We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want average, come here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“if you want average, come here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The front desk was very rude and unfriendly. My room said it would have a fridge and microwave and it didn't. Breakfast area was a normal buffet, had more then a few things to choose from. The bathroom area was small. Other then all that, I recommend the King size bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    100
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
116
46
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, IN, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you are a Hampton regular, you will be disappointed. The hotel seems old, small bath sink area, no hair dryer. Bed was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. Breakfast area seemed like an afterthought.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Room was as clean as I would have expected, not spotless but not "dirty". Bed was so-so comfortable, breakfast your typical free semi buffet. Staff was cordial. Nothing really negative to say about this property. Overall, would stay again if in the area. Went to the Gurnee mills mall with friends. Not too many dining options surprisingly outside of the mall, though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is clean, the staff great and nice breakfast. The location is very convenient especially if you are going to Six Flags. For us, it is on the way to visit our son in WI. We would recommend for families or seniors like us. Staff even recommended great restaurant within walking distance. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Friendly and attentive staff made sure everything was to my liking. They provided all the necessary local information to make my stay effective and straightforward. A comfortable and well run hotel that I have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here as part of a very brief business trip. The size of this king suite, furnishings, internet, etc. was very adequate and functional for my purposes. Overall I was very pleased that is until I had to move the pillows to plug in the wall mounted light. Behind and under the headboard was filthy, obviously a spot no housekeeping vacuum has visited in months. Considering this is right next to where the guest lays and breathes, I was grossed out. Sorry Hampton Inn, what would have been a highly rated visit, especially with 8 pm fresh cookies, was severely tainted by dust, dirt, and filth under the headboard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A very good experience in all aspects starting with the check in process all the way through check out and breakfast. Bed was comfortable, room was very, very clean and well done. Room was quiet and no hallway or outside noise. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Gurnee, Illinois.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Gurnee Comfort Inn
Gurnee Comfort Inn
#2 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Address: 5550 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
#2 Family Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.