We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Gurnee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6161 W. Grand Ave., Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
St. Francis, WI
1 review
“Holiday Inn Gurnee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was pleased with our room. It was clean and comfortable. I loved the bed; I haven't slept that well in a hotel in a long time. I did, however, think that a continental breakfast buffet could have been offered free of charge.

Room Tip: Our first floor room had easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquelah R, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate the feedback. I have shared your comment regarding breakfast with our General Manager and Restaurant Manager. Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
15
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was just Ok, nothing to write home about. The rooms were just your average hotel room,.. Nothing stood out about this place.

This hotel is in a great location to Gurnee Shopping Mall, Great America Six Flags. They also have shuttle vans that will take you within 5miles to any place around the hotel..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquelah R, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate feedback from our Everyday Heroes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I would likt to thank all of the staff at the Holiday Inn for treating my family & myself so caring. The minute we walked in they were so nice to us. I felt right away like home. We had an issue in our suite with one of the air conditioning units, call them and they solved the situation right away. Our suite was very clean & confortable.All during our stay, we were treating very good, always asking us if we needed anything, and when we did, they made sure we got it. one of the girls,(I think her name was precious) was so nice & respectful to me. I aprreciated it so much and also your shuttle drivers were the best. The never had an attitude about having to dop off or pick up people. I was kind of sad that the hot tub was out because I was looking forward to that, but maybe next time for i will be coming back. I really needed this mini vacation with all the stress I have been thru with my son's anniversary of his death coming up and you made me feel really special. Thank you so much for an enjoyable weekend and may God Bless each & every one of you. Sincerely, Isabel Escobedo & family

Room Tip: Suites are confortable & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquelah R, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we could bring some comfort to you and your family through these difficult times. You and your family are truly Everyday Heroes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, IA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center had some of the nicest people working on staff that ive ever witnessed. Everyone wanted to help and had a smile on their face. The rooms are nice too...spacious bathrooms, comfortable beds. We utilized the shuttle service that was offered as well, which was a very convenient serice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquelah R, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteno, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed there when it was the Holiday Inn before, and when it turned to Vista. Both of them dumps. This place..........amazing. Total change. I would recomend it in a heatbeat to anyonone. The reaustrant was delicius. Room was clean and huge. We had a problem with the AC that was fixed within 30 miniutes. No bad on the hotel, but I grabbed the utility man in the hall and he dropped what he was doing to take care of us. Never got his name but thank you. We drive from Kankakee 4 times a year to go to Six Flags. We will be there in October for Fright Fest. See you then.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suite. Good size. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquelah R, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you decided to take a chance and stay with us as we are considered to be a brand new hotel. We thoroughly enjoy reading reviews such as yours and they have all been passed on to our Food and Beverage and Maintenance departments. Once again thank you for the review and we will see you again in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel was super clean with a wonderful and helpful staff, convenient to shopping, SixFlags, and freeway access. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. The hallways smelled fresh, the carpet and wallcoverings were all new. Just a great place that really beat our expectations for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquelah R, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the review!! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. You truly are our Everyday Hero and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stopped here on business 04 - 10 Aug 12. Hotel is clean and staff are friendly and helpful
Buffet breakfast is ok but at $9.99 per person could get expensive for a family.
The hotel has been remodeled and has a decent bar and a restaurant although I never saw anybody dining in it while I was there.
Very well located for Gurnee Mills shopping mall and Six Flags amusement park - the hotel offers a free shuttle service.
Nearby dining includes Lonestar steakhouse, Chillis, Rainforest Cafe, Outback Steakhouse and TGI Fridays (shuttle will take you to any of them)
One word of advice - If crossing West Grand Avenue to dine or shop be VERY careful - road is 6 lanes, very busy and there is no crosswalk, would not attempt to cross with children, best to drive or ask the shuttle to take you.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'suite' has separate bedroom and is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquelah R, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback!! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Address: 6161 W. Grand Ave., Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.