of the road. So unless you want to start your morning off with a hike to Six Flags to avoid the parking fee, plan on driving over there.
For the most part the room was clean but it really gave you a creepy feeling staying there.
This hotel "appears" nice from the outside of the building and the landscaping but it all changes once you get inside.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
branson, missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

My stay was immediately horrible, starting at check-in. The man at the desk was incompitent and rude. He gave us misguided information, and threw our problems off onto the next person available. The room key was ancient, and didnt work. For the first two days of our stay we had to have the person at the front desk accompany us to the room in order to unlock it with a manager's key. The room was clean, but not to the expectations that I would expect after paying $100 a night. Housekeeping didn't leave clean towels once during an almost 2 week trip. I would never stay there again, or recommend anyone, no matter what the budget, stay either.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

The pool wasn't anything to brag about, but the rooms were pretty good. I went there because our family of 4 was going to six flags.

  • Liked — The staff service
  • Disliked — The size of the pool
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurnee
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gurnee Hotel & Suites
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Gurnee Comfort Inn
Gurnee Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee

Address: 5724 Northridge Drive, Gurnee, IL 60031-4911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Gurnee
Gurnee Extended Stay
Extended Stay America Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.